We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ribs, so-so BBQ sauce” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Rivers Smokehouse

Three Rivers Smokehouse
130 County Road 742, Three Rivers Resort, Almont, CO 81210
970-641-1303
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Almont
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
S. California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good ribs, so-so BBQ sauce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We split a large rack of ribs which were cooked to perfection. The beans were out of a can, so nothing to brag about. My one gripe was they only offered one style of BBQ sauce and it was not that very good. Our waitress (who was quite excellent) said they imported it from Denver. Kind of reminded me of the Pace Salsa commercial: "They get their salsa from New York City!?!" They would be better served to make their own sauce or import it from Texas or Kansas :-)
Overall we enjoyed the meal, service was great, and we'd go back....just gonna bring our own BBQ sauce.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gwynn, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“No food, but good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stopped in to avoid a rain shower while waiting to hear from friends in Gunnison. Good choice of microbrews and fun bar experience chatting with a few locals. Food looked good, but it was a little too early for us to eat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
155 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good things come in small packages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

There's nothing lacking at the Smokehouse, other than upscale and fancy. Wonderful food prepared by a talented master and cold cold beer in a relaxed setting...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The restaurant behind the office offers quickly put together foods that have good flavor at the walk-up bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The restaurant behind the office offers quickly put together foods that have good flavor at the walk-up bar and a small room beside the bar offers breakfast to purchase in the morning. I had the rib-eye sandwich for dinner with home-made fries. It was very tasty though the sandwich meat is a little small and was not enough of a sandwich for my large husband. The mixed drinks are great and the chicken strips with buffalo dipping sauce were an unexpectedly different appetizer. There were only a choice of those or French fry dishes for appetizers. So, we got the strips. They were huge and tasty.... so much bigger than expected...They are the price and size of a large entre. Great buffalo dipping sauce and other sauces were offered freely with the strips. They are open until 9:00 and that is great if you are returning from a long day; But, it is outdoor seating so we were quite chilly that evening. Also, At this time there is road work blocking the passage to the Taylor road to Taylor Park Reservoir. There is a detour to enter the canyon road to Taylor via gravel county road that is fairly safe. We saw RVs navigating it. It is a marked detour and is approximately 6 miles north of Almont.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, NM
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great oudoor space for a drink and burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stopped by the Smokehouse several times during our stay, mostly for a drink and once for a snack. The service was outstanding by the young college age women. They have a good selection of beer and their gin and tonic is delicious. The burgers and sides were good. The space just made you want to hang out, though there were no panoramic views; but it was in a pretty area. We recommend this place for a drink after an activity or a casual meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Rivers Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Three Rivers Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Rivers Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.