We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, above average layout” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avila Lighthouse Suites

Save Saved
You added Avila Lighthouse Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avila Lighthouse Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2 Nights, Save $50
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Avila Beach
Bakersfield CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, above average layout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

My spouse and I go to Avila Beach every year in February to celebrate her birthday and get away from the daily grind in a "laid-back" atmosphere (small town) and to enjoy some of the best fish dinners and wine tasting in the area. This was our first stay at the Avila Lighthouse Suites and we were not disappointed. The room was as advertized with a small seating area with TV and a wet bar (refrigerator and microwave oven) connected by a short hallway to the bedroom. All the areas were spotlessly clean with a nautical decorator's touch (including the unique lamps). We had the unobstructed ocean view from our bedroom and if the weather had been a little warmer we could have left the sliding door to the porch open and listened to the waves all night. We were fortunate that we were staying "off season" and the property wasn't that full of noisy beachgoers as the walls could have used a little more insulation. The free breakfast in the Galley Room offerd everything from cereal to sweet rolls to waffles to juices and coffee. We didn't get the chance to try out the pool but it was as sparkling clean as the rest of the grounds. The abriviated town of Avila was a short walk out the door and down the block. I should add that parking was underground with elevators to the floors.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    63
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
110
75
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

This place has a great nautical theme and is great for kids, too. The suite room can sleep up to 6, if you get the 2 queen beds setup. There is a hide-a-bed couch in the front room with a separate TV console. 2 adults and 4 kids could do this easily. The central pool area is 100 yards from the Pacific Ocean and you can hear the waves from the hot tub. The pool is warm and we swam in a winter storm downpour and still had fun. The free continental breakfast is not skimpy! Many choices of cereal, waffles, pastries, bagels, yogurt, eggs, and fruit available. Free safe parking and lots of eating places nearby.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

This is the closest experience I've had to a tropical vacation since moving from Hawaii 6 years ago. The hotel was very easy to find, the location looked like a safe part of town and the exterior was clean and well maintained...overall a good first impression. The check in process was smooth, the guest clerks courteous and efficient. The room itself was quite simple and clean...not stuffy for a beach atmosphere, and surprisingly not worn from sand and wet pool/beach water. The sleeper sofa looked just slightly used, but certainly not something I would avoid sitting/lying on. The bed was quite comfortable. The best part is that after an in-room massage, I was able to go right to sleep with the patio sliding door open and was serenaded to sleep by the sound of the surf. The only caution is that it is seperated from the beach by a public road and parking, so some pedestrian/street noise is easily heard. For me though, it did not detract from being on a beach getaway. Sunset from the patio or on the beach is rivaled only by that of Hawaii! Also, a nice little line of shops and eateries made for a relaxing evening stroll just a block away but still along the beach. There is a mix of guest types; I saw couples (young to senior), young families and an extended family traveling together. The beach allows dogs before 10am or after 5pm. I would have loved to bring my dog but the hotel doesn't accommodate that.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I planned a birthday weekend for my Mom with my sister and my daughter. This was one of the only places I could find that would comfortably accommodate that many gals in one room! We stayed in one of the regular ocean view rooms the first night and it was wonderfully comfortable, we stayed in one of their 2 bedroom suites the second night and it was simply amazing!!! We could have stayed there an entire week!! I would highly recommend this hotel, my husband and I have already planned a return visit in June for our anniversary. I don't have anything negative to say, all positive!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

The hotel is so beautiful from the outside. Our suite was located on the second floor facing the ocean. When you walked it their was a nice living room with a little kitchenette and then their was a hallway leading to the bedroom with the most amazing room. The location was great because we could walk to all the little shops and go wine tasting. Even though the ocean is close you don't hear it when you go to bed as the hotel has updated windows. It was really nice to wake up in the morning and have coffee on the patio overlooking the ocean - great way to start the day! The hotel also has a nice breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

This hotel is a great place for young families. It sits directly across the street from the beach and from a great park. The beach has a lot of space for people to walk and kids to play, dig, collect shells, etc. There is also a pier to walk on. You can even go underneath the pier out over the water which the kids love. At the the hotel itself there is a great little pool and hot tub as well as an outdoor chess game (life size) and ping pong table giving the kids plenty of stuff to do. They include breakfast in their breakfast room which offers choice of cereals, yogurt, waffles, hard boiled eggs, juices, coffee, bagels and pastries. For adults there is a small gym at the hotel. The Avila Beach area has a really nice walking promenade from the hotel. There is a decent restaurant down the promenade for sit down meals (The Custom House). In the general San Luis Obsipo/Paso Robles area there are also lots of wineries that offer tasting. The kids also love to stop by the Madonna Inn to check it out. They have great desserts (try the Champagne Cake)! The downside to the hotel is that the walls are pretty thin so, can be loud and the beds are not as comfortable as they could be. It gets a lot of traffic, but they seem to keep it well maintained. All in all a great choice for the area and sure to be fun and relaxing for all.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

The hotel grounds were perfect, located directly across from the beach. Our room was decorated in a cute beach theme, and had a nice terrace looking out at the beach. I was disappointed that the shower had mildew considering that the rest of the hotel was kept so nice. The room didn't fit the $250/night price tag.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avila Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Lighthouse Suites

Address: 550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Lighthouse Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the sand, the Avila Lighthouse Suites is perfectly nestled in the quaint beach town of Avila Beach between the mountains and the sea. Our all-suite beachfront hotel offers comfortable and spacious two-room suites, each with a private balcony or patio to admire the beautiful views. Guests enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, parking, spa services at our on-site spa facility, beachfront heated pool and Jacuzzi and family play areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Avila Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Lighthouse Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Lighthouse Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila Lighthouse Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.