We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unhappy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very unhappy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked this hotel for my birthday weekend on Catalina. Most hotels on Catalina are very basic and small, so we weren't expecting much. We booked this one because it is one of the few that has a pool for our kids. We were very disappointed to find that they were letting a large group of kids with very few adults use the pool. It almost looked as if they had lent it out to a day camp or something. Our kids were very intimidated by the rough housing group of older boys. I did not feel safe letting my kids swim.

Speaking of safe. Upon returning to our room one day to get ready for dinner, we found the door to our room standing open and unlocked. The maid had not shut and locked the door after she cleaned. Fortunately, nothing was missing, but it felt creepy and unsafe. When we complained and told the management, they apologized, but explained that its an old hotel and the doors are hard to shut. That made us feel better... not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear StaceyId67,We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectation during your stay with us. We were disappointed to hear that you felt your childern were uncomfortable with other kids in the pool. We canot control who use is the pool.Had you mentioned it to the front desk security would have came out and spoke to the kids. I am truly sorry for your door being left unlocked I will speak to the housekeeprs this morning and let them know to make sure the pull the door completley shut upon leaving. Thank you for bring it to our attention. We hope you will reconsider in giving us another opportunity to make your next stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    86
    77
    88
    79
See reviews for
139
193
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Priest River, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This resort needs updating so badly!! The owner needs to spend some serious money....our room was horrible, dark, small, dirty balcony, all chipped up on the walls and floor boards. No frig, no micro, no flat screen tv. The pool deck is very small and the hot tub motor was so ear piercing that we had to turn it off. The restaurant wasn't open for the 2 days we were there, so we had to wait extended times for the one shuttle! The continental breakfast was nothing but bad coffee and mini dried out muffins. We couldn't even eat them. The front desk younger girl was a snit! Most of the other staff was ok. Thank God I payed Groupon price....oh and we never got our Champagne and chocolates!! On the positive side, this place is near town so you can walk if you want to. The pool itself is very nice. Other than that, I really don't have many good things to say about this "resort". Sorry...

Room Tip: I have no idea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sherrybur,We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectation during your stay with us. We were disappointed to hear that you did not receive your champagne and that the room conductions did not meet your expectation. We hope you will reconsider in giving us another opportunity to make your next stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastvale
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It's clean, nice receptionist, but the room is so noisy, you can hear the next room, especially when shower or toilet flushed. No complimentary breakfast. Overall it's ok for one night stay, we stayed on Sunday night. My children like the walk from the hotel to the beach, about 15 minutes to beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear JY,We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us your feedback on your experience with us. We are very sorry for not offering Continental Breakfast while you were here with us but our Restaurant was open for your enjoyment. We are more than happy to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Woods, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a good stay. Day front desk staff was very helpful. The van driver was great!! Hotel is in need of updating but was very clean. Had an ocean view. Chilly this time of year so unable to take advantage of sitting on the veranda or using the pool. This would be a 3.5 star hotel. on the mainland.

Room Tip: Be sure to call the hotel when you need the van to pick you up from downtown. Walk dawn was easy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear SharonW, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Catalina Island. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to complete the review on our property and share your excellent experience with other travelers. We are going to be starting a major over due renovation in the next month. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I would like to send a great big thank you to the Staff and Management at the Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa on Catalina Island, California.

I have been scuba diving all around Catalina Island for over 8 years now and this was my first time one the island. I was there with a group of divers for the Avalon Harbor clean up event.

The hotel was a great place to stay at and use for our group of scuba divers.

Clean Rooms, Great food at the onsite restaurant, heated pool and hot tub and a great staff that catered to our needs.

I will defiantly be returning to the resort again in the very new future and look forward to showing other people this wonderful resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear DCaribbean_D,Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the island. We certainly appreciate hearing that this was the first time with us and that you feel that we are the best hotel on the island. We also thank you for the great compliments on our property and our customer service. We hope that all the divers had a great time on the island as well.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days. Super friendly attentive staff, clean rooms, awesome breakfast, beautiful scenery, wifi to get my work done, and the only hotel with a pool and spa! Had such a great time here! We will definitely be returning again!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Classynottrashy,Thank you for taking the time to post a review and share the details with us and other travelers. We all here at the hotel take pride and are committed excellent service, affordable rates, comfortable accommodations, pet friendly hotel and our free internet service to allow you to get your work done.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and for completing the review. We hope to accommodate you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Awesome resort the only resort with a pool and spa! Very clean awesome staff, I came here for my 21st birthday they had a special sign in the lobby for me and ice cold bottle of wine in my room to the owners of this place your General Manger is a keeper you would be a fool to let him go! I would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Chofire,Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the island for your Birthday. We certainly appreciate hearing that this was the first time with us and that you feel that we are the best hotel on the island. We also thank you for the great compliments on our property and our customer service.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

Address: 888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Canyon Hotel Avalon
Best Western Avalon
Catalina Canyon Resort And Spa
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.