We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Views, beautiful decorating, and friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Avila Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Avila Beach to your Saves list
Inn at Avila Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   256 Front Street, PO Box 328, Avila Beach, CA 93424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Breathtaking Views, beautiful decorating, and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

I love this place so much that I've returned at least three times. The top sun deck is a great place to throw a party if you are traveling with a group.

If not, I recommend one of their ocean-front rooms. If that's not in your budget, get any room and enjoy that sun deck -- it's gorgeous!

The hotel is old and I have stayed in rooms that were slightly less than perfect but they gave me a terrific discount because of it (there was a ceiling leak in the living room of my suite).

The hotel has an enormous library of video tapes for you to enjoy for free and puts popcorn in your microwave to enjoy it with.

The staff was very friendly and accomodating.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    92
    24
    28
    23
See reviews for
72
167
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

WHAT A HIDDEN TREASURE THIS PLACE IS. It was a random selection from the internet, my husband and I took the teens and we all ran away for the weekend. We stayed in a family unit and it was like going to our own beach condo. The family unit was like an Apt. big lots of room 2 big futon couches that made into beds for the kids and a seperate bed room for us. With a country kitchen table for 6 and a sm kitchen. Big coffee table & TV armoire, very comfy for all. The really big suprise is how you are treated, (like old family friends), The lobby area is a central hang out, fireplace, lounging, gaming area, Hutch filled with dishes. morning coffee, tea, hot,chocolate just help your self. It's beach front baby. The roof top cabanas are to die for. you can walk the pier buy fresh fish and go topside, get dishes from the lobby and a few thing from the grocery next door and watch the sunset while BBQ your dinner. Each cabana has a t.v, wet bar, day beds, tables& chairs, their is an ice maker and it is all done in a CABO SAN LUCAS THEME ---IT'S THE BOMB--- The library is really neat just go down pick out a movie, great selection. We are going back with out the kids and staying in a Ocean front room made for the adult weekend asap. We have stayed a lot of places on the coast but this will be were we stay from now on you cant go wrong.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROUND ROCK, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

My wife and I recently stayed at the Inn for a couple of days just to get away for a bit and rekindle our marriage. This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in for the price. The hospitality of the staff is one that can't be found in even the most expensive hotels. I loved the views!!! I recommend that you request the "Owners Suite" as I did on my second night. This is the most romantic room in the entire Inn. You are not only blessed with a extraordinary view, but you also have a fireplace and jacuzzi in the room!!! The only downfall to Avila Beach (I'm not talking about the Inn itself) is that you had better eat early, because there are definitly not any late night spots nearby to grab a bite at...

Thanks for Everything,

The Sephus Family

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

My boyfriend and I just got back from the Inn today(2/21/06) and we had an absolute fabulous time. We are a young couple of about 20 and we had a great time here at the inn. The rooms were absolutley amazing, I have never stayed in rooms like these before, they were gorgeous. I loved everything about the Inn, there is a sun deck were you can just sit out (on the roof) and just look out into the ocean, it was gorgeous. Everyone at the Inn was extremley nice and they really accommidated us. I absolutley loved this place. It is the perfect place to just get away and relax, and that is all we did. We could have just stayed in the room all day long. Anyone who stays here will not regret it.

Thank you Inn at Avila Beach
The Capra Guests

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Inn on 2/12/06 to celebrate both our 1 year anniversary and Valentine's Day. We stayed in a Spa Room and couldn't have been more pleased. Everything from the jacuzzi tub to the plush large towels was perfect. To top it off not only was the room amazing the staff was incredible. We both felt as if we were staying at a good friend's home instead of at a hotel. Thank you for a trully memorable anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

We stayed at the Inn at Avila Beach November 20-23, 2005. We had a full view ocean room on the third floor and the view was perfect! The cabanas on the roof have fluffy pillows on day beds and there are sofas and chairs - all so you can relax and look at the ocean. Our room had a record player (you could get the vinyl records in the library downstairs), a VCR (go to the library for movies), microwave and fridge. The common room downstairs allowed you to order out and eat in - complete with the use of plates, silverware, glasses, etc. We walked down the street and ate at the Custom House and had the greatest clam chowder in a bread bowl!! The Inn is not a chain - it is unique in its decor and there's no elevator - but even with my bad knee, the climb wasn't bad at all. Loved the available hot chocolate and popcorn - the staff was friendly and the lobby had some great art. We also went for a walk on the nearby pier and saw six or seven dolphins swim by.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2005

We stayed at this hotel during a month long holiday in California and it was without a doubt the best place we stayed in.

The rooms are large, clean and well equipped and the staff are the friendliest we came across during our trip.

Avila Beach is a beautiful little town and this hotel makes it the perfect place for a quiet, relaxing break.

It's steps away from the beach and local amenities and the roof terrace has spectaular views and is a great place to relax at night.

We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
San Luis Bay Inn
San Luis Bay Inn
#5 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#4 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#15 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Avila Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Avila Beach

Address: 256 Front Street, PO Box 328, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Avila Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a one of a kind, California beachfront hotel, you have found it. The Inn at Avila Beach is a unique Inn that mixes the best elements of Mexico and the California Coast. The Inn at Avila Beach is all about the best things in life: celebrations, experiences, relaxation, indulging, and the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Avila Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Avila Beach Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel Avila Beach
Inn Avila Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Avila Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.