We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax you're on vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Avila Beach

Save Saved
You added Inn at Avila Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Avila Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   256 Front Street, PO Box 328, Avila Beach, CA 93424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Avila Beach
Midpines, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relax you're on vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I have been staying here for years on our anniversary and we've never had a bad stay. The staff is welcoming and always happy to meet your needs. Even back in the oil spill days staying in Avila was wonderful! Actually I think it was even better, because we only wanted to relax on our vacation, we were not intrested in all the shops. After that everything changed, the town was rebuilt and everyone and their brothers came in. I will always love The Inn at Avila Beach. It's a special place where you can sit back on your porch and melt your worries away. This year we will be there for our 30 year anniversary. Happy Anniversary to us! :)

Room Tip: Room 209 or 309 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
First congrats on 30years ! And especially thank you for choosing to spend it with us ...more and more the Inn has become "THE " place to spend birthdays and anniversaries or just to get away .
We know you have many choices to stay ,so it means alot to us that you come back every year .
We are committed to renovating the Inn and taking full advantage of our wonderful location on the ocean.
It's been this month ,13 years since the cleanup was declared over , most customers only know it after cleanup.While it's changed somewhat,Avila still is just 4 blocks by 4 blocks and Inn remains where it was 60 years ago ,welcoming guests to the coast .
A nice regular guest ,a 80 year YOUNG lady said it best ,when talking about changes ,to in her words ," MY Beloved Avila "
"Sonny,(I'm 62 ) sixty years ago I looked in a bikini ,but I'm better now!" Good way look at Avila Beach ,we all have changed abit as we have gotten wee bit older ,but most of us rather not go back to bikini days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    71
    21
    27
    21
See reviews for
53
129
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Elsinore, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

An ocean front room is our favorite get-away place. The folks that run this hotel really know how to make people feel welcome and relaxed. We go as often as we can - highly recommended!
There is no pool, but there is an ocean!
For exercise, we go for long walks on the beach and shop in this peaceful little town.

Room Tip: Always get an ocean front room. You can sit on the balcony at night sipping your wine, looking at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Clearly you get what we are trying to do at the Inn..not recreate chain hotel ,but recreate experience of staying at friends beach house .
You get it! Thanks for sharing your experience ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the Inn at Avila Beach for the second time in August. Our last visit was in the owner's suite, this year in a different ocean view room. There is nothing quite like waking up to the beautiful view of the Pacific ocean. We totally enjoyed our room, the new pillow top mattress, and the very large TV screen. We brought some good movies along, as well as records to play on their record players in the room.
The staff is wonderful and provides fresh baked cookies all day and fresh baked pies in the evening. We cooked fresh caught fish and fresh veggies on the rooftop grill, which has the best view of Avila one could ever dream of.
We plan to return to the Inn, as it feels so homey, and is a great place to hang out at the beach and avoid the crowds at most all other beach spots.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The ocean front rooms with the balcony makes it perfect for a romantic weekend getaway. Rooms are clean and have a refrigerator for snacks and cold beverages. The hospitality room off the main office has coffee, hot chocolate, popcorn, and bottled water, all free for guests. Terrific bang for your buck! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay in at Avila Beach! The staff is very nice and extra accommodating!! While it is an older hotel and some "touch-ups" are needed, it is obvious that they are working on it. AND their excellent customer service & many complimentary features allows for us to overlook the areas that need attention. This is our second time staying here...and we are happy to have been able to return. We chose the Courtyard room with two beds that met our needs and pocket book. The ocean was viewable from the Sun Deck (I think from 7am to 11pm) Here are some of the ammenities: 1) Smiling faces greet you and offer fresh chocolate chip cookies (available all the time) at check-in 2) Complimentary cold bottled water, fresh, brewed coffee (coffee maker also in the room), hot water for tea or hot chocolate available to guests in the "lobby's kitchen area" 3) fresh baked pie set out at 8pm for guests to enjoy 4) Dishes and pots/pans available to guests to use in their own room (ours had a small kitchen) or can be used on the Sun Deck (BBQs for guest's use) 5) Sun Deck has lovely ocean view and lounge areas for guests to use (two separate "living room" areas for folks to watch a movie or just lounge in....complimentary movies available for use in your own room or on Sun Deck 6) complimentary use of their beach equipment: boogie boards, chairs, sand toys, etc. (we absolutely love not having to drag our boogie board along on our trip!! EDWARD and the other staff members are a delight! Thank you, Inn at Avila Beach for making our short trip wonderful :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
You Got IT!
YOUR REVIEW IS EXACTLY WHAT WE ARE TRYING TO DO ..RECREATE EXPERIENCE WE HAD NEARLY 30 YEARS AGO OF STAYING AT FRIENDS BEACH HOUSE IN LAGUNA BEACH .
We have never experienced that level of comfort on vacation getaway in finest hotels in world ..so we thought lets try it at Inn at Avila beach .Like the old salt encrusted beach house we stayed at ,not everything was perfect actually part of charm .But everyone tried ,we didnt need anything ,it was all provided .We recently added fresh baked cookies ,and pie social every evening at 8pm to have more interaction with guests .If your looking for brand new box hotel just like one in Kansas /NYC we not that hotel .But if you are looking for experience these folks just had ,thats place we strive to be ..come join us on the beach .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here because we were on our way to Yosemite from LA and wanted a day by the beach. We just turned up, it was more expensive than we wanted to pay, but all the other hotels in Pismo beach and around about were full or more expensive. The Inn were happy to negotiate on price, and the small beach there is great, just 2mins walk from the hotel, so we decided to stay. The concept of the Inn is great, they have a communal kitchen/living area for everyone to use, if they like. Everyday they make fresh cookies, and pies for guests to help themselves, as well as a fridge stocked full of water, and hot drinks available, not forgetting the popcorn, very popular with the children. There is a cupboard full of bodyboards, buckets and spades, and chairs that you can borrow for the beach. Also a room stocked from ceiling to floor with videos, dvd's and books for you to borrow. The roof terrace is something else, massive padded hammocks, areas with sofas, fridges and sinks, and a blender to make up a smoothie/cocktail, whist you watch the sunset. Everything that you could really want to make a holiday relaxing. Our room was quite small and basic, but did have a kitchenette and table and chairs, had we wanted to eat in. The bathroom was in need of renovation, but fine, and considering everything else, I didn't mind as it was clean. I would suggest having a dustpan and brush in the room, as when you come in from the beach so does the sand. It was a treat to stay there and I would have loved to stay longer. I would highly recommend this hotel. We are a family of 4, with 2 teenagers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We loved our room, the view was beautiful, the room was cozy, clean and comfortable. The staff was so nice, everyone makes you feel so welcome and at home. We did not want to leave! We can't wait to go back! Thank you to the staff at the Inn at Avila Beach for making our weekend so wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Avila Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Avila Beach

Address: 256 Front Street, PO Box 328, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Avila Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a one of a kind, California beachfront hotel, you have found it. The Inn at Avila Beach is a unique Inn that mixes the best elements of Mexico and the California Coast. The Inn at Avila Beach is all about the best things in life: celebrations, experiences, relaxation, indulging, and the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Avila Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Avila Beach Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel Avila Beach
Inn Avila Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Avila Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.