We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avila Lighthouse Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avila Lighthouse Suites to your Saves list
Avila Lighthouse Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place for Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

This hotel is a great place for young families. It sits directly across the street from the beach and from a great park. The beach has a lot of space for people to walk and kids to play, dig, collect shells, etc. There is also a pier to walk on. You can even go underneath the pier out over the water which the kids love. At the the hotel itself there is a great little pool and hot tub as well as an outdoor chess game (life size) and ping pong table giving the kids plenty of stuff to do. They include breakfast in their breakfast room which offers choice of cereals, yogurt, waffles, hard boiled eggs, juices, coffee, bagels and pastries. For adults there is a small gym at the hotel. The Avila Beach area has a really nice walking promenade from the hotel. There is a decent restaurant down the promenade for sit down meals (The Custom House). In the general San Luis Obsipo/Paso Robles area there are also lots of wineries that offer tasting. The kids also love to stop by the Madonna Inn to check it out. They have great desserts (try the Champagne Cake)! The downside to the hotel is that the walls are pretty thin so, can be loud and the beds are not as comfortable as they could be. It gets a lot of traffic, but they seem to keep it well maintained. All in all a great choice for the area and sure to be fun and relaxing for all.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    78
    23
    9
    9
See reviews for
132
92
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

The hotel grounds were perfect, located directly across from the beach. Our room was decorated in a cute beach theme, and had a nice terrace looking out at the beach. I was disappointed that the shower had mildew considering that the rest of the hotel was kept so nice. The room didn't fit the $250/night price tag.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We hav.e stayed here before in years past, both spring and winter. Area is extremely quiet. Under ground parking provides sense of security. The fan runs in the room all the time. If you are a light sleeper you will find this challenging. They do not give AAA discounts on the weekends.
Great ocean view and nice shops and wine tasting close by.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Desert
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

One of the best hotels we've stayed in. We go to the beach every year for our anniversary and this was the best adventure by far. The hotel was very clean, the parking was secure, the room was very comfortable and inviting, even the fitness center was great!
Lots of good places to shop nearby and resturants (Olde Port Inn) on the pier was delicious...couldn't have been any better! We will most definately return and have already recommended it to our friends

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We paid with the AAA discount which is $250/nt. incld.taxes. We had a king size bed bedroom. Huge bathroom,but not fancy. The room was clean and neat and practical,not impressive,just like motel. Our room is in the middle of the hotel complex and it is facing the beach. The bed is comfortable. Nice ocean view and quiet beach. It is a room with separated living room which has the sofa bed. There is a mini-bar area in the room which has mini-mircowave, sink, and fridge. 2 32-34" flat tv. It is "wired" internet inside the guest room which its cable was locked with the desk in the living room. Therefore, we had to move the whole desk to the bedroom in order for us to use when the kids were sleeping in the living room. The very disappointed matter was that they don't have "Steam room" nor "sauna room" in their spa.
The Spa is only providing "massage" treatment. The outdoor pool is not heated. Fortunately my kids 12 and 10 yrs old could play with their giant chess board and the ping-pong. They are very convenience by walking to the beach w/in a few steps.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

This hotel is clean, staff is helpful, parking is easy, access to beach is across the street, pool scene is above average. We stayed at the Inn at Avila Beach and the Lighthouse wins hands down. Rooms are expensive $300+, but that is the market.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so. cal.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed at the lighthouse for the zz top concert. the suite was clean and comfortable. the inn was close to everything, but avila beach is so small so is any other hotel. the staff was friendly and couteous. i would definitely stay again

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Luis Bay Inn
San Luis Bay Inn
#5 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#4 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#6 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Lighthouse Suites

Address: 550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Lighthouse Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the sand, the Avila Lighthouse Suites is perfectly nestled in the quaint beach town of Avila Beach between the mountains and the sea. Our all-suite beachfront hotel offers comfortable and spacious two-room suites, each with a private balcony or patio to admire the beautiful views. Guests enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, parking, spa services at our on-site spa facility, beachfront heated pool and Jacuzzi and family play areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Avila Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Lighthouse Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Lighthouse Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila Lighthouse Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.