We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantic restaurant in Boulder County” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fawn Brook Inn

Fawn Brook Inn
357 Business Highway 7, Allenspark, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80150
3037472556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Allenspark
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Austrian, French, German, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Fawn Brook Inn is the premier fine dining establishment in the mountains of Boulder County. Family owned and operated for over 34 years. Austrian head chef and owner Herman Groicher along with his wife Mieke specialize in traditional cuisine prepared with unmatched commitment to culinary excellence. Experienced staff perform table-side meal preparation in time-honored methods; the unforgettable European style atmosphere is the perfect special occasion setting for couples, families, groups, weddings and other events. Private dining rooms available on request. World class meal selections prepared fresh daily include: Black Angus Filet, Duckling, Lamb, Elk, Chicken, Trout, Black Forest Rouladen and many others starting at $31. Soup and salad included with all entrees. World class wine cellar, premium spirit and beer selections. Specialty gourmet meal offerings for couples.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Most romantic restaurant in Boulder County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Recently, we had a good fortune to dine at the Fawn Brook Inn, and the rewards for dining there linger long after you've gone. Quite possibly, this is the most charming restaurant in Colorado. Tucked off a busy little highway that leads into Estes Park, the restaurant offers an experience that you can only find traveling in Europe And while we have marvelous restaurants in Boulder, many are quite similar, high-tech and small plates, but almost no restaurant has the incredible feel of the Fawn Brook and its mountain setting. I imagine in summer it would be breath-taking, but on a chilly February night, with the snow falling, it was absolutely magical. The well-prepared food, is the stick-to-your ribs fare that I grew up with as a child. My Dad was a chef, an old world chef. He could cook your socks off. The food at the Fawn Brook is brought to your table by properly trained staff, in a very warm and relaxed manner. You needn't rush through all the courses set before you...and the ambiance so remarkable that were I younger and looking for a place to have a wedding reception, this would be the place. If you check the menu on their website beforehand, you'll know exactly what dishes are created in the kitchen and a fair idea of the price. You needn't arrive shocked by the entrees or the cost of each dish. You get what you pay for and at the Fawn Brook Inn, what you get is a memorable experience. It's my new best favorite and we can't wait to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    6
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allenspark, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Night to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

European cooking, authentic old world style, generous hospitality, impressive wine cellar. From owners Hermann and Mika Groicher to young sous chef Will, this is the place you'll want to remember, always.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly in winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

It's been a long time since I have had five star food service which to me is where they finish some of the food at the table. Since there was no snow in the foothills, it was like going to a Christmas winter wonderland. They had about six inches of snow on the ground and white lights as we entered. They had a wonderful fireplace going with a Christmas tree to the side, as well as, a fish tank. The place is warm and quiet, which was just what we were looking for. If you want wild, skip this place. With friends, you want to talk. You have to have two people to split a beef wellington. I'm not sure, if it was a classic recipe, because it didn't seem to have any pate or very little of it, but the puff pastry was excellent. They cooked the tenderloin rare and it was a huge chunk of meat--at least ten ounces each. Others at the table had the sea bass fish special and rack of lamb. Everyone was happy. Other reviews have said the place is too pricy. It does cost quite a bit, but you get what you pay for. You don't have to dress up either, unless you want to. Casual is fine. Think mountain lodge when you go skiing. Plan for a two to three hour meal with lots of conversation. Three of our meals were five courses (appetizer, soup, salad, entree, and dessert). If you ordered the beef wellington, it also came with a glass of tawny port. I have to mention the unique cold blueberry soup we all had. Everyone liked it and said the restaurant felt so warm and cozy that the cold soup went fine in winter. It was my birthday and the owner told us stories of one of her birthdays. It's family run, so I could imagine them having a service problem, if people come in without reservations. The night we were there they had two people to wait on guests plus the owner and one or two people in the kitchen. They took care of our table of four and another table of four, so our service was very good. They have limited hours this time of year from 5 pm to 8 pm on weekends and you also have to check on mountain weather. My friends have been here several times and have enjoyed it each time. I've been told they have lots of hummingbirds to look at outside, if you go in the summer. I would check their online menu and call to see what their planned special is. Also, please have a designated driver. You want to enjoy wine (not sure about beer, but ask ahead) with your meal and you don't want to drive those windy and sometimes snowy roads at night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Delightful Evening Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Went to the Fawn Brook Inn and had another outstanding meal. The shrimp was like eating small lobster tails. The atmosphere was laid back in a Old World sort of way. Just going to this destination restaurant was part of the delight!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney NE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“my wife cried when we got there to celebrate 29th anniversary take your wife here if you want to make her happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Gourmet food. Unique, wonderful atmosphere. Very special place for a fine meal and making memories

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fawn Brook Inn also viewed

Allenspark, Rocky Mountain National Park
Allenspark, Rocky Mountain National Park
 
Glen Haven, Rocky Mountain National Park
 

Been to Fawn Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fawn Brook Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.