We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended. At all.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Rio Grande

Save Saved
You added Inn of the Rio Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn of the Rio Grande
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Sante Fe Ave., Alamosa, CO 81101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Alamosa
Sandy, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not recommended. At all.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a family reunion (approx. 50 people in our group). Ownership changed between when my grandparents planned the reunion and our actual dates, and new owners were reluctant to deliver on promises that had already been negotiated. That should have been our first sign.

Everything about the hotel is run down and dated. I can't even imagine a time when it might have looked nice. "Out of Order" signs abound. Lobby is loud due the large, pointless water feature next to the front desk. Literally every single machine in the fitness center was broken. All the games in the lobby were either broken (air hockey and pool table) or missing equipment (ping pong and foosball tables). Ice machine and vending machines where also out of order. Decor in rooms is tacky. Wallpaper was peeling off the walls in the sleeping area and bathroom. Beds are NOT queen--they are even smaller than a full--and therefore super uncomfortable when doubling up. Air conditioning didn't work well and was very loud. I suppose it's worth noting that that king-sized suites were much nicer, appearance-wise. I think they were recently remodeled. Housekeeping left much to be desired. We had to tape a note to our door when we needed maid service because we didn't have a sign for the handle. Tons of stinky trash was piled at the end of the hallway near guest rooms for our entire 5-day stay.

The water park is not as alluring as the pictures seem. Most of the features were mediocre at best, but the large water slide is fun. Staff there were more interested in checking their phones or talking with other people than actually providing service. Our group was supposed to have free access to this as part of our deal with the hotel, but that was one of the things we had to re-negotiate with the new owners. It worked out after more effort than it should have taken.

Desk staff was hit and miss. Some were genuinely helpful, but most didn't seem to have a clue. The ones that were nice seemed almost embarrassed by the conditions of the hotel. Other staff were apathetic and, to be blunt, kind of creepy. Maintenance staff didn't wear uniforms or name tags and put off a weird vibe.

We held a family dinner/party in one of the conference rooms at the hotel. My 5 yo was so happy picking up tons of little sparkly decorations that the vacuum had missed. Our server seemed aghast when my daughter showed her how many she had found. Food was mediocre. Prime rib and steak were overdone.

Given the area, I think this was the only place that could meet our needs for a reunion. Otherwise, I would never have chosen to stay here. It's passable if you're looking for a place to stop off while driving through the area, but only if you arrive late at night and leave early in the morning so that you don't have to look at anything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    0
    12
See reviews for
9
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel June 19-22, 2014and were very disappointed in the hotel. Apparently the air conditioning in many of the rooms was not functioning properly our room was over 80 degrees at night. Our daughter was also staying there, her room was 80 + degrees as well. We had outlets and lights that did not work which I reported to the front desk along with the AC issue and none of the issues were never taken care of. The hotel is generally dirty our room had stains on the walls, the carpet and bathroom floors were filthy. Some areas of the hallways smelled very bad and were dirty, it appears to be very rundown and needs updating. There was a mountain of trash piled around the trash can outside of the West entrance. I would give the hotel an F rating for everything except the front desk and they were pleasant and did the best they could. One other item we were shocked that there is a charge for guests to to use the pool. It is not a "Water Park" it is pool with a water slide.

We travel extensively and have stayed in a lot of marginal hotels but I would put this hotel in the top 2 or 3 of worst places we have stayed.

I feel cheated out of the $300 we spent to say there and would never stay at this hotel again or recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Alamosa is not really a destination town, but a gateway to other places in Colorado—a staging stop, a real "rest stop" before heading on. It is definitely the gateway to the Great Sand Dunes and real Rocky Mountain stuff you want to see. It's also a bit of a down-at-the-heels town with a lot of motels and cheap hotels, and we've stayed a places we won't go back too. The Inn of the Rio Grande solved that problem — it's a good staging stop on Colorado travels. It's comfortable, convenient, has the normal amenities such as WiFi, decent bathrooms in the rooms, coffee pot (you'd be surprised how many places fail to provide that) and hair dryer.

The Inn is also an Indoor Water Park of all things, which means it's a locals hot spot for families. There's a steady stream of families coming to use the water park, and the hotel also boasts an in-house restaurant. The restaurant is o.k. in a Denny's kind of way. We had dinner after a lot of riding on a Saturday and it was serviceable. Breakfast was easy the next day, and again, serviceable—Denny's is the best comparison. Service was good with friendly wait staff.

A decent and comfortable choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I as part of a Mayflower Tour of Colorado railroads. This was one of our "select" hotels. DO NOT EVERY STAY HERE!!!!!! Where to start, no A/C at the entire complex. Mold in many rooms, Showers did not drain. Bugs and bug remains in rooms. There were 40 people on this tour and I know that 9 others have complained to Mayflower and are demanding a refund for this hotel.

I went to the front desk and informed the manager of the horrid shape of the hotel. He was very sorry and realized the problems. The hotel had changed hands very rcently and was about to change again. The only cure for this place is to tear it down and start over.

If you value your life and health, do NOT stay here!!!

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

There are no elevators to the 2nd floor, so if you have a heavy bag be prepared to lug it up a flight of stairs. The first room they gave my family had not been cleaned. The bathroom had the previous occupant's garbage left in it and the tub was dirty. They moved us to another room and it was equally dirty. The shower wouldn't drain. The floor looked like it hadn't been vacuumed. It was dark blue carpet so who knows how filthy it really was. Everything was outdated: big TV, ugly bedspreads, 80s alarm clock, hideous wallpaper. I'm surprised the phone wasn't a rotary one. My young children even knew this place was substandard. If other hotels weren't sold out and my family wasn't so exhausted from driving 12 hours, we would have pushed on or slept in our vehicle. $120 for this? Run the other way.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosca, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

OK room, decent location. This place keeps changing management and each time everyone has to be retrained so it gets confusing. Clean, but no microwave or fridge which my dad needed for his insulin. But the restaurant got him ice each night... Which was great. Staff really friendly and helpful. I needed to fax paperwork and they did it for me no problem. Also, went in to book the room and they gave me an even lower rate than what was listed online. With some consistency and TLC this place could really be top notch.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Rio Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Rio Grande

Address: 333 Sante Fe Ave., Alamosa, CO 81101
Location: United States > Colorado > Alamosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Alamosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn of the Rio Grande 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valley's ONLY Full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn of the Rio Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Rio Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;