We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienient for APU” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel - Azusa

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Motel - Azusa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Motel - Azusa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 N. Azusa Ave., Azusa, CA 91702   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Azusa
Oregon
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Convienient for APU”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

Considering the location near a freeway the room was pretty quiet.
No frills and clean.
Some of the other patrons could have been noisy, but weren't.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
6
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgecrest, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

We are a senior couple in our 70’s staying at this motel in room115 prior to and after a visit to City of Hope Medical Facility which is just 5 freeway miles distant. Reservations for a ground floor king bed non-smoking room were made through the Super 8 website at a cost of $61.00 total per night without a problem.

Although there is no indication that this is a handicapped room I presume it to be as there are two so designated parking spots in front of it. It is not however outfitted for handicapped nor marked as such.

The motel, located on and very close to a busy and noisy street is old and obviously remodeled “on the cheap”.

We waited until 2:30pm for our 2:00pm room to be ready and found it very small but clean and free of any lingering odor.

All lighting and appliances (including the fridge and microwave) worked well although there was a slight problem regulating the A/C.

The very small bathroom with toilet and tub/shower are apart from the vanity top, sink and mirror.

Water pressure and drainage were very good.

Irregular bathroom tile and a 1” gap between the room door to the outside and the floor caused cool air to leave the room and dust, noise, cigarette smoke and bugs to enter. It was necessary to place a folded bath towel on the floor to cover the wide gap. The door to room 116 was noted to be the same.

The bed was fairly comfortable but street noise (apparently there is no car stereo amplifier law in Azusa) and squeaky and slamming motel doors make it difficult to sleep.

There is no desk person at night and on the last day of our stay a person from the living quarters in back had to be awakened at 6:15am to open for the 6:00am claimed breakfast. On neither day was there a USA Today newspaper as promised. Breakfast was meager with an offering of two cold cereals; packaged sweet rolls; coffee; milk and imitation orange juice which can be eaten in the tiny lobby at the table with three chairs.

There is Internet high speed access but it requires you to obtain a motel identifier code, username and password at the front desk to get on-line.

Check-out is without problem as your billing is done at check-in.

Easy freeway access either East or West on the 210 from this location.

We might stay here again, if necessary, but will check out the across the street Rodeway Inn and the Best Value Inn down the block.

  • Liked — Easy access to freeway and proximity to City of Hope
  • Disliked — Meager breakfast; Street & Motel noise; Lack of promised morning newspaper
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

I needed a bed when I went to get my son from APU and this had one. It was cheap and my room was clean. You can't expect much when you pay $66 a night. Only needed it for one night and it worked.

  • Liked — It had a bed
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

The Super 8 is conveniently located off the 210. It looks a bit worn on the outside, but the rooms are clean, comfortable and very nice. Ours was a king bed and had a hair dryer, ironing board, microwave and fridge. The hotel also offers complimentary wi-fi. Breakfast was just donuts/muffins, juice, coffee -- not impressive, but that's OK. My only complaint is that the bed was rock hard (I prefer a little give), but my spouse loved it!

  • Liked — Clean and inexpensive for CA
  • Disliked — Hard bed!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

Well, stayed here again due to not being much better in the area. They are remodeling it, helps, but need to get ride of the roaches and ants. Rented 2 rooms. Mine was ok, king bed. slept good except very firm. upon check in, ants on front window. morning huge roach in bath tub, it was alive. Front door had about 1" gap at the bottom. Second room, ants everywhere, in bed floor u name it. Mentioned it to front desk, they said thanks. For telling them or for staying there? Last time staying there due to basketball tournament at Azusa Pacific Un. there are several motels there but none on inter net except Stardust. try it, Also there is a Colonial Motel looks nice from the street. Parking is short due to partly being blocked by construction material. Parking in alley behind motel seemed kinda risky for night.

  • Liked — costs
  • Disliked — bugs and parking
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

Upon arrival we found no pool as promised but rather a spa which was heated to a pool temperature. We were told that if we wanted it warmer to let them know and they would turn on the spa heater for us. This never happened unfortunately so we ended up just putting our feet in the water for a bit.
Room was adequate as far as furnishings with a refridgerator and a microwave. Both were clean and in good working order. We did however encounter some real problems withthe bathroom . The floor was very dirty and the corners of the floor were so filled with dirt and mold it was disgusting, as was the graffiti etched into the base of the wall lamps.
The beds were so hard we woke up many times during the night with back pain . finally getting up earlier than expected because of the hardness of the bed. The continental breakfast was really something . I went down there about 7:30 am and found coffee ( which was horrible) three pieces of fruit and two blueberry muffins. and a half container of orange juice. I guess everyone has their own idea of continental breakfast this did not coincide with my idea however.
If you are looking for a place to spend the night don't mind dirty bathrooms graffiti on the wall, and hard mattresses this is a great place to be. just off the freeway, near all the restaurants and shopping! I believe I will take my business elsewhere though Thanks

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Motel - Azusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel - Azusa

Address: 117 N. Azusa Ave., Azusa, CA 91702
Location: United States > California > Azusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Azusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel - Azusa 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Motel - Azusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ontario
Super 8 Ontario
Ontario Super Eight
Ontario Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel - Azusa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.