We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a Solid Standard (for Now)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmen's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carmen's
416 N Azusa Ave, Azusa, CA 91702-3441
626-334-2886
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 91 Restaurants in Azusa
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Azusa, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still a Solid Standard (for Now)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Carmens has always been the go-to Mexican Restaurant in Azusa. The prices are outstanding and the food is slightly above average. The service is decent, but you get to wait in a decent atmosphere. Unfortuantely, word on the street is it's going to be closing soon...so if you get a chance to go there, do it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great value for good old fashioned home made Mexican.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Love this place. Have been coming here over 30 years. Nothing fancy but good home made Mexican food at a great price. The albondigas soup is amazing and the taquitos and shredded beef tacos. Chips are good and the guacamole is blended so don't expect chunky. Our family has had a tradition of coming here and it's worth it. Oh and the special plate is only 5 bux...what a steal!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Most underrated take-out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Carmen's is one of the oldest and most revered Mexican restaurants in Southern California. It is in the heart of the oldest neighborhoods (barrios) in the San Gabriel Valley and the family that owns and runs it are pillars of the community. This being said, the atmosphere of the restaurant is dark and claustrophobic. Ordering from the back door take out is fast, cheap and the food it GREAT! A diamond in the middle of the Gem city. Pick up a dozen of meat and bean burritos and have a picnic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My family has enjoyed Carmen's for years...as long as we take out or eat in their little take-out patio area! Service inside is very slow and not particularly attentive. Food is good, and prices are, of course, better as take-out than they are inside. Special plate with taco, enchilada, rice and beans is a never-fail option, as is the 2-taco plate. Yum!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Make this your family Tradition too...MUST Stop for Home Made Mex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Carmens is a great small family owned restaurant. I have lots to say about this, have grown up going here and in fact as a child had a love hate relationship because there was never any other choice. We had to go, EVERY Friday. Once we moved away we could appreciate it much more. Good food, great prices, service is good if you get someone young and not someone who has worked there their whole life. We now stop everytime we are in the area or driving through to LA. The special plate is a good deal and def must try the albondigas soup and taquitos with guacamole and chips. The shredded beef tacos are great and we take all of our friends there that we can. This type of mom and pop restaurant are the kinds we need to support over the corporate america microwaveable junk. Please stop in and bring a friend. This was where my parents had their first date and even if dad is no longer with us I feel at home just going to Carmens. Hope you make it a tradition of your own. Also, if your in a hurry they have a to go area, prices are less too! : ) Enjoy! Rarely a wait but if one, worth it.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmen's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.