We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Comfort Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Comfort Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Mountain Comfort Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
52516 Highway 9, Alma, CO 80420   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Alma B&B and Inns
1 review
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were looking for a last minute place to stay in Breckenridge over the holiday weekend but to no avail or not cost prohibitive. We looked just outside the city limits to find this gem to our delight. Sandy and Ernie are the best and their B&B is a reflection of them, charming comfortable, quiet, clean and filled with warmth. A fire place in every bedroom and jacuzzi tubs in every bath! What more could you ask for with such breathtaking views and great breakfast. We will definitely be returning.

Patrick & Day

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were looking for a two- or three-night getaway around (but not on) Christmas. Caron found the Mountain Comfort online, and made the reservations back in early November.

We arrived on Friday, early in the afternoon. Ernie and Sandy greeted us, and as we were the only guests staying over that evening, showed us around the property. In addition to a living room with a fireplace and a small self-serve snack and beverage area, the main level features five of the six guest rooms. We stayed in the Bear Room, one of the smaller guest rooms, but also one of the rooms with the best views. An entire wall of windows opens on the fourteen-thousand foot peaks of the Mosquito range.

The second level features the kitchen and dining areas, the sixth guest room, and the owner's quarters. The third level houses the "entertainment room," which includes professional-grade exercise machines and a 70-inch flat screen television.

The building features a mix of architectural elements and finishes, but the overriding theme is modern log, which fits in well with the surroundings. The furnishings were all of high quality and carefully selected. There was no obvious deferred maintenance, which we've seen in other properties.

The Bear Room, in which we stayed, is one of the smaller guest rooms. Like each of the others, it features a gas fireplace (activated by a timer control), a flat screen TV, log furniture and high-quality lodge-themed linens. The generously-sized bathroom includes a Jacuzzi tub. If I were asked to identify a criticism, it would be that the room was a bit cluttered with decorations, but this may have been due to the holidays, with Christmas decorations vying for space alongside the various lanterns, candles, etc. -- and bears. Lots of bears.

The bed was a little on the soft side for my tastes, but that probably says more about me than the bed.

We enjoyed two breakfasts at the Mountain Comfort. Each was skillfully prepared. We enjoyed scrambled eggs, sausage and french toast on the first morning, and custom omelets the second. Juices and fresh fruit accompanied each breakfast.

Ernie and Sandy are excellent, knowledgeable hosts, who very clearly care about their guests' experiences. The property has been lovingly decorated and maintained. And it's located a short drive from all the recreational opportunities that the area offers, including hunting, fishing, hiking, climbing and bicycling, and cross-country skiing and snowshoeing during the winter months.

We've already booked our next stay to coincide with the South Park Kick A$$ BBQ competition in June. We would highly recommend the Mountain Comfort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Mountain Comfort for a two night romantic getaway. It was perfect. Ernie and Sandy are wonderful hosts, willing to help or get their guests anything. We had lunch and dinner in Alma, only 1 mile away. The rooms are very cozy with a fireplace and jacuzzi tubs. Breakfast was delicious. Will be returning in February.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Ernie and Sandy are wonderful people and they make your stay feel so special. We stayed in the Moose Room but were given a tour of the entire B&B when we arrived. The rooms are decorated in themes just like the website pictures and are very comfortable. Sandy and Ernie prepared a wonderful breakfast and we were made to feel like one of their family members. If we are ever back in the area we will stay a little longer with them next time!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The rooms are comfortable and spotless. The owners are very friendly and accomodating to your every need. The Mountain Comfort is out of town about a mile so it is very quiet. I would surely stay here again while travelling through the central mountains of Colorado.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had an anniversary lunch for 22 people in July, 2012. We booked at the last minute because our other plans fell through. We couldn't have been luckier! The owners are the kindest, most professional people and went out of their way to make this lunch delicious and a very special celebration. Please see review from TravelingMomofFive, it says it all! Our family is looking forward to returning so they can enjoy the full B & B experience at Mountain Comfort Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Out of this world service and setting. Not to b missed if you are in the area. Breakfast was good but not gourmet. Hot tub was welcome after days of doing 14ers.

Hosts went out of their way to welcome me as a single. I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
4.7 mi away
A Riverside Inn
A Riverside Inn
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
14.7 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#3 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
14.1 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#2 of 8 in Leadville
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Twin Lakes Inn
The Twin Lakes Inn
#2 of 3 in Twin Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Fairplay Hotel
The Fairplay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Fairplay
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Comfort Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Comfort Bed & Breakfast

Address: 52516 Highway 9, Alma, CO 80420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Alma
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alma
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Comfort is a new ten inch log b and b 17 miles south of Breckenridge Colorado on Highway 9. We boast of five 14 thousand foot peaks out our front window. The rural setting is quite, majestic and relaxing. Each bedroom has its own Jacuzzi, 27 inch flat screen TV, DVD player, satellite receiver with in-floor heat. We serve the most delicious breakfasts that will surely fill your tummy for the remainder of the day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Comfort Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.