We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short hike and great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zapata Falls

Zapata Falls
Alamosa, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Alamosa
Attraction details
Westminster, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Short hike and great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Zapata fall is a nice place to visit. We visited the falls after spending an afternoon at the Sand Dunes. The drive up to the falls is on a wide and rough gravel road that takes you to a parking area.

You think hike 1/4 of a mile up a rocky trail to the base of the falls. We visited in early August so the water level was a bit lower than I would have expected earlier in the year. Nice and cool at the falls.

The only down side is the falls are best viewed if you get to the base of the falls and then get in the creek and finish the hike into the rock formation. My teenage son did this but the rest of us in the family did not feel like getting wet.

The view of the San Luis valley is spectacular.

Worth the short drive and short hike.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    45
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wear good shoes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Were were surprised--considering the name of the falls--that many people we saw were wearing Crocs or skimpy sandals. The hike from the parking lot, while relatively short, is steep and rocky. For those unaccustomed to hiking at higher altitudes, there are several benches along the trail, some in the shade. The extremely washboarded gravel road will tempt you to turn around, but persevere. Even in a dry July, there's abundant natural air-conditioning just a dozen minutes uphill from the parking lot.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Neat waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Most of the other reviewers have accurately described the drive and the walk. The drive is bumpy, but definitely doable in a family sedan.

The hike to the falls seems longer than a 1/2 mile, but not particularly arduous. We are a family of 2 non-hiking smokers and a 4 and 5yo, and we were fine. I even took the two kids through the creek up into the cave to stand next to the waterfall. The water is ice cold, bit feels great on a hot day.

I suggest hitting the falls after the great sand dunes, as it's a great way to cool off.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Totally worth the trek to the falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

First you will drive down a long never ending road....then you will drive up a mountain on a rocky steep windy road and then park and hike another mile on another steep rocky hot path. It's uncomfortable and not for those who are not very active.
BUT....when you get to the top you will not be disappointed. You will come to a cool creek which is very inviting after a long hike....After you hike a short ways up the creek, you climb through a super tall cave like tunnel ( very short so its lit) and then you come to the waterfalls. If the water is low like it was when we went, you can climb up a few rocks and stand directly below it. It's a super cool stop to make.

Make sure to bring water shoes and lots of water to drink! Have fun!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Hot and rocky trail that leads to a breathtaking waterfall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This trail seems like a purgatory trail to paradise! The drive up to the trail is rocky and continuously travels up, and then the walking trail is also rocky and hot, with very little shade, and travels up as well. It makes a person wonder if the falls are worth it. But I promise it is! When we reached the creek, the environment was completely different. There are trees there, and wildflowers and butterflies, and the water is ice cold. In order to get to the cave we had to travel up the creek by wading in the water, and then once we were inside the cavern, the air was cool and dark, and the falls were breathtaking! I couldn't believe that such a beautiful site and environment was at the top of such a hot and rocky trail! The kids hd fun in the creek and in the cavern, and then the walk back down wasn't nearly as bad!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zapata Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zapata Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.