We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2005 Main Street, Alamosa, CO 81101-2322   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alamosa
Upminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“OK motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The room was clean but the furnishings /decor is basic and rather cheap looking. Bathroom not very warm - thank goodness for the ceiling heater. No extra blankets provided and had to ask for these as there was only a thin duvet on the bed. Good basic hot breakfast provided. We thought it expensive for what was provided. One good thing - lovely pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwalamosainn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hello! Thank you for your review, I find it helpful in knowing how we need to improve. We do try our best!
We typically don't have many problems with heating the rooms (things do fail sometimes unfortuneately), but when we are notified of situations like that, we do have many options. If for some reason we couldn't fix your heater or help figure out those tricky controls, we wouldn't mind switching your room. I know that the switch can be inconvenient, so we also have many more blankets available through the front desk agent. They're just a call or short walk away!

I would also like to let you know that we will be upgrading the breakfast soon, and the rooms are also looking at some new renovations in the future. Hopefully, the next time you stay with us, you'll think the stay is well worth the extra couple of dollars you'd save at one of our competitors.

Thank you again,
Bina Rathi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    57
    32
    26
    13
See reviews for
70
61
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a corner suite with an upstairs and downstairs. Rooms were nice and gave the three of us privacy. The downstairs had its own bathroom, fold-out bed (comfortable), TV, and bar. The upstairs had its own bathroom and Tv. Both rooms had ample storage. Complimentary breakfast included hot waffles, sausages, and other typical breakfast items. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed out time here. Because we were considered off-season, we got an excellent price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwalamosainn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hello! Thank you for your review! I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate your business. The suite sure is a big room! I think it is wonderful that you found the room quiet and comfortable. We all work hard to make sure every guest is as happy or happier than the last. I would like to let you know that our breakfast will soon be changing to a full HOT breakfast, including omelettes or scrambled eggs with some sausage too! I hope you stay with us next time you come to Alamosa.

Thank you,
Bina Rathi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We decided to take the back roads to Aspen and stopped for the evening in Alamosa to stay at the Best Western. The staff was very friendly when we checked in and when I requested a quiet room away from the highway, was told that room 111 was quiet.
The parking lot was full of transport trucks and other large rigs which surprised us as this location was off hwy 285.
Our room was clean even though the satin bedspreads had seen better days!
When the other two rooms became occupied, we could hear their conversations thru the walls....even with the tv on! This went on until the early hours of the morning !
Very poor wireless connection and had to call the front desk, then go in person to get some help as I had some business to finish.

Room Tip: Not sure if all the walls were as thin as ours, since our request was for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwalamosainn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello! Thank you for your review! I would like to apologize for the noisey-ness of your room. The rooms closer to the highway can be a little louder at times, depending on the road traffic for the night. Rooms with 2 double beds are in the building closest to the highway, but are cheaper by a few dollars, so 111 would be the farthest away from the highway thus making it one of the quieter rooms.

I have also realized that there are a couple nights that we do get a lot of trucker traffic, and some of those tend to be reefer trucks (must run refrigerators all night). We do try to get them to park closer to the highway so that the sound isn't echoed into the property and for the most part helps eliminate the noise.

We were having issues with wireless before due to it being an open network (no password required), but due to the problems, we have secured it again to ensure a faster internet connection available only to hotel guests.

I hope that you will chose to stay with us again if you are passing through Alamosa the next time! Also, we're on Hwy 160 (so you know where to find us!). We do appreciate your business and your feedback!

Thank you,
Bina Rathi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolph
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this Best Western Hotel and I tell you that was the most comfortable bed and best nights sleep we had on our vacation. The Breakfast was great and the hotel staff was very helpful and very nice!

Room Tip: We were way on the far corner from the highway-it was very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwalamosainn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review! I'm very happy that you thought that our hotel was the best that you've stayed at! It really does mean a lot to me, as well as our entire team. We all work hard to ensure that every guest has as positive stay as you did. We hope to see you again on the next time you're passing through Alamosa!

Thank you again,
Bina Rathi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were looking for a safe, clean, comfortable room during a cross country trip that took us through Alamosa, CO, this summer, and this place fit the bill perfectly. We enjoyed the pool in the early morning before grabbling a bite to eat from the breakfast bar. Everything was clean and neat, and it was quiet overnight - a good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwalamosainn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hello! I would like to thank you for staying with us, as we greatly appreciate your business. I'm glad to hear that your stay was nice and comfortable for you. I really hope that the next trip through Alamosa brings you back to our hotel. And maybe by then we'll have our new full hot breakfast!

Thank you again,
Bina Rathi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently stayed one night here with my two dogs. I was VERY impressed with the hotel's great pet policy and the friendliness of the front desk personnel. The parking is right in front of the room for easy loading/unloading and the hotel wraps around a park-like grassy area, not a far walk for pets. They even provide the plastic bags! I was also impressed with the spacious and beautifully appointed room -- very elegant for a pet-designated room. Thanks for a marvelous stay. I'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwalamosainn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hello there! I am very pleased that you've had a great experience staying with us! It is also very appreciated that serveys. That helps us to provide better customer car, and best way to do that is to get as much revies as possible. If there any suggestions you mght have to improve our service or anything else that comes to mind, feel free to call me

Thanks
Bina Rathi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were traveling through Alamosa en route to Phoenix and stayed at the Best Western Alamosa Inn. The front desk was helpful and friendly and we were able to get a great rate without prior reservations. The room was large and had basic furnishings. The in-window heater was difficult to regulate, resulting hot and cold (but mostly hot) periods throughout the night in the room. The pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable. We stayed the following night in another Best Western hotel in Arizona with the same decor, but with much, much more comfortable bedding and pillows. We didn't use the swimming pool because it opens after 10 am, making it unlikely to swim and check-out the same day. The breakfast was basic continental with the only fruit being bananas and apples but plenty of cereal, rolls and muffins.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwalamosainn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello, and thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Alamosa Inn! I'm happy to hear that the staff helped you get an affordable rate. I do apologise for the uncomfortablility of the pillows and the heating unit malfunctioning. Had we been informed, we would have been on the problem to help you feel as comfortable as we could possibly get you. I thank you for your input on the good and not-so-good aspects of our property. We are looking at expanding our breakfast and hopefully you'll stay with us again and will have a much better experience.

Thank you,
Bina Rathi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn

Address: 2005 Main Street, Alamosa, CO 81101-2322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Alamosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Alamosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this delightful Alamosa hotel and experience the relaxation and tranquility of the majestic mountain view surrounding the San Luis Valley! The BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn is conveniently located in the beautiful San Luis Valley within walking distance to the Adams State College, Trinidad State Jr. College and SLV Regional Medical Center. Hotel guests enjoy local attractions such as the Colorado Gator Farm, Crane Festival and Alamosa Roundup Rodeo. The hotel is accessible to the 'Los Caminos Antiguos' ancient roads, artesian spas, Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Historical Railroad and outdoor recreation at the Great Sand Dunes National Park and Zapata Falls.Each spacious, charming guest room features all the amenities that make a difference while traveling including DSL high-speed Internet access and cable satellite television with HBO®. Guests enjoy exceptional customer service including a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast each morning, an indoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi®, 24-hour front desk staff and a beautifully landscaped park. The BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn is near restaurants, pubs, local boutique and designer gallery shopping for dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alamosa Hotel
Alamosa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.