We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom covered in moldy floor mats ,toilets flooded with crap, lifeguards sitting in hot water on the job and socializing, not” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Avila Hot Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avila Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avila Hot Springs Resort
Save Saved
You added Avila Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
250 Avila Beach Dr., Avila Beach, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Pismo Beach, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bathroom covered in moldy floor mats ,toilets flooded with crap, lifeguards sitting in hot water on the job and socializing, not”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This place needs a overhaul to say the least. Extremely unclean and stateboard violations everywhere. Lifeguards do not take job seriously and not paying attention often reading or lounging in hot water while working, toddlers in diapers in 8 and above hot pool,womens bathroom dirty and drains full of hair. Nasty

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    8
    3
    28
See reviews for
28
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My friend and I are locals who arrived at10:30 pm and rented unit. 22 (mobile home on wheels with wood siding). As it was my first day off in weeks, I wanted something special. Fromthe outside, the unit looked cute and "woodsy.". Unfortunately, 1. NO HOT WATER -much to my dismay when trying to bathe quite late in the evening. 2. No cream for coffee in the morning. 3. No light in back bedroom that worked. 4. No instructions how to use or turn anything on, most important, The heater! Pretty cold at night. 5. When I asked in the evening when the main hot tub would be open, I heard 8 am. After my cream less coffee in am, I leisurely went and took a 4 inch tub around 9 am...... Now the gentleman did finally come and turn the propane on (who didn't know the name of his boss-we did ;)- so we could rinse off last nights guests water.....hmmmmm. I wondered if we would be safe on those cinder blocks holding up those mobile homes with log siding in an earthquake so close to diablo... Bytheway, we politely asked for a slight refund and are Still waiting for Mr. Marcus Hoeson to call back. ALL FOR $200 A NIGHT....PRICELESS!!!!!!!! So we highly suggest you go to another hot spring in the area with more amenities, hospitality, better pricing, and a lot less headache. THEN you can visit this hot spring for a QUICK soak as we have been doing foryears...and may again.

Room Tip: There are no tips.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avila Beach hotels

San Diego, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The whole camp ground is a dump!!!!!! the people that work there are very sloppy and unprofessional . This includes the general manager, the front desk people, the food place, and especially the lifeguard staff. The lifeguards are always goofing off and not paying proper attention. They towel dress, the is very unprofessional, I even saw one of the lifguards half naked body when he was changing, believe me i was grossed out by the unprofessional manor of the entire experience at avila hot springs. The entire place is dirty, the water is really gross, the bathrooms are always flooded out. Never Ever go there!!!! There is even an instant where I saw one of the lifeguards there kissing on the job!! Shouldn't the pool be the # 1 priority??? Also the type of people that hang out there on a regular base are discusting as well!!! most of them are bum hippies who are not only gross, but are vulgar and unhealthy in their social interactions!!! never take your children to this place!!!!!!!!!! In my opinion the whole place needs a reset. New mangement, a whole new staff if this place has any chance of being a successful bussiness. Never go here if you want any chance at a nice vacation!!!! I made the mistake of this once, and I do not want anyone to wast their hard earned money of such a place!!

Room Tip: Dont go here. period
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This resort is located along the Bob Jones Trail. It's a lovely walk to Avila Beach. The rooms are spacious and the setting is lovely. The market on the site makes great sandwiches to pack for a hike to the beach.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

LIFEGUARDS AND SAFETY: We spent 2 hours at the pool at Avila Hot Springs Resort, and while we were there a child almost drowned. The grandfather started shouting to a boy to help his brother. Finally another customer realized what was going on and helped the boy to the side. There were 5 lifeguards on duty, all standing in a group near the restrooms. None stepped forward to check on the situation or speak to the boy or father or thank the customer. One lifeguard was watching the slides while this happened, but the others 1) talked in a cluster of 3-4 guards, 2) did not set foot on the lifeguard stand even though there were ~30 children in the shallow end over 100 ft from where the lifeguards were sitting poolside, by the bathrooms (near the deep end). (The situation above where a child needs help to the side is hard to see from eye level but would have been clear from up on the stand.) At one point 3 of them got up to put an umbrella on the guard stand (which involved ALL OF THEM disappearing into the equipment room for several minutes), and 1 went to the bathroom LEAVING NO ONE SCANNING THE POOL, even though a rescue had been made (by a customer) less than 20 minutes ago. I spoke with them at that point (while they were filing out of the equipment room) and asked who was scanning the pool: they pointed to the girl coming out of the bathroom. I was a lifeguard for 6 years and would never have let that happen. They did not follow any formal rotation at the side of the pool (though they did relieve the guard at the slide). Once I spoke to them, they began a formal rotation: one guard took the stand and another moved to the shallow end.

MANAGER: I spoke to the lifeguard manager who said he would speak with them - and in fact has spoken with them in the past but they just won't listen. (?!?) He seemed overall unconcerned about the situation and - even worse - acted as if it were unfortunate but normal. I suggested to him lifeguards aren't that difficult to replace if they don't follow the procedures, but after speaking with him the real problem is obviously the manager. If he knows they tend not to follow policies, why not check on them from time to time? In the time we were there I never saw him on the deck. (When I spoke with him, he was behind the check-in counter eating a popsicle.) If you go, watch your own children carefully - or hope another customer is paying attention! The lifeguards certainly won't be. (Or if you do go, check and see if things have changed. If they haven't, please complain to the manager again! And: Speak directly to the lifeguards, since it's not clear he has any influence on their actions.) We live here and would like to be able to go back.

FACILITIES: When we arrived (at noon), there was no bathroom for women working - including the two indoor individual stalls. I think they were fixed during the time we were there. That meant that no women were able to shower before swimming. The swimming pool is advertised at 84 degrees, but it was nowhere near that warm. (For comparison, the therapy pool at the pool at Sinsheimer is 84 degrees - and actually is.) But the hot tub was nice and the pool was clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Avila Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi Eleanor, I am deeply sorry about your recent experience at Avila Hot Springs. I have gotten some time to investigate the incident, and this conduct is definitely not acceptable. My self and the Head Lifeguard are currently reviewing our staffing, we would love to have you return once these issues are sorted out.

If you have any follow-ups please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in our RV in this Park Right next to the hot springs. There are only few RV sites and they are very basic, the park is definetly not designed for a long stay. The Hot Springs next door can get a bit noisy and cost $5 per day if you are staying in the park. There is one large pool and a mineral pool which smells disgusting. There is also a waterslide which get quite busy. The location is not the best with minimal dining options nearby although the is a diner style resturaunt in the hot spring area. It's quite a basic park in a basic location and it is most certainly not designed for long stays.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in our RV. The full hookup sites aren't really geared towards a longer stay because there's nowhere to eat or relax outside beside the tightly-packed RV sites. The kids enjoyed the large heated swimming pool and the waterslide, which are also open to the public. It costs $5 each for day use of the pool and springs. The steaming hot mineral springs were nice to relax in. Showers and toilets were fine. There's also a friendly little diner on site.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avila Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Hot Springs Resort

Address: 250 Avila Beach Dr., Avila Beach, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Avila Beach
Also Known As:
Avila Hot Springs Hotel Avila Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.