We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best weekend in So Cal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Southern Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best weekend in So Cal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I would like to send a great big thank you to the Staff and Management at the Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa on Catalina Island, California.

I have been scuba diving all around Catalina Island for over 8 years now and this was my first time one the island. I was there with a group of divers for the Avalon Harbor clean up event.

The hotel was a great place to stay at and use for our group of scuba divers.

Clean Rooms, Great food at the onsite restaurant, heated pool and hot tub and a great staff that catered to our needs.

I will defiantly be returning to the resort again in the very new future and look forward to showing other people this wonderful resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear DCaribbean_D,Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the island. We certainly appreciate hearing that this was the first time with us and that you feel that we are the best hotel on the island. We also thank you for the great compliments on our property and our customer service. We hope that all the divers had a great time on the island as well.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    76
    74
    86
    76
See reviews for
132
182
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days. Super friendly attentive staff, clean rooms, awesome breakfast, beautiful scenery, wifi to get my work done, and the only hotel with a pool and spa! Had such a great time here! We will definitely be returning again!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Classynottrashy,Thank you for taking the time to post a review and share the details with us and other travelers. We all here at the hotel take pride and are committed excellent service, affordable rates, comfortable accommodations, pet friendly hotel and our free internet service to allow you to get your work done.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and for completing the review. We hope to accommodate you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Awesome resort the only resort with a pool and spa! Very clean awesome staff, I came here for my 21st birthday they had a special sign in the lobby for me and ice cold bottle of wine in my room to the owners of this place your General Manger is a keeper you would be a fool to let him go! I would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Chofire,Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the island for your Birthday. We certainly appreciate hearing that this was the first time with us and that you feel that we are the best hotel on the island. We also thank you for the great compliments on our property and our customer service.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We got a Groupon for a weekend at "the resort" for a king size bed. When we arrived, they told us our reservation was cancelled which we had not. Then the manager told us she could put us in a room, though she didn't tell us it was with queen beds. Went back down and told her we had reserved a king, but she said they were none left. Not one apology for the inexplicable "cancellation", no apology, nor word that they were putting us in a room with queen beds. There is NO insulation between the rooms, so you here everything next door from people walking above you to rhythmic squeaky beds. Just one apology would have been nice at the time for breaking the contract they had made with us through Groupon. OK, I agree, it's a first world problem, but a contract is a contract.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Vellum_1, We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We were disappointed to hear about the mix up regarding you reservation.I am very sorry to hear you did not receive the bed type that you requested. I did see that we were oversold in Kings therefore you were put in 2 queens. Thank you for completing the review on our property. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Took a chance on a Groupon coupon to stay at this hotel. Although the name sounds pleasant, it's not. It is nothing more than a renovated OLD hotel. It was small, bathroom and shower were not pleasant at all, no central air or heat and although the back door led out to a small porch, there was nothing to see except the other rooms. Now, granted, if you were to pay top dollar you may have been able to see the ocean and harbor, but the rooms would have been just the same. In addition, I had to change arrival dates and with the Groupon, this was IMPOSSIBLE to do and took almost 3 weeks to accomplish. No one wanted to take ownership of this. In fact when you call to change reservations, you can only get an outside company and not the resort at all. Just a pain. Needless to say, upon my next visit Groupon coupon or not, I will not waste the effort or stay at this facility.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear TeddB,We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We were disappointed to hear that you felt our hotel was not what you had anticipated when booking with us. I think you have our hotel mixed up with another. Our hotel porches look out to the beautiful grounds. Thank you for completing the review on our property. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed at the Catalina Canyon Resort during Christmas this past holiday season. I stayed there with my family and had a great time! The shuttle service was convenient even though it was a short walk and the driver Ruben was very friendly. The front desk staff was welcoming and courteous. My family especially loved that one of the staff was dressed as Santa! It made for some memorable pictures and totally made up for missing Santa earlier that day in town, It was a wonderful experience and we love that our kids enjoyed the trip so much. I will definitly be staying there again! Oh and definitly check out the submarine if you get a chance. Totally fun and educational!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear AmirN,Thank you for taking the time to post a review and share the details with us and other travelers. We all here at the hotel take pride and are committed excellent service, affordable rates, comfortable accommodations. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay while here for the holiday season and was pleased with our service. I to was surprized to see Adrian dress up as Santa! We hope and look forward non seeing you soon again. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My family of 4 stayed here over the President Holiday Weekend. We arrived on the island at the regular set time when the boats from the mainland arrive. It was around 10:30am and there was no shuttle from this hotel there waiting. We had lunch and then decided to walk there. The walk wasn't bad but with luggage, it was a hassle. I would have thought that since the boats arrive at set times every day, they would have a vehicle waiting for you. Go figure. After arriving on foot, we asked to check in early since check in wasn't until 3pm. They said they would call us if a room was ready but we never heard from them. We finally went back at 3:05pm and inquired. They had a room ready. Another hassle. The room was clean but a bit dated. It met our needs. The pool was clean and our kids enjoyed it. We ate breakfast at the restaurant and it was good. The bottom line is that it wasn't bad but it wasn't really good. I would say it was adequate. At $155, I expected a bit more. I would stay there in a pinch but wouldn't go out of my way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Christina C,We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We were disappointed to hear that you had to walk up to the hotel. President's weekend was very busy and with all the guest checking in it was very difficult for the drivers to load and unload in a short time.. Thank you for completing the review on our property. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We hope you will give us another try when time permits?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

Address: 888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Canyon Hotel Avalon
Best Western Avalon
Catalina Canyon Resort And Spa
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.