We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avila La Fonda Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Avila La Fonda Hotel to your Saves list
Avila La Fonda Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Bakersfield, California, United States
1 review
“FABULOUS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hello, To whom it may concern,

We were there about 4 weeks ago celebrating our 10th anniversary. We love going to Avila and decided to look into staying at the La Fonda.

We would like to take this opportunity to say that your hotel is absolutely gorgeous. We booked the spa room on line and we were so excited to stay there.

When we arrived your staff was fabulous. We got our room key and when we went inside the room was not the one we had reserved on line. We were given the room with a queen

bed and full kitchen. Don't get me wrong this too is a gorgeous room but our hearts were set on the spa room. We were told that we did book the correct room online

but it was put in by the staff for the wrong one. I must say my girlfriend was quite upset but your staff (Angela) was very sorry and ended up giving us 1 night free for the mix up. We really were very

satisfied with the way it was handled, we know that sometimes mistakes happen. So with that being said we have to say also that we had such a fabulous time there. We had a

great time at the wine socials and Cheryl is absolutely great!! Loved everything you have to offer from the fresh baked cookies all day to the wine social to the pie at night!!

We would like to thank you again for a fabulous time and your staff is fantastic. You have a wonderful place to stay for a romantic getaway, which was exactly how ours

turned out to be. We definitely can't wait to stay again!! We will be back for sure!

Thank you for your time

Joe and Tina

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    59
    17
    15
    8
See reviews for
60
322
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Topanga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stopped in Avila Beach for the night, on our way to home to LA, following a long weekend in Monterey. The Avila La Fonda is a lovely hotel, with a wonderful staff, and great accomodations. We'll be back, now that we've found this little gem of a town and a special place to stay when we visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked during the week in the off season and the Avila Beach area was peaceful and quiet, Great Hotel! The staff was very friendly. The best experience we have ever had at a hotel. We will be booking again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We usually stay in a timeshare when we visit Avila Bay. Since the folks at the timeshare are so pushy and bothersome, we decided to stay in one of Avila's hotels. We found La Fonda in our Google search and booked it for two nights. I have never been more surprised when we checked in. We were offered wine, cheese and all that goes with it. Later the maids asked if we wished our covers turned down. We were delighted to see that we were treated to chocolate as well. Later we were treated to three varieties of fresh baked pies.The next morning it was croissant and coffee and more. This kind of hospitality is most uncommon for us and totally unexpected.Additionally, the decor was superb and homey. The staff was very willing to satisfy any needs. This is the very best small hotel and is close to shopping..

Room Tip: No views other than streets of Avila. Try to get a balcony that you can have a relaxing beverage and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here in a super room. The decor was lovely and we had a jacuzzi, 2 balconies, and a full kitchen. The only surprise was we couldn't find the bed. It was a Murphy bed which we found comfortable. The evening wine and appetizers were a real plus. Later in the evening pies would come out of the oven. What a treat that was to have. The snack room sold bottled water for 35 cents! Our room was clean and the location was so nice. Walk a block to the beach and shops.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

So great, the rooms, the staff, all the goodies, location! So cozy, with the fire place in the rooms and in the lobby, loved the wine and treats and the pies and cookies later in the evenings! The rooms were so clean, nice robes. Location fabulous definitely coming back!

Room Tip: All rooms looked good but I prefer a view towards the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

It really felt like we were welcome guests at someone's home and their primary goal was to think about what we may need and make it available before we realized we might want it. In a world of cookie cutter big-box hotel chains, this is a gem of Avila Beach.

The details afforded us were just great. We loved the goodie basket and the availability of the chocolate pantry and the pie and croissants were divine. The beach bar supplies made it so simple to go enjoy the beach and we were very happy not to have to lug that stuff from home.
The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable. Looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avila La Fonda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila La Fonda Hotel

Address: 101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila La Fonda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avila La Fonda isn't merely a hotel; it is an experience that transports you to a 19th-Century Mexican Village. The Inn is completely new and features an intimate design inspired by traditional Spanish and Mexican architecture. Colorfully adorned with eight Casita style facades, and inspired by eight actual homes in Mexico, the Inn takes on an old world style all its own. From the intricate stained glass windows, which were custom made to depict scenes from the local area, to the many delightful fountains; guests are surrounded by unparalleled luxury and beauty at every turn.Located one short block from the Pacific Ocean, our boutique hotel features twenty-eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites, each featuring a Jacuzzi tub for two, multiple-head shower, fireplace, and a 48-Inch HDTV. Rich furnishings partnered with warm colors, and stunning artwork help to create refined luxury in an inviting atmosphere.Prepare to enjoy countless pleasures and culinary delights from the moment you step through the doors. Our evening wine reception is the perfect time for our guests to change gears and prepare for a restful and indulgent stay—featuring hot and cold appetizers, hors d'oeuvres, two local wines and scrumptious desserts, our wine reception is held every evening from 5-6:30PM. Enjoy fresh baked pie from locally renowned Avila Valley Barn every evening from 8-10PM. Add a scoop of ice cream, a glass of milk, and a cup of our award winning Intelligentsia© Coffee to create the perfect evening indulgence!Each morning guests are encouraged to rise early to enjoy fresh baked chocolate chip croissants, award winning Intelligentsia© Coffee and fresh organic orange juice!Don't checkout just yet! Our nacho bar is held daily from 12-2PM featuring Coronitas and fresh-fruit margaritas!For those late night cravings be sure to visit our 24-Hour Chocolate Pantry. Candy bars, soups, snacks, sodas, water, energy drinks, sundries and toiletries all sold AT OR BELOW COST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avila La Fonda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila La Fonda Beach
Avila La Fonda Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila La Fonda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.