We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have the wrong photo for Point San Luis Lighthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port San Luis Lighthouse

Port San Luis Lighthouse
Avila Beach Drive, Avila Beach, CA 93406
805 540 5771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 attractions in Avila Beach
Type: Lighthouses
Attraction Details
Morro Bay, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You have the wrong photo for Point San Luis Lighthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Love both lighthouses in our area but you have the Piedras Blancas lighthouse here as your main photo, not the Point San Luis Lighthouse. And it's "Point" San Luis lighthouse, not Port.
Point San Luis Lighthouse is fabulous and now easy to get to with the trolley. Everybody should go to see it.
Piedras Blancas Lighthouse is above San Simeon on Highway 1 and they have tours also -- cost $10 for adults. Great docent led tour.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    2
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Loved the lighthouse! Beautiful views and a lovely walk around the grounds. Saw sea lions and tons of beautiful landscape. What a fun adventure!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Such a great tour!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is a must if you are visiting Avila Beach Trolley Tour of Lighthouse highly reccomended

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great half-day excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and I took the hike out from Avila Beach to the Port San Luis lighthouse last weekend (April 21, 2012). We arrived at 9am and after turning in our permission slip to cross the Diablo Canyon property we were on our way to the lighthouse. Our guide was Lyle, and there were about 20 of us. Before embarking on the hike we were allowed to use the Andy Gump on the Diablo Cyn property. Take advantage of this if you have had coffee because you won't get another Andy Gump until you get to the lighthouse. It is about an hour or so hike up to the lighthouse because we stop a few times for history and geology lessons. Lyle was fantastic and taught us a lot about the area, the foliage, the rock formations, and the bugs! Wear long pants tucked into socks and light colored clothing so you can see the ticks because there are a lot of ticks. Your guide will point them out, as well as the poison oak, so you can avoid it. The hike is moderate, and the views are stunning. While you can take children, I think it is hard to keep them away from the ticks and poison oak, and you can relax better if you don't do this one with kids, plus they may get impatient with the learning stops. Once you get out to the lighthouse it is blustery and gorgeous. Handy to have a sweatshirt, though the hike out was hot, bring water. The tour of the lighthouse is fascinating as is the lighthouse keepers home. On the hike back we picked up the pace a bit while still enjoying the ocean views. I think we arrived back at 1pm. So figure on about a 4 hour roundtrip. Don't forget to wear sunscreen, bring a hat & sunglasses, long pants, water,snacks, a sweatshirt, $5 per person to enter the lighthouse, more$ if you want to shop in the small gift shop.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“hike”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Docents take way too long to escort you on a very nice hike.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port San Luis Lighthouse also viewed

Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Port San Luis Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port San Luis Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Port San Luis Lighthouse to your Saves list