We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avila Village Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Avila Village Inn to your Saves list
Avila Village Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6655 Bay Laurel Drive, Avila Beach, CA 93424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights recently and thought is was very nice. The rooms were comfortable, the bathroom very spacious, and the fireplace made it very cozy. The common area was very warm and inviting and the staff was excellent. Very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was nothing special but good none the less. Very pleased with my stay at the Avila Village Inn.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    67
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
23
136
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We chose this hotel based on its location as a half way point from SF to Santa Barbara.

Despite requesting a quiet room we were given a room on the lower level & had to listen to the guests above us thumping around.

The bathroom was spacious but really needs a make-over as does the tv....flat screen please!

The breakfast was similar to a holiday inn express breakfast...ie help yourself but for the $180 price tag & a drive from the beach I guess I expected more bang for buck.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely a beautiful place to stay. We stayed the night before moving our daughter into her dorm at Cal Poly. The room was large and comfortable . Also a good size mini frig was perfect for the groceries we got the night before . A nice breakfast to get us ready for a busy day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Olivos, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed four nights at this excellent hotel: beautiful arts and crafts style hotel/rooms: ours had a fireplace, wet bar, fridge, large double vanity bathroom with whirlpool tub, all beautifully decorated and with high attention to detail. Free breakfast provided as well as a tray of warm cookies in the afternoon, plus tea or coffee 24 hours a day. Guests receive complimentary membership in the gym next door which has a heated Olympic size swimming pool as well as a large fully equipped gym etc. Hotel sits right on the beautiful Bob Jones Bike Path, easy walk to Avila Beach etc. This hotel is a gem. Friendly staff, beautiful lobby, great rooms, terrific housekeeping, dog friendly, free parking and Internet, I could go on and on......will def be back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights on a trip for our 20th wedding anniversary. We initially were planning to stay at Sycamore Springs but switched to the Avila Village Inn after comparing reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel was very quiet, perfect for a romantic getaway. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated and we enjoyed both the fireplace and the hot tub on the balcony. Free access to the health club next door was a nice bonus. The breakfasts are minimal but because we knew this from previous reviews we were able to plan accordingly. Both Avila Beach and San Luis Obispo are great and this place is ideally suited between both towns. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful 3 days at the inn. Quiet, beautiful spot. Close to the beach, easy access to the quaint town of Avila beach. The adjacent tennis, spa, and pool facilities were very well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

After a night camping on our honeymoon this hotel was such a nice surprise. We had tea and cookies on arrival and our room was lovely. We had a hot tub on the balcony, lovely bathroom and a great big bed! We even borrowed a film which was a great touch! Also, Avila beach was such a great find- we saw dolphins and it wasn't too busy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Avila Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Village Inn

Address: 6655 Bay Laurel Drive, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and EasyToBook so you can book your Avila Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Village Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Village Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.