We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Car Collection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cussler Museum

Cussler Museum
14959 W. 69th Avenue, Arvada, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Arvada
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Car museum owned by the author Clive Cussler
Denver
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Car Collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The collection of cars is great. If you like Cussler books, then you can see many of the cars that he features in his books at this museum. The hours and days open are pretty limited, so check before you go to be sure they are open.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If you love cars, you've GOT to see this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I'm a long-time reader of Clive Cussler's books, and I knew he was a classic car collector. I didn't know he had a museum of his cars! While scanning things to do in Denver, I saw a little spot on the map that said Cussler Museum. Upon investigation, I knew I had to go. It's way out from town, down a street right by a residential area, but it has an amazing selection of classic cars in perfect condition. From a Bugatti to a Stanley Steamer, from a Pierce Arrow RV (really!!) to a Lincoln Continental, Mr. Cussler has them all, and he has them in driving condition. Do yourself a favor and go see this jewel of a museum. Note: At this time, it is ONLY open on Mondays and Tuesdays!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great cars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The museum displays a wide variety of restored autos. The workmanship that went into the vehicles is superb. If you are a fan of the Dirk Pitt books you will enjoy seeing some of the cars that were mentioned. Easy access and good parking.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, CO
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Go every year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fantastic collection, but you have to go every year as space is limited and too many cars so they have to be rotated every year. The staff answer any and all questions and are involved in restoration. Unfortunately the museum is only open on Monday and Tuesday May through September. I take all my guy buddies there. The entrance fee is negligible, very reasonable.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Hills, Colorado
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A Bit Limited:”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Limited parking and limited hours are the only reason I am taking this down to a very good rating. The answer I got for the limited hours made no sence.
Otherwise, the details here are excellent. The vehicles are showroom fresh. Although a bit tight inside; the cars are pretty much visable. There is a display of model cars on a highway. This really held my attention due to the details of the display. Can you spot the error? The cars all have Colorado license plates from 1964. Most plates have Jefferson County letters on them. There is one from Denver County, one from El Paso County, and one from far away Delta County. One plate does not conform to the plates issued in 1964. It took until the early 1980's for Jefferson County to issue that series of letters.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cussler Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cussler Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.