We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel - Azusa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Motel - Azusa to your Saves list
Super 8 Motel - Azusa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 N. Azusa Ave., Azusa, CA 91702   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Azusa
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
8
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Room was OK at best, the beds are very hard, no extra pillow's available in entire hotel, but the worse thing was the noise. Right on a busy road close to a major highway. Late night clientele very noisy, which leads me to believe they rent out cheep to transient locals after hours. Very noisy neighbors in room next door (adjoining). Toilet fill line leaked on floor, and roach was found enjoying the water. I will not be staying there ever again even though the rate was cheep. Its true, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Be careful of adjoining rooms, very loud late night neighbors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomita, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

So, I decide to ride my scooter from my home in Huntington Beach to Azusa in orded to cruise the foothills and San Gabriel Canyon.

The day grew late, so having seen the Super 8 motel on Azusa on my way up, I used my smart phone to book a room for the night. After tax, I paid about $68, and making the reservation was e-z on the internet.

I arrived and entered the small office, noticing the nice rack of local attractions brochures and what appeared to be the setup for the Continental Breakfast, located in a niche.

The young lady at the desk greeted me well enough, and although she did the job of registering me well enough, was far from warm or pleasant. I took my key card and an armful of my things upstairs directly above the office to room 203.

The key card did not work, so I visited the office for a new one. The second card worked just fine. Upon entering he small, but not too crowded room, I observed the old-style (not flat screen) TV, a well-made king bed, dresser with fully stocked coffee setup, and a mini fridge and microwave. All decent appointments for a $68 room.

I carefully inspected the bed linens; all clean and in order. The bathroom had adequate, but not luxurious towels, plus small bars of soap and a small tube of shampoo. The bath and room were generally clean, but has a feel and slight odor of much use and a few remodels, not done quite to a high level of excellence.

I unpacked, set my room up, then fired up the combo heater/ac unit to warm the room, and to freshen the staleness a bit. Later, after my hot shower (water press good), I lay back on the firm but comfortable bed, watched the news, snacked, and fiddled with my smart phone. Traffic noise was minimal to moderate, but banging, door slamming, and other guests' noise could be heard.

I slept well enough, but woke briefly a couple of times at late night guests noise. In the morning, the in-room coffee maker worked and the coffee and supplies were of good quality. I went down to the office and picked up a couple of pre-packaged complimentary rolls, some oj, and checked out the milk, cereal, and fruit that was offered. It was minimal, nothing special, but a little bite did me the trick.

Overall, I would rate this Super 8 about three stars overall, and would consider staying there again. But next time, I will almost certainly consult Trip Advisor about other affordable local accomodations and perhaps do a bit better.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

Considering the location near a freeway the room was pretty quiet.
No frills and clean.
Some of the other patrons could have been noisy, but weren't.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

We are a senior couple in our 70’s staying at this motel in room115 prior to and after a visit to City of Hope Medical Facility which is just 5 freeway miles distant. Reservations for a ground floor king bed non-smoking room were made through the Super 8 website at a cost of $61.00 total per night without a problem.

Although there is no indication that this is a handicapped room I presume it to be as there are two so designated parking spots in front of it. It is not however outfitted for handicapped nor marked as such.

The motel, located on and very close to a busy and noisy street is old and obviously remodeled “on the cheap”.

We waited until 2:30pm for our 2:00pm room to be ready and found it very small but clean and free of any lingering odor.

All lighting and appliances (including the fridge and microwave) worked well although there was a slight problem regulating the A/C.

The very small bathroom with toilet and tub/shower are apart from the vanity top, sink and mirror.

Water pressure and drainage were very good.

Irregular bathroom tile and a 1” gap between the room door to the outside and the floor caused cool air to leave the room and dust, noise, cigarette smoke and bugs to enter. It was necessary to place a folded bath towel on the floor to cover the wide gap. The door to room 116 was noted to be the same.

The bed was fairly comfortable but street noise (apparently there is no car stereo amplifier law in Azusa) and squeaky and slamming motel doors make it difficult to sleep.

There is no desk person at night and on the last day of our stay a person from the living quarters in back had to be awakened at 6:15am to open for the 6:00am claimed breakfast. On neither day was there a USA Today newspaper as promised. Breakfast was meager with an offering of two cold cereals; packaged sweet rolls; coffee; milk and imitation orange juice which can be eaten in the tiny lobby at the table with three chairs.

There is Internet high speed access but it requires you to obtain a motel identifier code, username and password at the front desk to get on-line.

Check-out is without problem as your billing is done at check-in.

Easy freeway access either East or West on the 210 from this location.

We might stay here again, if necessary, but will check out the across the street Rodeway Inn and the Best Value Inn down the block.

  • Liked — Easy access to freeway and proximity to City of Hope
  • Disliked — Meager breakfast; Street & Motel noise; Lack of promised morning newspaper
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

I needed a bed when I went to get my son from APU and this had one. It was cheap and my room was clean. You can't expect much when you pay $66 a night. Only needed it for one night and it worked.

  • Liked — It had a bed
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

The Super 8 is conveniently located off the 210. It looks a bit worn on the outside, but the rooms are clean, comfortable and very nice. Ours was a king bed and had a hair dryer, ironing board, microwave and fridge. The hotel also offers complimentary wi-fi. Breakfast was just donuts/muffins, juice, coffee -- not impressive, but that's OK. My only complaint is that the bed was rock hard (I prefer a little give), but my spouse loved it!

  • Liked — Clean and inexpensive for CA
  • Disliked — Hard bed!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Motel - Azusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel - Azusa

Address: 117 N. Azusa Ave., Azusa, CA 91702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Azusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Azusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel - Azusa 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Motel - Azusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Ontario
Super Eight Ontario
Ontario Super Eight
Ontario Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel - Azusa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.