We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good spot for breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Custom House

Custom House
404 Front St, Avila Beach, CA 93424
+1 805-595-7555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Avila Beach
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
los angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A good spot for breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

There aren't a whole lot of choices in Avila Beach, but thankfully, this is a good one! We only ate breakfast here, but it was tasty and a good value. Nothing to necessarily write home about, but the wait staff was friendly, the food was well cooked, and it was a good value. I would definitely eat here again next time we're in Avila Beach!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    141
    51
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frazier Park, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great view, yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We really enjoyed the food here. Nice ambience & view on the patio. The hub & I ended up making a meal out of appetizer items. The sashimi was perfect & fresh. Their clam chowder is one of the best we have had. Great cocktails, as well. Very good service, a little slow at times, but I don't mind that. I hate being rushed, which can happen at beach restaurants, but that never happened. We had a nice leisurely dinner.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

A large patio on the Ocean Front. Excellent location. We had to wait for the area we wanted to be in. No problem and we understood it was lunch hour. Our server was very good and helpful. The food was good, calamari was excellent and the sauces spicy and tasty. Fish tacos ( grilled not battered) were also very good. We would definitely go back if we were in the area. Washrooms were very clean, which is always appreciated in a high traffic tourist area, or any area for that matter.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“DISCOURTEOUS STAFF AND INEFFICIENT MANAGER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have enjoyed Custom House for years HOWEVER today cured me as far as EVER returning,
Three of us with a baby were told by a hostess it would be 10 minutes for an outside table. I understand times fluctuate however after 25 minutes we decided we could no longer wait and asked for a manager. I was called a liar by one hostess and the manager did nothing to resolve the situation, needless to say we went elsewhere to eat. When i asked the hostess how she could call me a liar, i was told that SHE didnt say 10 minutes, the other hostess had. To be called a liar i take VERY seriously. NO ONE apologized or tried to correct the situation. A little kindness would have gone a long way. Sad that they are not getting the training they need.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Compliment to the Management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

After waiting nearly an hour to be seated, I was unhappy with the hostess for her dismissive attitude to our predicament. A party of 13 with 5 hungry children! At last the one table they had set aside for a large party was free, and Steve (one of the managers) realizing we were at our wit's end kindly compensated us with appetizers! They were incredible! Giant coconut prawns, fantastic quesadillas... just thinking about them makes my mouth water. Once seated, the service was speedy and friendly and the food was great. We sampled soups, salads, fish n' chips, and the specialty pizzas. My husband's hamburger was grilled just to his liking. We will come again, Steve, and again and again. Great food, supportive staff and a spot on the Avila Front Street where you can gaze out at the pier and watch the world stroll past.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custom House also viewed

Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Custom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.