We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure not to get room 103!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avila Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Avila Village Inn to your Saves list
Avila Village Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6655 Laurel Bay Drive, Avila Beach, CA 93424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Make sure not to get room 103!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Well Hotwire reservation is black list type of reservation . You get the best price for the worse room in the house .
We paid around 200 dollars and we got first floor room near the noisy lobby . The room was ib the front of the parking lot.
Small with ok bath . The front desk girl was sweet but not sweet to a point of giving us another room upon my unhappy face.
It's small hotel in the woods. Not neat the beach or anything that will give them such a huge Demond . Oh well it's July and it's three hours from losangeles . Will not be back . It was ok but not that great ! Sorry !

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    63
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
23
126
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed in this palce as Avila was around half way on our way south. From the moment from driving to the parking lot, we knew we chose well. The building itself is beautiful with a lot of beams and a fireplace. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast wasn't great, plenty of plastic wrapped things from plastic cutlery but nevermind.

The room was so tastefully decorated, so clean and spaceous it felt like a treat to stay there. The jacuzzi was so lovely. The fireplace made the stay feel like sheer luxury. Our room was the cheapest kind, just wonder what the pricier ones are like..? Just wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I patronized The Avila Village Inn for our 8th wedding anniversary. I'd never heard of it before but ran across it on a random web search. I'm so glad I found it! It's a smaller hotel with, I believe, 30 rooms total. 15 upstairs and 15 downstairs. We stayed in the Creek Side Suite and it was very secluded and peaceful. The room itself was nice. It has a living room with a fireplace, wet bar and built-in fridge, a TV, a couch and an oversized chair. The bedroom is separate and spacious with a fireplace, TV, queen size bed and an oversized chair. The bathroom is a nice size with double sinks, a separate glass/tile shower and jetted tub. The private Jacuzzi on the deck was the icing on the cake.

Now for the (small) cons: The TV's are REALLY small for how big the rooms are. I'm guessing maybe 27"?? For as inexpensive TV's are these days, they could use upgrading. The room was pretty clean except anywhere there was a "ledge" for dust to collect, there was dust build up (e.g. the picture frames, doors, corners of shelves). This is minor but should be mentioned for the price we paid for the room. The bed wasn't horrible but it wasn't spectacular. I did find myself tossing a bit. We were on the bottom floor and we could hear the people above us walking around and getting in and out of their squeaky bed. I'm thinking a little WD 40 would fix the problem. While the Jacuzzi was private, we could see people walking along the bike path but we never made eye contact. I don't know if they could see us but we could definitely see them.

The Pros: It's such a quaint and quite place. The staff was friendly. The decor in both the lobby and the room was plush and detailed. We kept the fireplaces on the entire night with both doors slightly cracked and the temp was perfect. The Jacuzzi was a great added plus. We got in it several times in the short time we were there. We took advantage of the spa next door and got massages. The staff was excellent. It was reasonably priced and worth every penny. We had dinner plans but after the massage and a dip in the Jacuzzi we didn't want to leave the room so we ordered in. There was a menu in our room for a place called The Rib Line. It made it to our room when they said it would and it was absolutely fabulous, probably the best BBQ we've had in a while. They even brought plates and plastic ware with our order, which we didn't think to ask for!

After booking the room, I got an email from the staff letting us know they looked forward to having us. After I got home I got a follow up email thanking us for staying. I have never got that from any hotel and I thought it was very courteous.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. It was just what we needed for a relaxing time away and we can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice hotel with all of the special touches. We were on the second floor, creekside with a hot tub on the balcony. Room was nicely decorated, had a comfortable bed, and a very large bathroom with 2 sinks. The hot tub was private and I loved the lemon-eucalyptus scented water - nice touch! Gourmet coffee, teas, and refreshing ice water was available in the lobby all day and fresh baked cookies were set out each afternoon. Breakfast was more than adequate - assorted hot/cold cereals, bagels, pastries The beach is about a 20 minute walk away. The only negative is that we could hear traffic noise on the main road which is on the other side of the creek on the backside of the property. We would definitely stay here again and will recommend to friends.

Room Tip: creekside is beautiful but beware of road noise if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel away from the beach crowd. Wonderful walking trail. The grassy front picture is deceiving as it is really the back entrance with no areas to relax and read.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I took a look at Trip Advisor reviews etc, an determined this hotel was wonderful, and everything and more than it shows on the sites so we bookedit. I did not agree with previous review of this hotel(they appeared unhappy) our stay was wonderful, great amenities, peaceful, quiet, beautiful grounds, and room. Hotel was clean, orderly and everything we were looking for at a decent price. We enjoyed our stay and will stay again as often as can. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

I was not expecting it to be so good. It's clean and very cosy. Very happy with everything.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avila Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Village Inn

Address: 6655 Laurel Bay Drive, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Avila Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Village Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Village Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.