We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome adventure.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zapata Falls

Zapata Falls
Alamosa, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Alamosa
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome adventure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Don't miss the Zapata Fall sign! It is pretty small! The unpaved road to the trail head was horrible. Be prepared to put you feel in the water for about 15 mins, depending how long you want to take pictures with the waterfall. The rocks were slippery. The cave was pretty dark so bring camera with flashlights! Waterfall was amazing but you wouldn't want to be there too long because the water is cold cold cold. It felt like you were in those adventure movies. Kinda dangerous because you could slip and hit your head with the rock, but it was a worth while experience!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow. Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Be prepared to walk in water and to keep going because it is worth it. Water is very cold. thank you

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsenburg, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Waterfall in The San Luis Valley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Zapata Falls is a beautiful waterfall near Great Sand Dunes National Park in southern Colorado. A short 0.5 mile hike (one way), the trail is popular for casual hikers and ends at the base of a creek, where one must travel through or on the creek (depending on the season), to waterfall in a tall rock crevasse. Zapata Falls is fueled by underground spring water and Zapata Lake, a high elevation lake far above in the Sangre De Cristo Mountains. This is a unique place in the San Luis Valley that is a "must see" for those who love waterfalls.

Directions: As of April 2012, a google maps search for Zapata Falls, Alamosa, Colorado pinpoints the waterfall. From the main entrance of the Great Sand Dunes National Park, travel south on Highway 150 (as if you're traveling to Blanca, CO) for a few miles. (Not sure of the exact mileage at this time.) On the left (east) is a dirt road that is marked for Zapata Falls. Take that dirt road toward the end, where there is a clearly marked trailhead and parking lot.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice place to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The view from the road and from the parking lot is fantastic. It was worth the visit just for the view. When we were there in August, water flow was low so the falls were just a creek rushing over some rocks. It is a very short hike from the parking lot to the falls area. Longer hikes are available, but we did not have time for them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My hubby, 2 teenage grandsons and I did this hike and we all loved it! The hike to the river was a pretty easy hike we thought and then you have to travel up the river for a short ways to the falls. The water is very cold, but we walked on the rocks in the river as much as possible and it really was a fun time. Would definitely do again if we are there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zapata Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zapata Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.