We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price compares to room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Avalon
Paso Robles, Californie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Price compares to room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was our first trip to Catalina, pictures for the Catalina Canyon Resort and Spa are very deceiving, not anything like pictures on website. The room was in very poor condition, needed a lot more maintenance and painting. The on-site restaurant was below average, poor menu choice, prices were outrageous for what was servced, and the staff running the restaurant wasn't very accommodating or appologenic for the lack of food/service. The hotel is located up the hill and the shuttle service/drivers were great! There's a longer wait for the shuttle during arrival times of the boats, but waiting beats the walk up the hill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear ElizabethJ55,We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that you thought our prices were outragious. Thank you for completing the review on our property and allowing us to improve our product and areas of our operations. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    92
    80
    91
    82
See reviews for
147
199
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester , england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

a well established, well appointed hotel but the running of it needs to be sorted!. just on the edge of the town at the top of the hill so the shuttle arrangments could be better-often full meaning a long wait for the next one. Food service was slooooow but food ok when it came but also limited menu. Could have been cleaner. A few more staff around would make it more efficient; very laid back but a nice setting and a great pool area for kids

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear bobbybill1945,We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that the service was not to your likeing. Thank you for completing the review on our property and allowing us to improve our product and areas of our operations. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Georgia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My best friend and I selected the Catalina Canyon Resort for our first trip to Catalina Island because of the great price. I would have to say we got what we paid for. The quality of the room was average. The shuttle service to the hotel is nice, but we found the wait could be long at times and usually just opted to walk. I would say if you are the type who spends a lot of time in and around your hotel on trips (which we aren't), you may want to opt for something a little nicer. If you are just looking for a place to sleep and shower at a great price, then this property is the place for you. Note: We did not try any of the amenities at the resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Gear Tfromatl-Sr,First I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor. We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. Your comments allow us to better our operations in every department . Thank you for completing the review on our property. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our family came to celebrate my Birthday to Catalina.and since I heard about it from my last trip to the island from a tour guide I was considering myself lucky to be able to get a groupon on line
.Price of a deal was right for the quality of our stay and I would never pay a full price. The front door to our room could be open only by a strong man as well as turning the bathroom faucet. I understand that remodeling and building is not cheep on Catalina but since 1986 something should be done to upgrade rooms to match the price. And we were supposed to have champagne and strawberries upon our arrival that was mentioned in the deal and never came.

Room Tip: do not take a room that face a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear VD,We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We were disappointed to hear that you did not receive your Champagne and Choclates we wiish you would have contacted the front desk. Thank you for completing the review on our property. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have never stayed at the Catalina Canyon Resort so I won't rate that. However, I have had multiple massages at the Spa located at the back of the hotel behind the pool area. over the years I have had dozens on massages on the mainland at all types of places from private massage businesses to chains like Massage Envy. NONE of them come close to the quality of Massage at this Spa. Ali is the best massage therapist I have ever had without exception. My wife and I have had many couple massages here and even make special trips from the mainland for that purpose only. The spa is clean, immaculately kept, they have showers available in the rooms, and the therapists are knowlegable and experienced. Well worth the money. The next time you come to the Island and want a massage, skip the places near the beach and come to the resort. Try them and you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear cndyman45,We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your message experience with us! Thank you for completing the review and taking the time to give us such great feedback. I know Ali and Kate will welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho cucamonga, CA
Level Contributor
214 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

So I would compare this place to a slightly less nice double tree. It's not amazing but it's clean and the air conditioning works. More importantly, it is inexpensive compared to some of the resorts on the island

It is decently far off the main strip of stores and restaurants but they provide a shuttle to and from the main area and the boat docks every 15-20 minutes which was super convenient and saved a ton do money in taxi fares.

I would stay here again for the good value it provides.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Tiffkat2000,We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us on Catalina Island. It is a wonderful feeling to read reviews that lets us know that our guest were happy n had a nice stay. We are looking forward to hear from you soon and making your next stay with us even better...Have a awesome day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This weekend was with my husband, infant daughter and his parents. We arrived on Saturday morning and looked for the white shuttles that were marked for the hotel. The driver said it to go with him, but he didn't identify himself and working for the hotel and that made me nervous - but he was an employee so it worked out. That was the only time we used the shuttle. Every time we waited there was always a line of more than the van could hold and being we were 5 ourselves, we elected to walk.

The hotel is really nice looking. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. One thing they should mention is that they put a $250 hold for each room on your credit card. No biggie - but for some it may be.

Our room was as pictured. Loved the balcony. We had an issue with our lock and had to body slam the door to open it. The bathrooms were not cleaned. We found 4 pubic hairs on the toilet seat lid (which I did read in another review) and one long hair inside the toilet that were not ours. My mother-in-law took a shower, dried herself with the towel which turned out to have long black hairs in it that weren't hers as well.

We ate dinner at the restaurant which took an exceptionally long time. They seemed confused by asking for things like "sauce on the side." The smoking area is right on the adjoining patio and you were inhaling it through dinner. The tables weren't the cleanest. The dinner itself was OK...the vegetables looked like they were about 4 weeks old.

Outside, I took my daughter for a walk since we passed the hour mark on waiting for dinner and she got restless. A little boy was kicking what looked like a can, but upon closer examination said "rat poison" on it.

The beds were OK - sheets were clean, but the pillows were lumpy. We didn't use the pool.

Other than that - which may be enough for most - we did enjoy ourselves. This hotel could really be something great if it were managed properly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Pipster80,, We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We were disappointed to hear that you found hair on the floor and towels. Our housekeeping and Laundry attendent try and make sure that all the hair is picked up however at time they miss some one is perfect but I try and push them to be. I am very sorry that your dinner took longer than normal however with a full house we do not want to rush anyone. Thank you for completing the review on our property. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.4 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#15 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#10 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

Address: 888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Canyon Hotel Avalon
Best Western Avalon
Catalina Canyon Resort And Spa
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.