We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Luis Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added San Luis Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Luis Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3254 Avila Beach Dr., Avila Beach, CA 93424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Avila Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orange, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a timeshare and we booked it through Diamond Resprts. No hassle from they sales team only asked once and we declined the presentation. The hotel sits on a hill right above Avila Beach, a small beach town that has a few resturants and a great feel. We golf so this location was
Great you have Avila GC right there and you are 20-30 minutes away from Morro Bay GC and a handfull of other courses. There is also a great bike trail right by the hotel and piers you can vist.
This was our 3 stay here and we will be back.

Room Tip: 5 th flor rooms have a great view of Avila
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    47
    15
    12
    10
See reviews for
44
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a timeshare and we felt lucky to be able to trade in for our second trip there. The location is amazing, the updated studios are very large and functional and well done, and the staff makes the trip very enjoyable. Being a timeshare, we are there to enjoy the property and do not expect high end service but do expect help if there are issues and want to find a nice location to relax and "vacate" our normal routing. Suzanna and Michelle on the front desk always had a smile, Carol the concierge was quick and helpful with suggestions, and Richard in maintenance quickly fixed the small issue we had and my request for help with inflating my bike tires.
There is a nice bike trail close by, and the views from the property are fabulous. I had a great view (again) but did not expect it as we traded in via Interval. The grounds are well maintained and there is a patio on the other side of the pool building with one of the best views in Cali.
We just love this place.Being a timeshare trader is like owning and this place is very well run. If you want a wonderful location in central Cali with lots of local places of interest to explore - this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location. We were able to walk to the charming beach which is south facing and therefore quite warm. The condo's are well appointed (we trade a timeshare to stay). There are good restaurants nearby and a full kitchen if you are not in the mood to go out. There is nothing negative if you want a laid back vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The views from this hotel are fabulous as is the sleepy town of Avila. I own one of the original timeshares in this building and I have to say the Diamond Resorts people made me feel like dirt. They just don't seem like they know what they are doing and after they informed me it would cost me a mere $63,000 to be "diamonized" and that my timeshare will be "backshelved" (in other words no ocean views anymore) I left feeling very unwelcome.

The staff is very pleasant and the rooms are nice but skip the sales talk no matter how much they beg you. In fact, if you want to be "diamonized" for less money, check out the resale market where you can buy it for about 10 cents on the dollar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

WE have stayed here a few times as my mother in law has a timeshare. If you get lucky the views can be amazing. The last time we stayed however, we had to wait over an hour to get in our rooms as at least 10 families were waiting to check in.

We also noticed that the room seemed not as clean as in the past and had an odd odor. The rooms also really need to be updated and deep cleaned.

We do however, love Avila! The Avila area is really so beautiful and we love to go to the Farmers Market on Fridays, Avila Barn, Kelsey Winery but your trip is not complete without a trip to Doc Bernstein's in Arroyo Grande which has the BEST ice cream!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights with a friend who is a timeshare owner. 3rd story, 2 BR+2BR unit with view of beach. Plenty of amenities - at least 6 bbqs, pool, jacuzzi, medium size workout room, coffee in the lobby in the morning in a nice sunroom. Ping pong table, movies for rent in the lobby. Short walk to beach, long walk to the San Luis Pier, medium walk to the Avila Pier.

The Inn sits on a bluff overlooking the entire Avila Beach strand, you will never get tired of the view.

This is a smaller older resort, so people who are used to the "Mega TS resorts" like Marriotts or Hiltons might be a little disappointed but it was very comfortable, the staff were very responsive and the common areas were kept immaculately. I would definitely return.

One caveat related to Avila Beach - there is no serious grocery store in town so you have to bring in all your groceries from San Luis Obispo or pack them in with you. There is a convenience store/gift store downtown with a deli and some pastries but come well prepared if you want to cook or prepare breakfast in your room.

Room Tip: In high season, you need to be an owner to get a view room. In shoulder and low seasons, ask before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We enjoy staying here, beautiful views, relaxing, and a friendly staff. Concierge desk is very helpful and has nice perks (discounts) at local restaurants.

Room is very comfortable, we stay in a one bedroom.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Luis Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Bay Inn

Address: 3254 Avila Beach Dr., Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Luis Bay Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your San Luis Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Bay Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel San Luis Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luis Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.