We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lots of other places in town” 2 of 5 stars
Review of True Grits Steakhouse

True Grits Steakhouse
100 Santa Fe Ave, Alamosa, CO 81101
+1 719-589-4548
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 55 Restaurants in Alamosa
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Description: We offer family dining. The best steaks in Southern Colorado. Also a full service bar.
Restaurant details
Description: We offer family dining. The best steaks in Southern Colorado. Also a full service bar.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“lots of other places in town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Four of us had dinner there recently. They were busy, and our waitress said they were short handed. One of us just had a potato--no problem. 2 of us had steak and shrimp. Steak was so-so, shrimp were actually pretty good--rice and (previously frozen) steamed veggies were cold. My wife ordered grilled trout. EVERYTHING on her plate was cold. She sent it all back to get it warmed up. When the plate came back, the only thing on it was the fish (STILL cold). Her veggies/sides ?? maybe the cat ate them. We gave up. I shared my dinner, we paid up and left. Never again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    4
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
DOLORES
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

friendly waitress, great Christmas atmosphere, excellent food and service, reasonably priced. Highly recommend this for a great steak dinner!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst meal ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and i both were shocked when we had to sign a paper stating we understood the dangers of eating meat that is red in the center. This seemed strange since we ordered a medium hamburger. The couple next to us take one look at their food and walked out! After we received ours we noticed why, it smell rotten! after one bit we both were grossed out! The place is dark, dirty, smelled bad, had mouse droppings in the bathroom! Never again this place needs to get check by the health department as soon as possible!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“John Wayne would have enjoyed the meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Good steaks. Group of 6 and everyone enjoyed their food even the fish eater. The veggie was corn which is a starch. So we double starched it

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springtown, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Poor sevice and food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Sat for 20 minutes waiting to order, girls "jawing " at the bar.

Chicken fried steak was like last weeks meatloaf fried in batter, Should have known from the exterior, Nasty, but it was walking distance to the hotel. Other guys on the crew actually went to the service station across the street to eat,yeah.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True Grits Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to True Grits Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage True Grits Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.