We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avila Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Avila Village Inn to your Saves list
Avila Village Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6655 Bay Laurel Drive, Avila Beach, CA 93424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Villa Park, California, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Delightful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the Avila Village Inn from November 11 to 14, room 115, with our dog. Before we made the reservation, I had read the reviews posted here, especially the negative reviews and had some doubts about the Inn. Some of the reviews described the Inn as old and not well maintained.
When we arrived, I was pleasantly surprised. The Inn is fairly new and in excellent condition. It's a bit hard to find because it's at the back of a small office and retail area but that's about as negative as I can think of. It was very quiet - all the offices closed down at night
The Inn is located on the Bob Jones walking/biking trail that leads down to the beach.
The Inn has two rooms which they allow dogs in and we had one of them. The room is clean, with no hint that dogs had been in the room previously. Even my dog did not give any indication of smelling any of the previous dogs.
The room was modern, with a TV, a DVD player, and a refrigerator. The bathroom is large with a big shower (no tub) and two sinks. AC worked well. Bed was comfortable and the linen and covers were very nice and adequate.
The room includes a hot tub on the patio of the room but we didn't use it.
The room opens on to a great room two floors high. There's an interesting fireplace/chimney in the great room - I'll post a picture. The great room was not used very much by the guest during our stay.
On one side of the great room is a winding staircase leading to the breakfast area on the second floor. Breakfast is included in the price. The breakfast is mostly just bread, cereal, yogurt, and juice. An okay breakfast.
But in the office/retail development, no more than 50 feet away, is the Avila Market. They make a very good hot breakfast - eggs, omelets, oatmeal, regular breakfast stuff - and it's excellent. It's also a good place to get lunch or to get a couple of beers in the afternoon and just relax. If you order a pizza, be prepared for a very overstuffed pizza!
Anyway, our stay was delightful. I can highly recommend the Avila Village Inn as a place to stay when visiting the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    69
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
142
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We ended up here after booking via hotwire for a quick overnight on our way up to Monterrey. Having not read any reviews, we weren’t sure what to expect. Turns out the place was absolutely wonderful! While it’s not on the beach, it is tucked away in the woods and makes you feel more secluded. Our room was on the second floor. Our king bed room was not especially spacious, but there was a fireplace and a balcony with seating, so it worked perfectly for us. Overall the place felt clean and well taken care of. The free breakfast in the morning consisted of coffee, juice, milk, bagels, cereal, and toast. The inn is only about a mile away from the beachfront where there is shopping and dining in a fun, boardwalk style area. There are bathroom and outdoor shower facilities at the beach as well. We really enjoyed our quick overnight and are looking forward to our next visit when we can relax a little more and enjoy the area more.

Room Tip: The custom tile tub/shower is a bit tricky to get in and out of as it is a pretty high step, so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Got in late and checked in with some very friendly people. Good pricing and great location for the business I had to take care of. Room was nice and cheerful with a fireplace and Jacuzzi tub. Continental breakfast was a little slim in the pickings but tasted good. Second floor area was clean and cheerful for breakfast. Would I stay here again....definitely...here it comes...BUT not for business but for pleasure. No work desk in the room...used the ironing board for my desk...actually rather funny. Glad no one was around to take a picture. Very friendly personnel...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights recently and thought is was very nice. The rooms were comfortable, the bathroom very spacious, and the fireplace made it very cozy. The common area was very warm and inviting and the staff was excellent. Very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was nothing special but good none the less. Very pleased with my stay at the Avila Village Inn.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
378 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We chose this hotel based on its location as a half way point from SF to Santa Barbara.

Despite requesting a quiet room we were given a room on the lower level & had to listen to the guests above us thumping around.

The bathroom was spacious but really needs a make-over as does the tv....flat screen please!

The breakfast was similar to a holiday inn express breakfast...ie help yourself but for the $180 price tag & a drive from the beach I guess I expected more bang for buck.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely a beautiful place to stay. We stayed the night before moving our daughter into her dorm at Cal Poly. The room was large and comfortable . Also a good size mini frig was perfect for the groceries we got the night before . A nice breakfast to get us ready for a busy day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Olivos, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed four nights at this excellent hotel: beautiful arts and crafts style hotel/rooms: ours had a fireplace, wet bar, fridge, large double vanity bathroom with whirlpool tub, all beautifully decorated and with high attention to detail. Free breakfast provided as well as a tray of warm cookies in the afternoon, plus tea or coffee 24 hours a day. Guests receive complimentary membership in the gym next door which has a heated Olympic size swimming pool as well as a large fully equipped gym etc. Hotel sits right on the beautiful Bob Jones Bike Path, easy walk to Avila Beach etc. This hotel is a gem. Friendly staff, beautiful lobby, great rooms, terrific housekeeping, dog friendly, free parking and Internet, I could go on and on......will def be back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.9 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
San Luis Bay Inn
San Luis Bay Inn
#5 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
2.6 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#15 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#4 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Village Inn

Address: 6655 Bay Laurel Drive, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Avila Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Village Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Village Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.