We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avila La Fonda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Avila La Fonda Hotel to your Saves list
Avila La Fonda Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We have been here a half a dozen times and always have a very pleasurable experience. The staff is super friendly. The atmosphere very warm and welcoming. I love the spacious king rooms. The bed was so comfortable. We get a room facing west so we don't look out onto the parking lot! The beach is one block away. The hotel has fresh chocolate croissants in the morning and in the afternoon they have a nacho bar with beer and coke. They have a wine bar in the evening and fresh pies after dinner. They load your room up with goodies. The best part is that there is no charge for these items. The hotel needs a new remodel. The tiles are cracked and coming up in the entry way and my husband tripped. The room we were in the tile in the bathroom had missing pieces. The sink had a problem draining. With all this said I would still stay here again. A little pricey but go on the off season and use your Costco membership to get thirty percent off.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    73
    18
    17
    10
See reviews for
67
362
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulare, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I always love staying here when I go to Avila. The staff are so friendly. The pies are amazing! We actually went and bought one to make at home after our stay. Our only complaint was that housekeeping chain smoked. This wouldnt have been a problem (more of a running joke with my husband...every single time we left the room for three days, someone was smoking) except our room was on the ground floor with windows that were open all the time to let the air in and our room alway smelled like smoke. If you have read previous comments, one of the only complaints have been the lack of regular air conditioning. The units in the room work great to cool the room down quick, but being at the coast, you hardly use them. Being a former smoker, I found the smell pretty offensive. It isn't something that would ever prevent me from staying there again, I would just make sure to ask for a second floor room

Room Tip: Get some of the bath salts at the cute soap store across the street. A half a scoop and a soak in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Pescadero, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a fun place to spend the night! Avila La Fonda provides lots of treats and amenities to make your stay delicious. Of course, I would love any place that provides yummy, complimentary sweets all day long. We stayed in the Retreat Room, which is on the second floor and has a balcony, fireplace, and jacuzzi tub. The tub is in the bathroom so it has a larger living area than the other rooms. Some people complained that this room is noisy as it is next to the laundry room. It didn't bother us at all. We loved the room and hanging out was enjoyable. We borrowed a great old gangster movie and lots of picture books from their extensive collection. The fireplace and beautiful bathtub made us forget about the fog and have fun staying in. It was like having a slumber party with my husband, fresh baked cookies and all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The manager and staff were so amazing. The room was big and extremely clean. The layout was amazing. A huge bed, jet spa tub, fire place, double headed shower, fun events hosted by the hotel manger. The best hotel stay I've ever had in my life. I couldn't imagine a better weekend. I can't thank those guys enough.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, and was pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff and amenities the hotel offered. Guests get freshly baked chocolate croissants and orange juice in the morning, and freshly baked pies are served in the common area every evening. Daily wine tastings are also available.

My room was very nice and spacious, with both a bath tub (which I unfortunately did not have time to take advantage of) and shower and, surprisingly, a full kitchen (I'm not sure if all rooms have that). If I'd have any complaints at all, it would be that my bed was a little bit squeaky (though it was comfortable), and my balcony had a view of a large empty parking lot (presumably to accommodate beach dwellers during the summer months). Other than that, my stay there was fantastic.

The hotel is situated a block from the beach and has a free parking lot. The ambiance in the hotel is very pretty and relaxing, you can even purchase snacks and drinks at very low prices. You can also rent DVDs and books for free.

I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Two years ago we stayed in Pismo Beach and was less than impressed with the crowds and the noise. Last year we found Avila and the La Fonda Hotel. What a great find it was. No crowd because we stay during the week, great food, wine, and most of all quiet. The ONLY noise we can make comment about is the Monday morning trash truck. Of course the La Fonda has no control of that. We have referred several friends to Avila and the hotel. In fact, we met up with close friends from San Jose last week in Avila and they are now hooked as well. We'll be back next year for another wonderful stay at La Fonda. Keep the pies baking and the wine pouring.
Chuck & Leslie
Temecula, CA

Room Tip: Both visits we were on the second floor. Room 210 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel is really wonderful. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. There were so many snacks during the wine reception they have every evening to the baked pies they serve every night. The chocolate croissants in the morning are really nice too. My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights recently and we definitely relaxed and enjoyed all of the peacefulness of Avila Beach. It's so close to Pismo and San Luis Obispo. Both towns have some really great restaurants. The trip could not have been better. Thanks to this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Avila La Fonda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila La Fonda Hotel

Address: 101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila La Fonda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avila La Fonda isn't merely a hotel; it is an experience that transports you to a 19th-Century Mexican Village. The Inn is completely new and features an intimate design inspired by traditional Spanish and Mexican architecture. Colorfully adorned with eight Casita style facades, and inspired by eight actual homes in Mexico, the Inn takes on an old world style all its own. From the intricate stained glass windows, which were custom made to depict scenes from the local area, to the many delightful fountains; guests are surrounded by unparalleled luxury and beauty at every turn. Located one short block from the Pacific Ocean, our boutique hotel features twenty-eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites, each featuring a Jacuzzi tub for two, multiple-head shower, fireplace, and a 48-Inch HDTV. Rich furnishings partnered with warm colors, and stunning artwork help to create refined luxury in an inviting atmosphere. Prepare to enjoy countless pleasures and culinary delights from the moment you step through the doors. Our evening wine reception is the perfect time for our guests to change gears and prepare for a restful and indulgent stay-featuring hot and cold appetizers, hors d'oeuvres, two local wines and scrumptious desserts, our wine reception is held every evening from 5-6:30PM. Enjoy fresh baked pie from locally renowned Avila Valley Barn every evening from 8-10PM. Add a scoop of ice cream, a glass of milk, and a cup of our award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee to create the perfect evening indulgence!Each morning guests are encouraged to rise early to enjoy fresh baked chocolate chip croissants, award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee and fresh organic orange juice!Don't checkout just yet! Our nacho bar is held daily from 12-2PM featuring Coronitas and fresh-fruit margaritas!For those late night cravings be sure to visit our 24-Hour Chocolate Pantry. Candy bars, soups, snacks, sodas, water, energy drinks, sundries and toiletries all sold AT OR BELOW COST! We are pet friendly and are a couples retreat hotel. If you are traveling with anyone under the age of 18, please contact us directly for alternative accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Avila La Fonda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila La Fonda Beach
Avila La Fonda Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila La Fonda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.