We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avila La Fonda Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avila La Fonda Hotel to your Saves list
Avila La Fonda Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This is our seventh time staying here and it just gets better each time. The staff are friendly and helpful. The manager helped us find the perfect room for us. We loved the location just a block from the ocean. They offer snacks through out the day with wine tasting at night. The pie in the evening is served warm with ice cream. Come early it goes fast. I almost hate recommending this place because I love it so much I don't want it to fill up.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    63
    17
    17
    9
See reviews for
60
339
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

April 25, 2014 was our first, and definitely not our last, stay at Avila La Fonda.

Avila La Fonda is a small hotel, which has the feel of a bed and breakfast. It is located only one block from Front Street, which is the center of town. This is where you will find many restaurants, shopping, as well as beach and pier access.

The minute you walk through the doors of the charming Old Mexican entryway of Avila La Fonda, one is warmly greeted by a staff member who makes you feel like a family member returning home. This feeling remains throughout your stay at Avila La Fonda.

The rooms at Avila La Fonda are large and comfortable, and has a large Jacuzzi tub to enjoy after an exciting day exploring Avila Beach and surrounding areas (San Luis Obispo and Pismo Beach are only a 10 to 15 minute drive in either direction).

It seemed like no matter what time of day, never-ending snacks are available for guests in the quaint sitting room just inside the entry of the hotel. Freshly baked cookies, fruit, coffee and tea is available 24-7. Additionally, at about 3:00 p.m, they have a hosted happy hour with more snacks for the guests. Then around 5:00 p.m., they offer a variety of appetizers before you head out for dinner. If you return to the hotel around 8:00 p.m., you will be treated to freshly baked pies with ice cream for dessert. In the morning, they have freshly baked croissants and fruit for a quick bite before you head out for the day.

Another perk is the underground parking provided by the Hotel. Parking is very limited on the streets of Avila Beach -- especially during the Summer.

Avila La Fonda does not have a fitness room, but we did enjoy walking the hilly streets of Avila, which allowed us to enjoy the breathtaking view of the bay and surrounding areas. There are a number of piers within the bay. During one of our walks, we went to the end of the pier closest to the hotel and were fortunate to catch a sighting of a mother whale with two calves in the distance!

We were sad to leave our new family, but hope to return to our home away from home for another enjoyable visit in the very near future.

Pam R.

Room Tip: Our room was on the side of the building which overlooked a large parking lot. Although we still ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were here for a several nights in late 2013.

Our hosts, Fred, Angela, Morgan, and Matt, are pleasant and engaging. We met Mike, one of the owners. He was gracious as well.

This Hotel is in town. It was built about 7 years ago. It is personable like a bed and breakfast ( which is good) and they feed you various food bites about four times a day if you wish to indulge. Wine is offered in the evening. Apples and tangerines are always available.

The place itself is very colorful and bright. 28 rooms. Don't look for a workout room, you won't find one. Go outside and walk or jog the town and the various piers. The town offers wine tasting shops and various art and craft shops and of course the beach, which is a minute walk from la Fonda. We had lunch at the Custom House at the pier. Very good.

$200 and up per night. Rooms are well appointed, and offer many other free amenities. Fireplace and very large tub with jets in our room. Outside, there is no property to walk around in, but as mentioned before, you have the whole town.

San Luis Obispo is only 7 miles north. There we had lunch at Novo, and dinner at Ciopinot. Both excellent. Novo has a creek running by it.

We paid homage and each had a bowl of pea soup at Anderson's on the way up.

Yes, we did make the obligatory stop at the Madonna Inn, and had a pomegranate vodka to which they add pineapple juice, to match the pink decor.

The Mission (the church) at S.L.O. was interesting.

Room Tip: Ask for the room(s) with the very large sunken tub with jets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Wonderful experience! The staff was so friendly, warm and helpful. The manager must be a great guy to have assembled such a fine team. Parking under the hotel is a real plus in Avila Beach. The location is perfect. So many small touches -- welcome gift/departure gift -- wine-- appetizers-- too many to mention--make La Fonda a hotel we will return to again and again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher K, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear LovesREstaurants,

I cannot thank you enough for your review. We work extremely hard to ensure that each and every guest experience is a special one and I am so pleased to hear that you were no exception. I hope that you won't be a stranger and might come back to visit us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Christopher King | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Avila La Fonda is a beautiful Inn only a block off the beach in Avila Beach. The design is old world charm, with a bed and breakfast feel. The kids (teenagers) LOVED the pantry where we could get snacks, waters, sodas 24 hours a day - all at cost - no markups here! They also provide free beach chairs, towels, coolers for when the weather is a little warmer! The free board games and DVD movies were also a nice treat. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. My only critique would be the hospitality lounge should be open to guests 13 and older. The current policy is you must be over 21 to enter the lounge - I understand that unaccompanied young children would be a problem - touching food, spilling, making noise, disturbing other guests . but it was a little awkward that my 14 and 17 year old daughters had to stand outside the lounge while I went in to get them breakfast or afternoon snacks or nighttime pie - they certainly are old enough to serve themselves and act accordingly. If alcohol is being served then of course 21 and over is appropriate but for the other 3 times of the day that they offer food it would be nice if there was some flexibility on teenagers being allowed in the lounge. Other than that we had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend this Inn if you find yourself in the San Luis Obispo area!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher K, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Lori C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let others know about your recent experience with us. I cannot tell you how pleased I was to read your review. I think you touched on a lot of great amenities in your review. You mentioned our 24 hour market; featuring over fifty varieties of snacks, candy, soda, water and sundries available at or below cost, the Pantry is the perfect alternative to vending machines! As you also mentioned we offer beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas for our guests to utilize during their time with us. Since the La Fonda sits just 100 yards from the waters edge we felt that all beach accessories should be available at a moments notice!

I understand your frustrations regarding our 21 and over policy in the guest lounge, and I wanted to further explain that although the lounge doesn't always serve alcohol, as a courtesy to our adult guests who wish to enjoy an adult environment we decided after much consideration to limit this area to our 21 and over guests exclusively.

Again, thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

From the moment we arrived, we were treated to first class service at Avila La Fonda. The manager Chris has orchestrated an OUTSTANDING hotel experience in Avila Beach. The hotel and guest service amenities are over the top!! Beach towels and chairs!!!! Seriously, the staff which includes Matt, Isaac, Briana, & Mona to name a few, have obviously learned much under Chris' tutelage. I found no request unmet, and every need addressed. WELL DONE avila La Fonda..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Timothy H,

I am not one to take compliments well--that being said I will gladly hand this one over to our AMAZING staff! Without them NOTHING we in-visioned when designing the La Fonda would be possible. They support the hotel and our goals without question every single time and we simply would not be the special place we are without them.

I can't thank you enough for your kind words and for letting others know about your experience with us. I see that this was your first review which tells me that you might have signed up for Trip Advisor just to tell others about the incredible experience you had. Your kind words were humbling and sincerely appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

If you like kitchens you will love this hotel. It's also beautiful, clean and friendly with a great location. Not only is there a full kitchen in your room, but there is also one in the lobby that you have complete access to whenever you want. While we didn't use the one in the room, the one
in the lobby came in handy when breakfast was served. The breakfast pastry was lovely and I found great jam in the fridge. When the cream ran out, there was someone there to immediately refill it. The lobby staff was nice and it's a great location. The view out of our french doors to
the plants and breeze outside was wonderful. I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear rounsley,

We LOVE kitchens! Which is why we are one of only TWO hotels in the area that provide full kitchens for our guests. Every pan, every pot, every utencil you could possibly need to create a five-course meal right in the comfort of your guestroom. When deciding what we could do to set ourselves apart from the boring chain hotels full kitchens seemed to be a sure bet. Where else can you walk a block from your guestroom, pick up some fresh fish, veggies and fruit; come back and prepare a meal fit for a king for you and your clan. Save money, eat healthy AND enjoy spending quality time with the ones you cherish most. Not to mention you don't even have to cleanup! Every day our housekeeping staff provides a full clean of your guestroom TWICE daily! That means your dishes are done, your bed is made, and your towels are fresh whenever you need them!

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avila La Fonda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila La Fonda Hotel

Address: 101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila La Fonda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avila La Fonda isn't merely a hotel; it is an experience that transports you to a 19th-Century Mexican Village. The Inn is completely new and features an intimate design inspired by traditional Spanish and Mexican architecture. Colorfully adorned with eight Casita style facades, and inspired by eight actual homes in Mexico, the Inn takes on an old world style all its own. From the intricate stained glass windows, which were custom made to depict scenes from the local area, to the many delightful fountains; guests are surrounded by unparalleled luxury and beauty at every turn. Located one short block from the Pacific Ocean, our boutique hotel features twenty-eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites, each featuring a Jacuzzi tub for two, multiple-head shower, fireplace, and a 48-Inch HDTV. Rich furnishings partnered with warm colors, and stunning artwork help to create refined luxury in an inviting atmosphere. Prepare to enjoy countless pleasures and culinary delights from the moment you step through the doors. Our evening wine reception is the perfect time for our guests to change gears and prepare for a restful and indulgent stay-featuring hot and cold appetizers, hors d'oeuvres, two local wines and scrumptious desserts, our wine reception is held every evening from 5-6:30PM. Enjoy fresh baked pie from locally renowned Avila Valley Barn every evening from 8-10PM. Add a scoop of ice cream, a glass of milk, and a cup of our award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee to create the perfect evening indulgence!Each morning guests are encouraged to rise early to enjoy fresh baked chocolate chip croissants, award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee and fresh organic orange juice!Don't checkout just yet! Our nacho bar is held daily from 12-2PM featuring Coronitas and fresh-fruit margaritas!For those late night cravings be sure to visit our 24-Hour Chocolate Pantry. Candy bars, soups, snacks, sodas, water, energy drinks, sundries and toiletries all sold AT OR BELOW COST! We are pet friendly and are a couples retreat hotel. If you are traveling with anyone under the age of 18, please contact us directly for alternative accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avila La Fonda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila La Fonda Beach
Avila La Fonda Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila La Fonda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.