We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Italian restaurant for Alamosa.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Rialto

Bistro Rialto
716 Main Street, Alamosa, CO
719-589-3039
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 55 Restaurants in Alamosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice Italian restaurant for Alamosa.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Quite acceptable range of "standard" Italian offerings along w/ pizzas and calzones. There were six of us. Two of us each greatly enjoyed a calzone (Baja and 5-cheese selections). A little side of marinara for my 5-cheese calzone cost extra! Another person ordered a half portion of vegetarian lasagna; it was a generous, tasty half. My wife's Italian wedding soup in a bread bowl as a bit disappointing, e.g. rather bland, too little soup, too much bread bowl! House salads were ok; the large house salad is ample for two persons to split. Only major disappointment was one of our guests chicken marinara was served only mildly warm. Needless to say it was immediately sent back!
Service was excellent. Waiter, Mark?, was very attentive and responsive.
BTW: the spumoni ice cream was huge and excellent!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    38
    21
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Different than expected but very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is presented as an "Italian restaurant." Think of it that way, but realize that you are in a mainly Hispanic community, and you will find your expectations met in an enjoyable way. The food is good and gives the impression of being prepared with care by a chef who enjoys his work.

My wife and daughter both enjoyed their Chicken Parmesan, and the bites I sampled were tasty. I was curious about the vegetarian lasagne, but I prefer meat, so I asked if I could get a combo. They provided a half-and-half plate (no extra charge) and I enjoyed both. Taste-wise they were quite different, and the veg seemed to be mainly a cheese-based dish. I would heartily recommend it, but I would order the full meat version next time around. (And this would be one of our first choices should we find ourselves dining in Alamosa again.)

The menu includes several "decadent" desserts. A dish of spumoni, however, was the perfect finish to our meal. There was one dessert item though that I threatened to order along with only the half-order of lasagne. Unfortunately, I can't recall what it was, but I really believe I would do that if we return. Seems like it was a creative use of spumoni and something else.

By the way, the history of the restaurant: The name Rialto comes from the building, which used to be the Rialto Theater and looks the part. The restaurant moved into the building from another location where they were named Pizza Den and Pasta. They need to drop that from their advertising, because it really skews the expectation of what they want to be today.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great homemade Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We enjoyed our meal at Bistro Rialto. Charming decor and atmosphere, complete with Frank Sinatra music in the background. I felt as if I were back in Italian neighborhoods in NJ. Some original dishes - very nicely made. Loved the veggie lasagna and salad.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a huge selection.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Pretty basic. Fits for the area. Didn't have a lot of italian dishes than i love.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“quality italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The dining at Rialto's was excellent! Fresh products and everything homemade! Surely recommended!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Rialto also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.