We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dangerous!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Avila Hot Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avila Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avila Hot Springs Resort
Bookmark
You added Avila Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
250 Avila Beach Dr., Avila Beach, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dangerous!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

LIFEGUARDS AND SAFETY: We spent 2 hours at the pool at Avila Hot Springs Resort, and while we were there a child almost drowned. The grandfather started shouting to a boy to help his brother. Finally another customer realized what was going on and helped the boy to the side. There were 5 lifeguards on duty, all standing in a group near the restrooms. None stepped forward to check on the situation or speak to the boy or father or thank the customer. One lifeguard was watching the slides while this happened, but the others 1) talked in a cluster of 3-4 guards, 2) did not set foot on the lifeguard stand even though there were ~30 children in the shallow end over 100 ft from where the lifeguards were sitting poolside, by the bathrooms (near the deep end). (The situation above where a child needs help to the side is hard to see from eye level but would have been clear from up on the stand.) At one point 3 of them got up to put an umbrella on the guard stand (which involved ALL OF THEM disappearing into the equipment room for several minutes), and 1 went to the bathroom LEAVING NO ONE SCANNING THE POOL, even though a rescue had been made (by a customer) less than 20 minutes ago. I spoke with them at that point (while they were filing out of the equipment room) and asked who was scanning the pool: they pointed to the girl coming out of the bathroom. I was a lifeguard for 6 years and would never have let that happen. They did not follow any formal rotation at the side of the pool (though they did relieve the guard at the slide). Once I spoke to them, they began a formal rotation: one guard took the stand and another moved to the shallow end.

MANAGER: I spoke to the lifeguard manager who said he would speak with them - and in fact has spoken with them in the past but they just won't listen. (?!?) He seemed overall unconcerned about the situation and - even worse - acted as if it were unfortunate but normal. I suggested to him lifeguards aren't that difficult to replace if they don't follow the procedures, but after speaking with him the real problem is obviously the manager. If he knows they tend not to follow policies, why not check on them from time to time? In the time we were there I never saw him on the deck. (When I spoke with him, he was behind the check-in counter eating a popsicle.) If you go, watch your own children carefully - or hope another customer is paying attention! The lifeguards certainly won't be. (Or if you do go, check and see if things have changed. If they haven't, please complain to the manager again! And: Speak directly to the lifeguards, since it's not clear he has any influence on their actions.) We live here and would like to be able to go back.

FACILITIES: When we arrived (at noon), there was no bathroom for women working - including the two indoor individual stalls. I think they were fixed during the time we were there. That meant that no women were able to shower before swimming. The swimming pool is advertised at 84 degrees, but it was nowhere near that warm. (For comparison, the therapy pool at the pool at Sinsheimer is 84 degrees - and actually is.) But the hot tub was nice and the pool was clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Avila Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi Eleanor, I am deeply sorry about your recent experience at Avila Hot Springs. I have gotten some time to investigate the incident, and this conduct is definitely not acceptable. My self and the Head Lifeguard are currently reviewing our staffing, we would love to have you return once these issues are sorted out.

If you have any follow-ups please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    8
    3
    29
See reviews for
29
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in our RV in this Park Right next to the hot springs. There are only few RV sites and they are very basic, the park is definetly not designed for a long stay. The Hot Springs next door can get a bit noisy and cost $5 per day if you are staying in the park. There is one large pool and a mineral pool which smells disgusting. There is also a waterslide which get quite busy. The location is not the best with minimal dining options nearby although the is a diner style resturaunt in the hot spring area. It's quite a basic park in a basic location and it is most certainly not designed for long stays.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in our RV. The full hookup sites aren't really geared towards a longer stay because there's nowhere to eat or relax outside beside the tightly-packed RV sites. The kids enjoyed the large heated swimming pool and the waterslide, which are also open to the public. It costs $5 each for day use of the pool and springs. The steaming hot mineral springs were nice to relax in. Showers and toilets were fine. There's also a friendly little diner on site.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We went this evening. We got there at $5 so we only paid $5 each. The mineral pool was refreshing (but stinky). My kids loved the swimming pool, I had to drag them out of there! Wish the slides had been open. My only complaint is the changing room/showers are also the restrooms. I saw a separate men's room but no where for women to use the restroom. If both dressing rooms were occupied then you were out of luck. They also could have been a little cleaner. We only used the pool, we did not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The website is misleading. Do not go, this place place is a dump, the cabins STINK, the pillows stink, the towels are like handtowels that you would not even dry your car with. The bunks are flimsy, the blanket are like cheese cloth. When we walked in there is a large can of air freshener and all fans were on. That should have been our first clue. There is no arcade, there is no great cafe. Its a hole!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avila Beach hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

After a long work week, nothing is better than a day long soak at Avila Hot Springs! Been coming for years, and now make it a regular experience! So glad that kids under 8 are not allowed in the hot pool, it is too hot for them! Enjoying all the upgrades happening, this place is getting better and better!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

since I was a kid...and I love it.
Warning to parents though...bring a large plastic bucket so your child can sit in warm water also. There is an age limit of 8 years for the Hot Spring...which is disappointing for some parents...but for those of us who have been pooed on while trying to relax, it was a welcome rule. They have no issue with you filling a bucket & letting your child have their "Own pool" to sit in. Cooler & all around better for those involved.
The hotspring pool which has been newly tiled & looks great. I've seen looking kinda shabby in the past & am glad they resurfaced it yet again. They really do alot of work to maintain the property...it might be hard to tell for some...but I see it and appreciate it.
...go with the CA flow & be a beach bum, lay around on Avila Beach, jump in the ocean & then go soak your bones in Avila Hot Springs. It's been open since the early 1900's & was a healing pool regarded as a necessity to cure what ails ya, I absolutely agree.
Note to the chatty...some of us don't wanna talk about mundane things while soaking...it's not personal.
I've not stayed overnight, so I can't speak to their rooms or camping spaces... But I can tell you, do your homework. If you don't want to be next to the Hwy...camp somewhere else..it's "centrally located" to the on/off ramps & well as a busy road into & out of Avila.
This is not a resort...but there are some locally...which will cost you of course.
enjoy the friendly & helpful staff & eat some world famous food at Fat Cats in Avila.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avila Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Hot Springs Resort

Address: 250 Avila Beach Dr., Avila Beach, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Avila Beach
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Avila Hot Springs Hotel Avila Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.