We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent surprise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Sante Fe Ave., Alamosa, CO 81101 (Formerly Inn of the Rio Grande)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Alamosa
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasent surprise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Going skiing at Wolf Creek ski resort, tired driving and saw this Rodeway Inn. First impression of peeling paint, Stacks of New carpet in the lobby and little heat in common area. Boiler out. Not a good first impression, but the staff ,room and the Heated pool, plus great Country Kitchen made up for the rundown appearence of this Hotel.. I wish they would do some upgrades to an otherwise very nicely managed Hotel.

Room Tip: Near the front, very quiet and close to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatherly M, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I am sorry that your first impression of us wasn't great. We are in the process of many projects and renovations. I am happy that you enjoyed our Country Kitchen restaurant which we are very proud of. I invite you back sometime soon to share the changes we are excited to complete, and will be proud to share.
We welcome all feedback from our guests.
Thank you again!
Heatherly Mills
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    6
    3
    16
See reviews for
15
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at the Rodeway Inn (formerly the historic Inn of the Rio Grand) several times during trips to the San Luis Valley. It has been battered by bad reviews from time to time, so I wanted to get my two cents in.
It's a super spacious hotel. They have an attached indoor water park that is free to hotel guests and also open for a fee to the locals. It's a LOT of fun, and includes a large, deeper general population pool and huge waterslide, a 1.5-foot -deep toddler wading pool with water jets and a small slide, and a hot tub. The hotel has a big public space atrium with a now decrepit game area (a broken air hockey table, a dilapidated foosball table, and a nice ping pong set), but lots of space for kids to explore! Presumably they are slowly replacing all of this.
The hotel is situated about twenty minutes (in opposite directions) from both the sand dunes and the Monte Vista wildlife refuge. Alamosa is a convenient stopping point for any westward trips through Colorado.
The rooms are very nice and comfortable. As it is an old hotel, there is a some disrepair in the rooms, i.e, a loose sink plug. I had read several reviews of dirtiness and smokiness, but I did not find either to be the case. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, and have been every time.
Now that the Rodeway Inn has purchased the hotel, there are several renovations underway, including brand new carpeting throughout, which the proud staff was excited to share!
We have definitely enjoyed the hotel, and would recommend it to anyone needing a budget stay with a family in tow. We'll stay again!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatherly M, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. I am so happy to hear you had a great experience with us. We are very excited for all the upcoming renovations and can't wait to finish the projects currently in the works. Please come back and see us again to share all the great changes.
Thank you again!
Heatherly Mills
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Rodeway Inn, Alamosa, CO (Formerly Inn at the Rio Grande)

I have many mixed feelings about this hotel. To start, a little historic perspective. I stay overnight in the San Luis Valley a few times a year. I like to choose a hotel that has as many amenities as possible and the Rodeway Inn has them all; Bar, Restaurant, year-round indoor waterpark, game room for the kiddes, and conveniently located in Alamosa, CO.

The staff throughout the years have always been friendly, even as the hotel has changed names, now is no different. What has changed is the atmosphere within the hotel rooms. The rooms are now showing their age. Although it appears Roadway Inn is making a great attempt to update as when I stayed there a few days ago, they were changing out the carpet in the entire hotel.

Bottom line, this hotel has always been a good place to rest the night but now, I’m beginning to reconsider. The staff and amenities are great but the outdated rooms are not as enticing as they once were. If on a budget, still worth it. Rooms 2-stars, everything else 4-stars.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatherly M, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2015
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review to share your experience. We welcome all comments and suggestions. We are currently in the process of many renovations, and projects that will make this hotel what it can and will be again. We value all of our guests especially the ones who continue to come back and stay with us. It sounds like your stay wasn't as great as is has been in the past, and for that I am truly sorry. I hope that you come back and stay with us again, and share with us all the updates we have planned and are working on.
Thank you again!
Heatherly Mills
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

According to property records, the main part of this hotel was built in 1981, and it appears not much of the interior has changed since then.

The general atmosphere throughout the entire hotel - lobby, hallways, rooms, restaurant, and water park - is dark. This is somewhat problematic as around half of the rooms have no outside walls, and simply have windows that overlook into the dimly lit lobby of the hotel. What is even more problematic is the fact that it is extremely easy for any person in the lobby to see right into your room if you open the curtain at all, so if you value your privacy and get one of these rooms, get ready to feel like you're in a bunker. The lack of natural sunlight is somewhat understandable, given the era that this hotel was constructed in, but what they could do to fix the problems with lighting is to add more lights to the lobby, enlarge the skylights, and replace the windows in these rooms with some sort of 1-way glass or tinted windows.

The interior of the hotel in general is just really outdated. The dirty and falling apart drop ceilings in the lobby and hallways is probably original to the building, and that, combined with the dark bricks that make up many of the walls makes the building seem so much older and bleak than it actually is. The ownership of the hotel needs to make turning this hallways into areas that don't feel like the slums a priority.

Our room was a real piece of work. The bathroom was by far the worst part of it. It seemed like the only purpose of the outdated brick floor was to serve as a dirt and grime collection mechanism, as the floor, especially around the walls, seemed very dirty and warn. The tub had a brown/dark red stain possibly from a murder in our room but more likely from the persistent leak out of the tub's faucet. The shower head was mounted very low on the wall and the water pressure was very low (water temperature was great, on the other hand). I couldn't bring myself to look at the top of the lighting fixture above the sink and counter, but could see outline of the carcases of dead bugs through the bottom of it. The beds and pillows were OK, but they were a bit too scratchy in terms of texture for my taste. All of the furniture in our room, from the bedside table to the desk, was old and worn, with plenty of their wood chipping off and plenty of squeaks coming from drawers any time they were opened or closed. Although the promotional pictures for the hotel shows a flat-screen TV in the type of room we booked, ours was the older, larger type, which was a problem because modern-day programming doesn't fit properly on those TV's, so everything we tried to watch was not cropped correctly, which was somewhat annoying. To top if all off, we probably had the best view in town, which was that of the Eastern side of the lobby.

The water park addition, not even 10 years old, is starting to fall into a state of disrepair. The biggest issue for me was that the stairs leading up to the water slide appear to be rapidly rusting. This is especially concerning since people are supposed to be walking on this surface in bare feet, and it definitely does not seem safe to do so. I guess they're just trying to encourage people to make sure they're up to date on tetanus shots. There are other signs of rust and decay throughout the water park. Another one is how many of the already few lights in the pool area were burned out, giving the whole place a dark and sad feel to it. Definitely does not seem like the safest place to be at in its current state.

The only reason why this hotel received a 2-star rating is because the hotel employees were great. Since this hotel doesn't offer a complimentary breakfast, we chose to bring in our own food instead of buying breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. Unfortunately, we forgot spoons, but one of the workers was kind enough to offer us some from the restaurant. Additionally, one of the closet doors in our room fell off the wall when we tried to open it, and when we came back later in the day, it was properly fixed.

There were lots of other flaws that the hotel had in terms of facilities, such as the carpet under the door of each room between the room and the hallway being held down with cheap black duct tape, or how one of the saunas was broken, or how nobody on my party was able to connect to the WiFi, but the point is is that it's not the service or the people that makes this hotel a "poor" hotel, it's the actual hotel itself and the way its owners have chosen to completely neglected it and let it fall into such a bad state of disrepair.

There were random rolls of carpet kicking around in the lobby, so maybe changes are on the way, or maybe those are just left over from the original construction of the hotel and nobody has bothered to move them.

Room Tip: Second floor, outside facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatherly M, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2015
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience. I am deeply sorry your stay wasn't as great as it should have been. We have been under new ownership for just a short year now, and have made many changes and upgrades in that short time. We do however still have some projects left to complete. We are currently in the middle of getting new carpet in the entire hotel, which unfortunately had been a lengthy process due to being such a large hotel. I am sorry you were not able to eat in our restaurant while you were here, we have a wide variety of yummy things on the menu, and put out fresh free coffee in our lounge. It also sounds like you did not enjoy our water park, and for that I am sorry. That is also a work in progress and we have come a long way from where it was. I hope that you one day return when we have finished all the renovations, to share with us all the great changes, and give us another opportunity to make your stay a great and comfortable one.
Thank you again for your review!
Heathelry Mills
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my family, what a great place! The indoor water park was great for the kids, also had a Country Kitchen which was great also. This is an older hotel but great staff and it is very clean. Looks like some upgrades are in the future. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatherly M, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2015
Thank you for taking the time share your experience with us. We appreciate our guests and are so glad to hear you had a great time! We do have some upgrades planned , so we look forward to seeing you again in the future so we can share those changes with you.
Thank you again for your time!

Heatherly Mills
Front Desk Manager
719-589-5833
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, Gulf Coast
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

This hotel has changed ownership. It is being refurbished. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The water park is still included in the room price. $70.00 for a double and the kids get to swim in the indoor water park. They always enjoy swimming in Colorado in December. I have paid $70.00 just for them to go to a water park. The restaurant is not Clancys any more so we didn't try it. It is now country kitchen and not one of my favorite places to dine.
For us the only downside from our previous stays is the loss if Clancys.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatherly M, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience. I am happy to hear your room was clean and comfortable, and your children enjoyed our waterpark. We look forward to having you back at our Hotel next time you are in Alamosa.
Thank you again!!

Heatherly Mills
Front Desk Manager
(719)589-5833
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotchkiss, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

We have stayed here for 5 years while attending the Alamosa car show each Labor Day. When Clancy owned this property is was a good place to stay. It has gone through 2 ownership changes in the last 2 years. The place gets worse each time. Even if you need two keys for your room you will be told they are short on keys, this 3 years running. This past stay see pictures of the horrible bath room with mold in the tub. As the room only had two plugs, the hotel has unsafe plug adapters to add as many items as they can to one plug.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatherly M, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. This past year a lot of changes were made to our Hotel. Since your stay we have made many improvements and upgrades, and continue to do so. We hope you give us another chance , as we do appreciate and care about all of our guests.
Thank you again!
Heatherly Mills
Front Desk Manager
(719)589-5833
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 333 Sante Fe Ave., Alamosa, CO 81101 (Formerly Inn of the Rio Grande)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Alamosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Alamosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rodeway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Valley's ONLY Full Service Hotel! Experience the best Alamosa has to offer! Relax in our Hot Tub or Sauna, take a cruise down the 24ft water slide in our fabulous Indoor Water Park. Hungry? We have you covered! Get a bite to eat at Country Kitchen on property. Serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner all day. Enjoy great food while in the Water Park, Lounge or Room service in the relaxation of your room. How convenient is that? Daily Happy Hour specials in the Lounge with your favorite sport channel on one of our six flat screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.