We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spacious room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3418 Mariposa, Alamosa, CO 81101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alamosa
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night and as Priority members, were given a lovely big room, almost a suite. The room was clean and the beds well-made. The only gripe I have about Holiday Inns is that sometimes they make their beds too far down, so that you have to burrow down the bed to get covered. It seems to be standard practice in many branches of this chain.
Reception was warm and friendly, and as Priority members we were each given a gift bag with water and a snack. A nice touch!
Breakfasts are a buffet, and you can eat well, if you make the right choices!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
I thank you for your comments..yes we do have the most spacious rooms in all of Alamosa and our 16 item HOT Express Breakfast buffet is awesome :)
Thank you for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    59
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
63
49
6
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alamosa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Typical HIE, buy the 'high speed Internet' is miserably slow and intermittent with only occasional reasonable download rates. Staff not able to do anything about it and will only provide an 800 number for the third party provider. Sad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for rour review..we appreciate any and all feedback from our valued guests.
I apologize that the internet was not as fast as you would of liked this to be.
Being in a rural city area, unlike Denver we are at the mercy of to few internet carriers that offer above 10 on the speed. We have extremely reputible internet technition with Ethostream and our systems carry the maximum speed allowed to the area at this time.
The 800 number we provide our guests with, the technitions usually can assit the guest with any issue that you may incur.
Thank you for your feedback.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel seems to be very new as it's extremely clean and well cared for. As others have mentioned, the staff at this hotel are extremely friendly and attentive to your every need. When I let my room key rub against my cellphone which cleared it's magnetic memory, they replaced the key immediately and without issue, especially since we were in our bathing suits trying to return from the pool without many people seeing us.

The cookies were warm upon arriving, the room was large, clean and filled with the normal amenities, TV worked great, waters were provided for priority club status, pool and spa were clean and the breakfast was delicious with both hot and cold items. I most also commend the breakfast attendant for her friendliness and extreme attention to making sure each guest had what they needed in a timely fashion.

The hotel is a little out of the way, situated next to a Wendy's and a Walmart, so be aware that to find a sit down dinner you do have to drive about 5 mins back into town on the main road.

Overall, this hotel was great. Definitely consider it for a stay if you're visiting Great Sand Dunes or maybe even the Cumbres & Toltec Railroad if you can make the drive to Antonito early in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I thnak you for your comments!! We are very proud of being the #1 hotel choice in Alamosa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our family stayed here on our way up from Arizona. We were blown away by the most attentive, professional, and friendly staff at any hotel we have ever stayed at. Who would have thought in Alamosa, CO we would find staff better than at a 4/5 star hotel? We have stayed at higher class/higher star hotels, but have never experienced better staff. Rooms were nice as well and breakfast was good. Only place to stay if you are in the area!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind words...my staff is proud to be the #1 hotel in Alamosa for Service and Hotel cleanliness
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

New hotel. Very clean and nice. Staff were very friendly and attentive. The rooms were large and well furnished. Fresh cookies in the evening and hot breakfast in the morning. Nicest hotel in Alamosa and the price is reasonable. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback...YES THE FRESH BAKED COOKIES NITGHTLY are a real treat, addictive too!!
Rooms are the largest in all of the Alamosa hotels...they are great and spacious.
Come back and see us soon....
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

A good place if you're looking for somewhere to lay your head after a long trip (which we were). There isn't much there and it's on the edge of town so you need to drive realistically to get anywhere. The breakfast was disappointing, very limited selection and average quality. Plastic cutlery! No bar or restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments...we appreciate the favorable ones, but also appreciate the guest input on area's that we could improve. The breakfast is always changing...each day a new hot item, so the daily hot menu is varied, but we have many staple hot and cold items.
Did you try our signature Cinnamon Rolls that we get from Nemo's bakery in Chicago??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here while visiting nearby wildlife refuges and riding the Cumbres and Toltec Scenic Railroad. Our room was very nice. The breakfast was excellent, served by a pair of friendly, helpful people. The evening snacks and drinks were nice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your review...many of our guests simply love the evening welcome of fresh coffee, lemonade and our freshly baked cookies for all to enjoy. Glad you liked it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa

Address: 3418 Mariposa, Alamosa, CO 81101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Alamosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alamosa
#3 Family Hotel in Alamosa
#4 Business Hotel in Alamosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW OWNERSHIP AS OF 2009 WITH BEAUTIFUL UPGRADES!! Enjoy the beautiful surroundings of Alamosa, Colorado's best kept secret, with over 300 days of sunshine each year. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alamosa welcomes you to the gateway of the Great Sand Dunes National Park, Rio Grande Scenic Railroads, the Cumbres and Toltec Scenic Railroad. Our brand new hotel offers luxurious amenities to keep you comfortable. All our executive rooms are equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers, cable TV and high-speed Wi-Fi Internet. We have a guest laundry facility, fitness center, indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. The front desk is staffed 24 hrs a day, offering message and FAX services along with a business center with computer/printer use. Utilize our meeting/conference room and business center for your corporate meeting or your special occasion. After a restful night sleep, enjoy our DELUXE complimentary hot breakfast bar. Visit Alamosa, CO and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel where your satisfaction is guaranteed 100%. POOL RENOVATION CLOSURE DECEMBER 27 THRU JANUARY 7 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa Hotel Alamosa
Holiday Inn Express Alamosa
Holiday Inn Alamosa
Alamosa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.