We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avila Lighthouse Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Avila Lighthouse Suites to your Saves list
Avila Lighthouse Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

It was our first family vacation with 2 kids (2 yr old and 2 month old). The experience was great. Check-in was quick, and they upgraded us to an oceanfront suite for free. Our room was very clean and ltterally steps away from the beach. I sat on the patio and enjoyed people watching during the day and sounds of the waves at night. This hotel is right in the middle of all the excitement: park, beach, playground, shops, pier.

We took advantage of all the amenities the hotel had to offer. The free breakfast was a life saver because we didn't have to pack our kids up each morning and go to a restaurant. I was able to go to the galley and bring back breakfast for the family. The breakfast offered cereal, dounuts, bagels, bread, fruit, hot mini waffles, yogurt, juice and coffee.

Enjoyed it so much, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    78
    23
    9
    9
See reviews for
132
92
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

We booked an ocean front room for 3 nights. Left after 1. Room was small. You can hear every word from other guests. Room was not very clean. With all that said- Our son is an extremly light sleeper. Wife is very picky. The view and location is great. Steps from the beach. Most people would like the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

My husband and I traveled to Avila Beach for the first time for a wedding and thought the cute, little beach town was beautiful! We drove from Huntington Beach without our 3 kids and arrived at 1:00 p.m. and even though check-in isn't until 4, we were able to do early check-in, ate at the restaurant next door, The Custom House?, and they called us by 2:15 letting us know the room was ready. We were lucky and received room 218 so we had a beautiful view of the pool and ocean. The pictures online make it seem like the grounds are a lot bigger than they are, so don't expect it to be a huge hotel. Also, there aren't any bellhops, but they have the carts in the elevator. We were only staying one night, so we didn't have a lot of luggage. One bummer was I wanted to work out the next morning and the battery for the key was dead so I couldn't get in because maintenance didn't arrive until 7 a.m., but it allowed me to jog around the beach and I felt very safe. I also checked the key when I got back, and it was already fixed. The weather the weekend of May 30th was also very overcast and it was very windy and cold. Loved the cute nautical decor, granite counters for bathroom and very small kitchen area, and Bath & Body Works in the bathroom. There was also a farmer's market Friday night, and Saturday there was an art show right in front of the hotel. I would recommend booking on their website because the price was less expensive than travel websites.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

I booked a one night stay at Avila Lighthouse Suites upon recommendation from a friend. When we arrived at noon, I was able to check in (normal check in is 4:00 pm) and much to my surprise found they had upgraded us to an "Owner's Suite." On the map of the property, it is by far the largest room in the place. The check in staff was very friendly, the room was outstanding....clean, spacious, and even a nearly full kitchen (full sized refrigerator, microwave, toaster oven, sink, and enough glassware and dishes for our family of 4). Two fireplaces, two sliding glass doors, and a huge balcony that overlooked the pool with a commanding view of the ocean and Avila Pier. Had dinner and breakfast at the Custom House Restaurant (take your flier for 10% off) and both meals were excellent. For family entertainment the beach is just across the street (not 100 feet) from the hotel, or use the family friendly park to the north of the property, with play structure and swings that our young children enjoyed. I would absolutely recommend this property, as we had no problems whatsoever. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

The suites are large clean and nicely decerated. We had everything we needed in a room. The continental breakfast was simple and well put together and served its purpose. The grounds are very well maintained, The pool is small but nice.There is no place to rent umbrellas,chairs..Bring your own..The beach is great. This was a very quiet place that is mostly family oriented and not a lot of rowdies.Short drive to many more beaches and towns. We have already booked a trip back to Avila beach lighthouse suites next year.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Avila Beach as a whole is paradise. We have been here 4 times in the past year. Each time we have stayed at the Lighthouse Suites and have had many different experiences. All in all the property is great. Very convenient location and always clean. The rooms are big and bright. The views from the upstairs rooms are amazing. Unfortunately it is the luck of the draw with which room you get as they can not accommodate requests and the down stairs rooms do not have an ocean view. I have had a few problems upon check in but once you get in your room it is worth it. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights. We had a bunch of distrubances from guests next door walking and talking. Even ppl walking in hallway would make noise. Very bad insulation in walls.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Luis Bay Inn
San Luis Bay Inn
#5 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#4 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#6 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Lighthouse Suites

Address: 550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Lighthouse Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the sand, the Avila Lighthouse Suites is perfectly nestled in the quaint beach town of Avila Beach between the mountains and the sea. Our all-suite beachfront hotel offers comfortable and spacious two-room suites, each with a private balcony or patio to admire the beautiful views. Guests enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, parking, spa services at our on-site spa facility, beachfront heated pool and Jacuzzi and family play areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Avila Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Lighthouse Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Lighthouse Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila Lighthouse Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.