We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go every year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cussler Museum

Cussler Museum
14959 W. 69th Avenue, Arvada, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 attractions in Arvada
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Car museum owned by the author Clive Cussler
Broomfield, CO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Go every year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fantastic collection, but you have to go every year as space is limited and too many cars so they have to be rotated every year. The staff answer any and all questions and are involved in restoration. Unfortunately the museum is only open on Monday and Tuesday May through September. I take all my guy buddies there. The entrance fee is negligible, very reasonable.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indian Hills, Colorado
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A Bit Limited:”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Limited parking and limited hours are the only reason I am taking this down to a very good rating. The answer I got for the limited hours made no sence.
Otherwise, the details here are excellent. The vehicles are showroom fresh. Although a bit tight inside; the cars are pretty much visable. There is a display of model cars on a highway. This really held my attention due to the details of the display. Can you spot the error? The cars all have Colorado license plates from 1964. Most plates have Jefferson County letters on them. There is one from Denver County, one from El Paso County, and one from far away Delta County. One plate does not conform to the plates issued in 1964. It took until the early 1980's for Jefferson County to issue that series of letters.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real Life Dirk Pitt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Everyone was very friendly and informative and showed us under the hoods, under the cars and answered our questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, KS
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My husband LOVED this place! Even I thoroughly enjoyed! Must see!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This museum is very well hidden - we wouldn't have known it existed if not for our friends we were staying with. This place is loaded with antiques that you would typically not see anywhere else. The owner is also an author that has used many of the vehicles as "main characters" in his books. The books are displayed right along with the automobile which is really neat! One of the mechanics/restorers also works during open hours overseeing the museum aspect. This was really nice because he knows the answer to just about every question you could possibly have because he is one of the main individuals that takes these vehicles from rust to amazing!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem you must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The collection in this museum is absolutely awesome. This is one of the hidden gems of the Denver area. It's in a hard-to-find location and it is not really advertised, but boy are you in for a treat! I have been to many auto museums and they usually have some interesting pieces, but this is chock full of them. From the Detroit classics of the 50-s and 60-s (including my favorite 58 Buick) to true classics including Duesenberg, Auburn, Bentley and of course Mercedes and a Ford T, it is a breathtaking collection. A true must for every classic car buff! Entry fee is reasonable for the level of collection ($7).

On the minus side, the collection is not huge - there may be about 50 cars total - but the quality on every piece is just outstanding, pristine vehicles, all of them in running condition, including the Stanley Steamer. Also a little minus is that the space is cramped so you can't get get a 360 view of many vehicles, you can't walk up to their sides or backs. But at least you get close.

Service is nice, if the engineer doing the restoration is around he will talk to you about the cars, he is knowledgeable and very nice. There are limited features in the museum, no snack bar or gift shop, but the people are very nice.

Those who want to visit with kids, I'm sure they won't let kids touch the vehicles let alone sit in them. This museum is for older kids or for adults who love classics, but for them this is heaven. A truly incredible collection!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cussler Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cussler Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cussler Museum to your Saves list