We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avila La Fonda Hotel

Save Saved
You added Avila La Fonda Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avila La Fonda Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Wonderful hotel in a great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a fantastic stay for our 10th anniversary. Completely worth the splurge! We had a spa room on the second floor and it was divine. There was a hidden mini-fridge, microwave, and dvd player. The hotel and staff are top-notch! The location is great too. The food offered in the morning, afternoon and evening is a wonderful touch that was very appreciated and super yummy. I wish they offered hard boiled eggs in the morning with the chocolate croissants to add a bit of protein to start the day. The town is cute and it is easy to get to other coastal areas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    59
    17
    15
    8
See reviews for
59
315
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay so much. Even though it was one night, I have vivid memories of the large room, the free snacks in the welcome basket, and the wine hour in the evening. It was worth every penny.

We stayed in a "Great Room." The bed was a murphy bed and was in the up position when we arrived. Technically this was a downside since we wanted to lay down after our long drive, but we had some snacks instead and went to check out the beach. We came back later and the room had been "turned down" for us.

The tub in the room worked perfectly and was very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The rooms are gorgeous, the staff so nice, the homemade nightly pie fabulous, the breakfast scrumptious, the nightly wine and cheese excellent, the board games so fun, the movies great choices, the location perfect . . . and the big basket of free crackers, cookies and drinks puts all those overpriced "5 star" hotels to shame. If you don't go out of your way to stay here, you are a fool:-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our great stay. Staff was great. Close to everything. The view from our room was a little disappointing but other than that we really enjoyed our stay in Avila. Fabulous for a romantic couple days. The weather was perfect. Take a sailing trip with Central Coast Sail Charter. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 2 days in this wonderful hotel. There r only 28 rooms so u get alot better service. Chocolate chip cookies all day baking. At night homemade pies baking. The smell is all through the hotel :) We golfed in Avila and shopped in pismo. All close by. Fridays a wonderful farmers marker two blocks from hotel. It's a very laid back romantic kind of town. Will definetly go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

this place is beautiful and well-appointed. the only complaint is that they don't follow guests' "do not disturb" signs, so that's a little creepy (even though they thought they were doing us a favor...). other than that, totally swell people, good service, and great rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Charming and romantic hotel in the small 3 block town of Avila Beach. This hotel is clean and the staff is amazing. The in room tub was exactly what I needed for a "on the way to SF" stop. The rooms are quiet (as is the town). In the day time, the town feels like a clean and relaxing Catalina. Get the "costco" discount. The street view is not amazing, but the walk to the beach is.

Room Tip: There are in room microwaves and fridges. The hotel has a "sundry" closet downstairs that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avila La Fonda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila La Fonda Hotel

Address: 101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila La Fonda Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avila La Fonda isn't merely a hotel; it is an experience that transports you to a 19th-Century Mexican Village. The Inn is completely new and features an intimate design inspired by traditional Spanish and Mexican architecture. Colorfully adorned with eight Casita style facades, and inspired by eight actual homes in Mexico, the Inn takes on an old world style all its own. From the intricate stained glass windows, which were custom made to depict scenes from the local area, to the many delightful fountains; guests are surrounded by unparalleled luxury and beauty at every turn.Located one short block from the Pacific Ocean, our boutique hotel features twenty-eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites, each featuring a Jacuzzi tub for two, multiple-head shower, fireplace, and a 48-Inch HDTV. Rich furnishings partnered with warm colors, and stunning artwork help to create refined luxury in an inviting atmosphere.Prepare to enjoy countless pleasures and culinary delights from the moment you step through the doors. Our evening wine reception is the perfect time for our guests to change gears and prepare for a restful and indulgent stay—featuring hot and cold appetizers, hors d'oeuvres, two local wines and scrumptious desserts, our wine reception is held every evening from 5-6:30PM. Enjoy fresh baked pie from locally renowned Avila Valley Barn every evening from 8-10PM. Add a scoop of ice cream, a glass of milk, and a cup of our award winning Intelligentsia© Coffee to create the perfect evening indulgence!Each morning guests are encouraged to rise early to enjoy fresh baked chocolate chip croissants, award winning Intelligentsia© Coffee and fresh organic orange juice!Don't checkout just yet! Our nacho bar is held daily from 12-2PM featuring Coronitas and fresh-fruit margaritas!For those late night cravings be sure to visit our 24-Hour Chocolate Pantry. Candy bars, soups, snacks, sodas, water, energy drinks, sundries and toiletries all sold AT OR BELOW COST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere and Otel so you can book your Avila La Fonda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila La Fonda Beach
Avila La Fonda Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila La Fonda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.