We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Luis Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Luis Bay Inn to your Saves list
San Luis Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3254 Avila Beach Dr., Avila Beach, CA 93424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Spring Valley, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A great getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed here for a week in a 1-bedroom condo. Our room faced the beach so we could hear the waves hit the shore and see a great sunrise. The rooms were spacious and the staff was friendly and helpful- especially Kevin the concierge. Our daughter came for 2 days and stayed in one of the studio units which was very nice as well.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are hard to get- ones facing the parking lot also face the beach which are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    57
    18
    14
    13
See reviews for
51
69
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We had a one bedroom suite with a nice view of the beach and pier. We enjoyed watching the sunrises and sunsets. We had no complaints about the room but it would have been nice to have been on a higher floor. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the jacuzzi tub on several occassions. We all enjoyed the pool and hot tub. There is a nice, but small, work out room and a fun game room. We ate at Fat Cat's and Custom House. Both were quite good and you get 10% off for being guests SLB Inn. We also ate at Spash in San Luis Obispo, and it was quite good. We liked this resort, really enjoyed its location and beauiful setting.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We enjoyed our stay, however we really wanted an ocean view. We reserved 8 months in advance and are timeshare owners, however not owners there. We had two other couples with us that booked through the intranet and got rooms facing a wall. As a timeshare resort, it definitely takes care of its owners first, not always a bad thing. Our room was recently remodeled and was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and complex was quiet. It’s a quick walk to the town of Avilla, which is a great place to eat, drink wine, shop or simply walk the beach. The weather in Avilla Beach is always better than Pismo Beach. The fog seems to rarely settle there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We just came back from a 1 week stay in Avila Beach and the San Luis Bay Inn. The Inn looked well-kept with soft carpets and was just painted. We exchanged through Diamond Resorts International. The DRI concierge was very helpful. Apparently our 1 bedroom room wasn't ready (don't know where it was located) so we were put into an oceanview 1 bedroom on the 2nd floor. Two flat screen tv's, very comfortable king size bed, full kitchen, jacuzzi in the bathroom, patio overlooking the bay. Each morning we saw sea otters and sea lions in the bay (with the sea lions basking in the sun each afternoon) from our balcony. Large heated swimming pool, nice hot tub, and kiddie pool. Nice exercise room with a few weights, treadmills, exercise bikes, and stairsteppers. They have activities during the week but we didn't take part in any of them. We took a couple of beautiful, easy hikes along the ocean at Montana State Park (Bluff Trail- -2 miles 1 way; Bouchan Point--7 miles round trip out and back) which is about 30-45 minutes away. Right now, the park is free to enter. Bouchan Point starts near 1 end of the Bluff Trail and is open only Thursday-Sunday. It's operated by PG&E and you get permission to hike it by walking through a gate next to the parking lot and going to the gatehouse. We were met by a courteous ranger who checked us in. If people are interested in wine tasting, all we can say is "So many wineries, so little time!" Get online to check out the wineries in the Avila Beach area, San Luis Obispo, and Paso Robles. Our last day was spent in lounge chairs on the large patio overlooking the bay and reading a book. We would be happy to return to the San Luis Bay Inn and Avila Beach.

Room Tip: If possible, request an oceanview room for the beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the San Luis Bay Inn. Because of some of the less than positive reviews I was a little concerned. Thankfully, we had no reason for concern. Our room on the 5th floor had a wonderful view of the bay. It was comfortable and spacious. We had two flat screen TV's; one in the bedroom and one in the living room; a king size bed and an overly large bathroom with a jetted bathtub. Our full kitchen and poolside BBQ'S allowed us to prepare meals and saved us money. It is an easy walk to the charming town of Avila Beach. The property is also now offering free in-room wireless internet. We also had a spacious balcony with two chairs and a small table.

Room Tip: It is a long walk to the rooms on the 5th floor but worth the view and it was also very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

My husband and I were traveling with my 82 yr old Mother and sister and had requested a 2-bdrm ocean-view room. Our accommodations were great! Only downer was that we were at the very end of the building and a distance from the elevator, but the view was spectacular! We had 3 mule deer grazing on the lawn below our window! The staff were very friendly~ from the front desk to Pekoe at the concierge desk for Diamond Resort guests. Avila Beach and Boardwalk is an easy walk and the Bob Jones Trail is a scenic walk for 1.5 miles. We loved the resort! Very clean! Great pool and jacuzzi and exercise room! and appreciated good coffee 24/7 offered off of the lobby. And the beds were very comfortable! We'll be back!

Room Tip: we were on the 4th floor, end of the building, corner with 2 windows in the master bdrm, loved sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We reserved a week at San Luis Bay Inn in Avila Beach, near San Luis Obispo from Dial an Exchange (DAE). The resort sits alone on the hill above the town & harbor overlooking the bay. DAE’s & the resort’s webpage directions were simple & accurate. We drove our camper from Sacramento stopping overnight near Monterey Bay to visit the Aquarium the next day before driving to the resort to check in. An excellent stopping point from the north, w/exhibits of unusual sea creatures, jelly fish, pipe fish, & sea horses, along w/hammerhead sharks, a 350 pound sunfish, a great white shark, & sea otters, & interesting presentations on research carried out at the Aquarium.

Upon arrival, we unloaded our stuff onto an available luggage roller. Check-in was swift & painless. Outdoor parking is 3 levels, w/the bottom level being worked on currently. The resort was built in stages, so the elevator goes to the 1st 4 floors, & then the elevator to the 5th & final floor is down the hall around the corner. Same goes for the stairs from the lobby, altho the stairs from outside the resort on the side of the building go directly to the 5th floor.
The rooms, pool area, & outside doors are all accessed using an individually programmed key. For security, there is a bolt lock & safety bar on the inside. The first 1-bedroom, full kitchen unit we got was large & looked out over the bay & Avila Beach. We entered into the “great” room, which had the dining area & kitchen as 1/2 & the living room as the other, w/a sliding glass door to the balcony. The balcony had 2 chairs & a table to enjoy the view. The large bathroom was accessed from the main room & from the bedroom.

The kitchen had a normal refrigerator, dishwasher, & stove top/oven w/microwave above, 1.5 sinks, w/a garbage disposal in the half sink area, & plenty of counter space. There was enough for a party of 8. The 2 of us ran the dishwasher only twice. We had cabinet space to store our food after rearranging. The small closet near the entry had an ironing board, iron, fire extinguisher, & hangers. The dining area had a large rectangular table for 4, w/space for our tour info & cameras. The living room had a sofa sleeper & a recliner, w/older, worn cushions, a rectangular coffee table, a side table w/1 drawer, an entertainment cabinet w/an older TV, a simple DVD player, & storage drawers, & heavy drapes. There were bright lights over the kitchen counter, a hanging chandelier over the dining table, & 2 bright corner lights in the living room.

The large bathroom cabinet had a sink & lots of counter/cabinet space for personal toiletries & the complimentary toiletries, towels for 4 but only 2 bath towel racks & 1 hand towel rack, & the Jacuzzi bath/shower had a full curtain, a clothes line string, & the water heated up quickly. There were 2 switches, the fan/sink lights (3) & the shower light.

The large bedroom had a queen-sized bed w/an old, soft mattress indented from 7 years of sleepers, 2 night stands each w/storage space & a reading light, a fan/light over the bed, a dresser w/an older TV, a closet w/sleeper couch bedding & some extra blankets, a luggage rack, & thick drapes. They had bed boards for between the mattress & spring box, but all were in use, which made us think the resort should realize how badly they needed to replace the beds. We slept the first 2 nights in this apartment on the floor w/our camper’s air mattresses.

The 3rd night, we moved to a newly renovated 5th floor room & got a bed board as well. The layout was the same, but the square footage in the living areas was less. Also, the square dining table sat 4 but had little room for our books, etc. There was no living room coffee table, & the balcony had 2 small chairs but no table. The 2 TVs in the apartment were new flat screen ones, the furniture in the bedroom & living room was newer, but while the sofa sleeper & reclining chair were firmly cushioned, the queen bed was as old as the one in the previous place. The bed board didn’t help b/c the mattress was so dead it just needed to be replaced. We continued sleeping on our air mattresses.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the newly renovated wings, facing the beach, & on the top floor, if they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
1.3 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#15 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#5 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Bay Inn

Address: 3254 Avila Beach Dr., Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Luis Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your San Luis Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Bay Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel San Luis Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luis Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.