We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks like Bobby Brady's bedroom” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lamplighter Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alamosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamplighter Motel
425 Main Street, Alamosa, CO 81101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Alamosa
Page, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Looks like Bobby Brady's bedroom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Value is fine and good location. If you are looking to time travel back to 1973 look no further. A close walking distance to the brew pub is the reason I chose this place and everything worked out well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Room was okay, no bugs, sheets were clean, bath okay....
Nothing fancy, or even "quaint" or "quirky".
Really odd set up for advertised pool: you get a key to walk over a block or so to an old abandoned motel, let yourself in through the locked padlocked gate and use the pool there.
Breakfast of eggs, meat, homefries, and toast in diner next door is included. That was a plus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The rate that was advertised on the website is not what we were charged. We were offered no breakfast vouchers, but yet when we ate at Rockies, the restuarant attached to the motel, several people were coming in with vouchers for breakfast. We we told that because of the Car show, the rates were higher and the management did not offer breakfast. When confronted the manager of Asian decent went crazy on us, we are a family of 5, with three children under 7. No ice, crib that they offered was recalled. Pillows very thin, stains on bed spreads.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I decided to stay at the Lamplighter to get a flavor of the 50-60s style places that I use to stay at on my travels to and from Phoenix. The room was clean and everything worked well. It is not fancy motel, more of a Motel 6 style room. The price was decent and the free breakfast the following morning was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Lamplighter numerous times but not for several years. This was our last stay. The towels were thin (Bounty paper towels absorbed more - and that's what I used!) and 1 bath towel was totally ragged along the edge. The owner should be embarrased to have them in the room. Splotchy paint or spackle covered cracks in the bathroom and the carpet was threadbare.
The other problem is you have to leave the wall switch in the ON position for the fridge to work, and turn individual lights on/off. That wouldn't have been a problem except the chain to turn the light on over the table was so short I had to climb on a chair to reach it - and I'm 5'8". We found this out immediately upon checking into the room and went to the office for a fix. A piece of chain or string would fix the issue. The clerk contacted the owner and we never heard from anyone again. So much for service!
We won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

For an inexpensive motel, you can't ask for much more. No, not a luxury place, but the rooms are clean and it's actually pretty cool how they have the cool old light fixtures over the beds. The rooms are nice, with a fridge and a microwave. Everything you really need. The AC units work, though it's pretty cool at night there most of the time. I'm really glad we took the advice of other posters and stayed there.

But, the great part! The people are awesome. We stayed on a Thursday and returned on our way back home on Monday. I'd left a prescription bottle in the room. I was sure that was the last I'd see of it, but I asked at the desk when we came back and they had it there waiting for me! Really awesome.

Oh! And the free breakfast!! Wow! That beats the heck out of a mini-muffin and instant coffee. That's a real meal that gets you down the road on a full belly and plenty of coffee. You really have to factor that into the cost, and when you do, it turns a good deal into a smokin' deal!

We'll make this trip once a year, and I guarantee the Lamplighter will be our stopover point.

Room Tip: They'll put you in a first floor room if they have one. Makes it easier to load in. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We booked two rooms for two nights so we could ride the Rio Grande Scenic Railway's concert train. We loved the fact that after parking our car at the motel Friday evening, we didn't need it again until we checked out Sunday morning. The railroad was just two blocks away, a top-rated restaurant across the block, and the scenic riverwalk along the Rio Grande was just a few minutes' walk.

Yes, the motel is old and showing wear. But it was built to last. The brick and concrete block walls mean the rooms are quiet. The mattress looked new and felt great. Downsides are that the towels are small and thin and that you have to be careful with the light switches not to cut power to the mini fridge and microwave, but there is clear signage in the room to that effect.

The clerk in the office was friendly, courteous, and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised that the tickets for the free breakfast next door actually provided a well-prepared, substantial meal: two eggs; ham, sausage, or bacon; hashbrowns, toast, and coffee.

There are many newer motels on the outskirts of town, but none that provide the Lamplighter's combination of value and location for people who plan to ride the train.

Room Tip: If you want access to the swimming pool, get a room in the annex, which is four or five blocks west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lamplighter Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Motel

Address: 425 Main Street, Alamosa, CO 81101
Location: United States > Colorado > Alamosa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Alamosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamplighter Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lamplighter Motel to your Saves list