We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bumpy road for an average view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zapata Falls

Zapata Falls
Alamosa, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Alamosa
Attraction details
Fort Collins, CO
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Bumpy road for an average view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The traveler article on TA states "Vistors must drive up a well maintained 2 mile gravel road". The road is not well maintained at all; it is a very bumpy gravel/dirt road. You have to drive slowly and be careful or risk damage to your passenger car. It is much more than 2 miles; we measured about 5 miles to get to the parking lot. Not really a spectacular view from the top; you do see the sand dunes down below, but I thought it was better to be "up close and personal" in the dunes. It was late in the day, so we did not have time to hike to the falls, so I cannot comment on that. If you have extra time, drive up this road for the elevated view. However, if you are tired or short on time, it is definitely skippable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    45
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Where's the "Falls"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The road was fine for my jeep but not if you aren't expecting a slightly rugged excursion. Could have used at least one sign.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“beautiful little hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A great little hike if you are in the area. Did it at the beginning of summer and it was a great time. The hike is to hard and the cool spray from the falls at the end of the trail was refreshing. DId it after we hiked to the top of High Dune at Sand Dunes National Park.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must stop if you are visiting Alamosa and the Sand Dunes! Your feet will get wet and cold!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Loved the short hike and drive up to the Falls. The view of the valley from the top is incredible! The road to the falls is horrible, but the falls is worth it! Disliked all the dog poop along the trail though!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, MD
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Rough drive, rough walk, little to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We thought we might see a nice waterfall in the middle of all the sand, but after a five mile drive up a rocky, dirt road (Not bad) and a half-mile hike up an even rougher trail (Not bad), the waterfall was invisible to us. Maybe I didn't research this site. If we had known that you needed to wade into a canyon to see the waterfall, we would have planned for it. It is hidden behind a corner of the box canyon and without wading upstream, it can't be seen. But, we did get some exercise.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zapata Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zapata Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.