We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at an unbeatable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avila Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Avila Village Inn to your Saves list
Avila Village Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6655 Laurel Bay Drive, Avila Beach, CA 93424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great hotel at an unbeatable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here and wished we'd stayed more! The room was well-equipped (fridge, wine glasses, robes, fireplace etc), had good bed linen and a very spacious bathroom. The breakfast was fine for a continental breakfast and we enjoyed the fresh cookies at check-in! We used the adjoining club a couple of times (great heated lap pool, fitness rooms, tennis courts) and everyone was very friendly and helpful. The communal areas were very cosy and were nice to relax in. There's a bike path next to the hotel and a fantastic farm shop within walking distance. If you're looking for somewhere quiet near to the beach and outside SLO, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the breakfast area (upstairs) if you're a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    63
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
23
126
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Helens England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Very nice hotel with a welcoming reception. Lovely big rooms which included a massive (For someone from the UK it was very big) shower cubicle, double wash basin, king size bed and the added bonus of a hot tub. Not far from the beach at Avila with a basic continental breakfast in the morning. We were on a road trip from LA to SF and it was the perfect stopover. Would love to stay again, just wish that there were more of these hotels in the US.

Room Tip: Stayed on the ground floor. Very accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

For the $150 we paid for this room, I STILL can't get over how amazing it was. Hot tub heated and ready when we arrived, gas fireplace in the room to warm up by, massive bathroom with absolutely huge walk-in shower, free (and strong!) wifi, etc etc. Really pleasant staff made us feel instantly at home and welcomed, we didn't use half of the complimentary amenities they offered due to time, but were really impressed with the list. I'd love to stay longer and give my wife a chance to check out the spa while I swim, and I know we'll be back. The only failing I could think of is the lack of room service, but they do have a relationship with an awesome looking BBQ place nearby that will deliver to the hotel - details on a card in the room. Seriously, I can't say enough good things about this place - so glad we decided to 'take a risk' by going with the cheaper of the two hotels with hot tubs in the area...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Inn is a good attempt at an authentic Craftsman construction, with nice amenities. There is a good "great room" in the Craftsman style, with a large fireplace, leather chairs, and backgammon. In the rooms are refrigerators and a decent TV/DVD player, with DVDs at the front desk to check out. Adjacent to the inn is an athletic club, and guests at the inn are complimentary members while they stay at the inn. The club is a complete club, with tennis, pools, massage, weights, and a number of different aerobic machines. The staff at both facilities is nice and helpful. Our room had a malfunctioning hot tub, and the staff could not rectify it, so they offered and moved us into a different room. It rained during our entire stay, but we spent time lounging in the outside deck hot tub our room came with, working out at the club, and visiting with family in the great room. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shandon, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I am a local of San Luis Obiispo County, but found this property by accident while surfing the web. My husband and I took a mini-vacation to Avila Beach and stayed in this adorable Inn. It's truly a special hidden gem. Our room overlooked the parkway and Bob Jones' Trail right behind the Inn. The room had a fireplace, huge bathroom with a gigantic tile shower, and a wonderful hot jacuzzi on our private balcony. The bed was comfortable and the room was nicely appointed with a mini-bar and sink in the room, with refrigerator. They provided heavy cotton robes in the closet (with a light in the closet!). There was a beautifully curved staircase leading upstairs with open air ceiling all the way up. A sitting area with leather sofa's and chairs were upstairs as well as downstairs in the lobby, with a floor to ceiling fireplace in the lobby. Coffee and tea was always available in the lobby, and a daily newspaper at the desk. A deli-gift shop is also on the premises. Of course this Inn is only a 5 minute drive to the beautiful sunbathing beach of Avila Beach, with all it's quaint shops and restaurants. What a find! Oh yes, and it has an elevator to the second floor as well.

Room Tip: I liked our room because it faced the back, overlooking the walking trail, with trees and park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed 1 night in the hotel on our drive along the coast but I wish we would have stayed longer.

The room is huge, has a fire place, king size bed and was very comfortable. The bathroom is fairly large as well and very nice with a a jetted bath tub.

The hotel lobby is very impressive and has a ski resort feeling to it. The staff at the reception is very helpful and friendly.

The breakfast was small but nice.

You can use the sports club across the road for free. You can also rent movies at no costs and they have wireless internet.

This place is truly fantastic. Very comfortable and great value for money!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

A "must stay" when visiting the Central Coast of California. The rates are reasonable and it's a hop, skip and a jump to Pismo Beach or San Luis Obispo. There's a little bit of everything for the adventurous: Hiking, biking, tennis, beach combing in Los Osos, free yoga and pilates classes not to mention the close proximity to many first class wineries. If you just want to chill, try the jacuzzis on the deck or the mineral hot springs at the Sycamore Inn.

The staff is very personable and helpful and on call 24 hours a day.

Room Tip: Avoid 101 or 201, they are across from the ice machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avila Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Village Inn

Address: 6655 Laurel Bay Drive, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Avila Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Village Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Village Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.