We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Park's Best Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Park Saloon

South Park Saloon
24 N Main St, Alma, CO 80420
719-836-2762
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Alma
Cuisines: American, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Bailey, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“South Park's Best Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Picked a cold Saturday morning to stop in to the South Park Saloon for breakfast. Yes Breakfast, as the sign outside said they served. This is located in Alma, Colorado about 5 miles or so as the crow flies west of Fairplay which is a larger town and also the county seat of Park County. This Saloon is located on the way to Breckenridge and some of the best skiing and mountain experiences Colorado has to offer. So if you are in the area or on your way to Breckenridge on Hwy #9 stop in and experience the best breakfast this side of Kenosha Pass. Hot coffee and great service awaits those who seek out this Rocky Mountain gem of a restaurant. I know it's hard to get overly excited about breakfast but when my wife and I were done we both knew not only would we be back for breakfast/ lunch/ and dinner but that we had just had the best breakfast experience since we could remember.
So When in Alma or anywhere in South Park or riding on HWY #9 stop in and chow down. It won't be cold inside and the food and friendly service will satisfy.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Cheeseburger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

and friendly service. Give it a try! We were there wit a group, and the staff was very accommodating giving us each separate checks - which had to be a pain for them.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pizza, Beer, Small town Colorado!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This isnt necessarily a family place- though there were several families every time we went. In the early evenings in the summer it was a treat to sit and enjoy the weather outside while eating pizza. We've enjoyed coming here- usually get the fish tacos or the pizza. Had other things but not as impressed- it seems others think the same thing as pizzas are on most of the tables in the evenings.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Kansas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“My favorite pizza. Period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

When we travel, my husband and I love hanging out where the locals go, so the South Park Saloon is right up our alley. We stopped in for lunch and split the margarita pizza (which I had last time, too, and it's so delicious) before heading up Mosquito Pass. It was great to see the local firefighters and townspeople hanging out there, too. The staff are nice and so are the patrons. If you're looking for something that reminds you of your favorite chain restaurant, look elsewhere (ummm, like Denver), but if you want small-town charm and comfort, it doesn't get any better than this.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar
Level Contributor
733 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Great Pizza in a Down Home Saloon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Staying just a few miles from Hoosier Pass we wanted to drive thru the pass & have dinner in Alma. Based on reviews we went to Saloon. It is not fancy, but the pizza was terrific! The service was good with a friendly staff. The views driving over the Hoosier pass are spectacular! The Saloon is a fun experience with some great food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Park Saloon also viewed

 

Been to South Park Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Park Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.