We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avila Lighthouse Suites

Save Saved
You added Avila Lighthouse Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avila Lighthouse Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Avila Beach
Almelo, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Charming hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were here for one night only in a King Master Suite Deluxe Ocean Front. We simply loved it and would have wanted to stay longer. The details in the room, all referring to beach and sea are very nice. The free breakfast was good, although we Europeans will never get used to disposable cups and plates. Nevertheless: we will return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! The pictures you included of our property are lovely! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us, and are delighted to hear you appreciated the nautical theme throughout the property! It is so fun to reflect our oceanfront location through the look and feel of our decor and landscaping. Thank you again for your kind words. We look forward to have you again soon!

Take care,
Kyli Frauenheim
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    63
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
109
75
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Avila Lighthouse Suites
Hated it
We've had a few good visits in the past but they really dropped the ball on this one and they weren't going to do anything but apologize for it. My wife and I work hard to get out of town in hopes of relaxing for a few days on the central coast a couple of times a year before having to return to the daily grind. It was her birthday so she wanted to go there. We had reservations for three days: Friday, Saturday, (her birthday), and Sunday. We planned to leave early Monday morning. Early Sunday morning our stay was ruined.

The racket that woke me up started at around 1:30 am. It sounded like a drunken party through the paper thin walls with loud people constantly yelling and laughing and walking and running past our door in high heels. After about an hour it became obvious they weren't going to stop so I called the front desk and told them if they didn’t shut them up I’d call the cops. The desk clerk apologized and said she'd send up security and someone came up after a while. They quieted down for a little while but then they started up again, not as bad as before, but still loud enough to keep us awake.

The next morning, after only getting a couple of hours sleep, I was exhausted and I told them I wanted to talk to the manager. All I got some fluff spanking girl who was full of apologies for what she admitted was, “totally unacceptable and shouldn't have happened at their resort.” I was in no mood for her lame admissions after being kept up half the night. By then, having only gotten a couple of hours sleep, I was tired and not interested. That pretty much ruined the rest of my day.

I looked into what had happened and this is what I gathered from what the desk clerk said, “They had rented rooms to a wedding party returning late into the night. Their security was, 'officer,’ Wade,” Evidently he isn’t an on site security officer patrolling the grounds, but what sounded very much like a called in rent-a-cop. So much for security. The fact that the noise had been permitted in the first place and allowed to go on as long as it did told me that they had no idea what was going on at their property or maybe just didn’t care.

I blame the management's incompetence for our discomfort and I agree with the ‘manager,’ Kelly, who said, “It shouldn't have happened,” but it did. We were originally planning to return in a couple of months but now I'm going to look for other accommodations and I'd recommend to anyone who is seriously looking for a restful stay to do the same. They’re obviously not going to do anything about it. That’s what you can expect from a tourist trap but not from a quality resort.

Room Tip: Some other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
I would like to again express my sincerest apologies that you did not find your recent stay to be as enjoyable as your previous visits. Our hotel prides itself on accommodating every guest and offering an enjoyable experience for all. One of the ways we strive to offer a leisurely stay is by implementing our “Pleasant Stay Policy”. All guests are required to sign this at check-in to ensure that they are knowledgeable about the considerations we would like them to have during their stay with us. Although we ask this consideration of all guests, unfortunately not all of our guests are compliant with this policy at all times. We would not willingly rent to anyone that would negatively impact another guest’s stay. I want to assure you that each member of our team is thoroughly trained to address situations as soon as they are brought to our attention, our staff and on site security actively seek solutions in accordance to the specifics of the incident. Security did respond as soon as you notified us and made a few rounds to ensure it stayed quiet. Unfortunately, he could not hear the noise from the exterior and we would have gladly addressed the issue more severely if we were aware.

Again, I want to thank you for giving us the opportunity to discuss all details of your stay with you in person. I understand how disappointing the evening was for you and cannot reverse the past, however we were very pleased that we were able to offer you a resolution to this issue while you still had another evening to enjoy at the hotel.

I do hope that you will provide us another opportunity to provide you the same type of relaxation you have had on previous stays as well as the other 2 nights of this past stay. We would love to leave you once again with a lasting good impression of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at the Avila Lighthouse Suites on our way up the coast from LA to San Francisco. Our room was so comfortable and really too big for just the two of us! We loved our ocean view, and our short walk to the beach. The tiny town of Avila is a great escape, and we've already talked about when we can make it back. Hotel staff were very friendly, and the property is kept in great shape. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone driving the coast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for your positive review of your stay with us. We are delighted to have been a stop along your route down Highway 1! Our prime ocean front location and all-suite set up allows us to provide our guests with a comfortable atmosphere for a relaxing getaway. Through excellent service and maintenance, our staff strives to ensure that your stay with us is as enjoyable as possible. We sincerely hope to see you during your next trip along the California coastline!

Warm Wishes,
Kyli Frauenheim
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I got 2 suites for a bachelorette party. The rooms were big enough for 4/per room. They were connecting rooms which made it even better. The ocean is literally 5 steps away, perfect for morning walks on the beach or a stroll down the cute Avila street. Front desk women were all great as was the spa.

Room Tip: Clean rooms, but did have a few ants in the bathroom. I got a garden view but still had an ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Avila Lighthouse Suites to host your bachelorette weekend! We are happy to hear that our suites were large enough to accommodate you and your guests, while being spacious enough to celebrate such a happy event in your life. It is wonderful that our oceanfront location provided direct access to the shops and restaurants on the promenade and beach. We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback, and are excited to see you again in the future!

Best,
Kyli Frauenheim
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

After having changed hotels about every night for a week, we were looking for a place to settle down and relax. We found this place and we really liked it. Avila itself is located about half way between Los Angelos and San Francisco. Thus the place is a good choice, if one wants to break the long ride at the coast into two days. The hotel is located directly at the beach only separated by a small road. The hotel has different types of rooms. A few with sea view, most rooms face a view to the pool, same towards the street on the side (less attractive). Below the hotel, there is a parking garage. Also we found it very practicable that the place has a guest laundry where we could do some washing.

The nice thing about the pool area is that it is surrounded by glass walls protecting this area of the chilly wind from the pacific. The pool area has a pool and a kind of hot tub / whirl pool. The latter is heated more and can even be used in the evenings. Breakfast had good choice and was more than we expected. The rooms are really nice furnished and are separated into a bed room, bath room and a kind of kitchen / living room part. For food the Customs House restaurant is a good choice in walking distance. A bar can also be found next to the restaurant. Shopping Malls are a few miles away north and south on the I 101. In the south there is a outlet mall with all kinds of brands. The few shops we visited seem to be an cheaper alternative to shopping in bigger cities.

The hotel is very clean. Staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Make yourself familiar with the different types of rooms. The rooms facing the sea provide a great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad that you were able to take a break in your travels to relax at our property while take advantage of our oceanfront pool and spa, which we keep heated year round. Since we are the only beach-front property in Avila, it is convenient for our guests to locate the shops and restaurants along the promenade and enjoy a day on beautiful Avila Beach. As we are continuously looking for ways to iensure our guests have the best experience possible, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Kyli Frauenheim
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were lucky enough to stumble upon Avila Beach on our driving holiday down to LA. Without a reservation we were able to secure a great beach front room at the Lighthouse suites. Room was enormous with a very comfy king size bed, separate sitting room and big bathroom. Everything you could need for a beach holiday! The terrace faced west and we had a huge view of the beach. A really nice place to sit and relax after a day in the sun. The resort was immaculate and the gardens and pool area were testament to this. We would love to return and spend more time here as its a great little spot on the coast. Staff were super friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 216 on the second floor - great views and cool breezes - with a large king bed and sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
How wonderful it is to hear that you spent part of your trip down the coast of California with us in Avila Beach! Thank you so much for the kind words about our property and our staff! We are delighted to have been such a positive part of your beautiful trip, and sincerely hope to see you again soon.

Thank you again!

Best,
Kyli Frauenheim
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Sept 13 and 14th. Although room was wonderful, clean and steps away from the beach, it did not make up for the terrible service we received when having to complain about the noise coming from neighboring guests at room below . Called front desk twice and was told security would look into it. An hour later at way after 11 pm , noise and loud banging noises still going on . So I can't say this is a great place to stay if you want to get away and relax. Maybe try in more off season like winter?? Not sure. After a third call to front desk we were told that several other guests called to complain about the same noise and guests yet nothing had been done. Does Avila not have a police dept? At any rate, the proper thing for management to do is comp us for the night of zero sleep. Again , the room was very clean, beds comfortable but it would have been nice to have been able to enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. Avila Beach is a very a clean and beautiful place, which makes it is very popular with families, which is also true for our property. I am sorry to hear about the noise issues from your surrounding guests. Upon check in, each guest must sign our Pleasant Stay Policy, and our staff and security are well trained in handling each specific violation as it happens. I sincerely apologize for this instance, and would love to have you back with us to provide you with a restful and relaxing stay. I suggest the months of November through February; the weather is beautiful and the town is far less busy than our summer months (June - September). Again, thank you very much for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Kyli Frauenheim
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avila Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Lighthouse Suites

Address: 550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Lighthouse Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the sand, the Avila Lighthouse Suites is perfectly nestled in the quaint beach town of Avila Beach between the mountains and the sea. Our all-suite beachfront hotel offers comfortable and spacious two-room suites, each with a private balcony or patio to admire the beautiful views. Guests enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, parking, spa services at our on-site spa facility, beachfront heated pool and Jacuzzi and family play areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Avila Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Lighthouse Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Lighthouse Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila Lighthouse Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.