We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best mexican food that my Mexican family has raised me on!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterrey House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Monterrey House
9809 W 60th Ave, Arvada, CO 80004-4947
303-403-8812
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 227 Restaurants in Arvada
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
1 review
“The best mexican food that my Mexican family has raised me on!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

This place is BY FAR the absolute BEST!!! Amazing food, incredible service w/decent prices. The only downfall is hours of operation. They close waay too early, especially on weekends!!!! I Recommend this place to any and everyone looking for outstanding food, just make sure you make it before closing!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THE Best Chili Con Queso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I too ,remember the tiny restaurant in Edgewater. Guacamole, green chili and queso are still the same. They have margaritas and Mexican beers at the Arvada restaurant making it even better!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Wet Burrito in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

27 Years of Lovin' It !!! I have followed Monterrey House from Slones Lake to Wadsworth and now up to Arvada. If you don't know what a "wet" burrito is go try one of theirs. The chile is simple,favorful and very, very runny(wet). Order 'extra' chile for the full effect. Very different from most burritos like you get at Santiagos(although I still go to Santiagos too.) These burritos are unique. I just order a wet bean burrito with lettuce and tomato. I tried the beef and bean but the beef masks the flavors of the green chile and the beans. In addition, the chili con queso is to die for and the Taco salad is loaded with guacamole.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“since 1970.....thats how long i've been going there!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Absolutely the best!! My familey has been coming here forever, that steamed pork is to DIE FOR!! I grew up on the "small combination"! And the guacamole...dont get me started!!! I;ve followed them since Sloanes Lake location!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Glad that very little has changed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

After being away from the area for many years it was great to visit Monterrey House and find that very little has changed. The cheese enchiladas, guacamole tacos, and chili con queso did not disappoint. Thanks for a great night out.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterrey House also viewed

 

Been to Monterrey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterrey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.