We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catalina great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 19 hotels in Avalon
azusa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Catalina great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The room was great. Staff was good. the only thing wrong is that the Bar & Restaurant were closed. It was up hill. You can walk down to the town. But, for some it is hard to walk back up good thing there is a van from the hotel that picks you up every 30 mins from town. Only the last run is at 9:45pm so then you are on your own, call a taxi or get your walking shoes ready to take the walk up the hill.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Chris O,We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us! Thank you so very much for your compliments on our accommodations, location and customer service. Thank you for completing the review and taking the time to give us such great feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    75
    73
    78
    72
See reviews for
128
172
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My girlfriend booked a room with a groupon deal that came with chocolates and champagne. My first experience in Catalina started off great, although the weather didnt really cooperate. :( What can you expect in the off-season. The express dropped us off around 11am and the hotel shuttle was awaiting. A room was available right when we showed up which was nice because check-in wasnt until 4pm. The room was old and musty and seemed very outdated but for the price we paid, we couldnt be that disappointed. We saw a deer from the balcony our first ten minutes there. We dropped our luggage off and headed out to explore the town. The hotel shuttle would pick us up and drop us off at designated spots. We could pretty much walk everywhere else as the city was fairly quiant. The Hotel Spa was interesting, however, our couple's massage was great. We met some other couples and enjoyed the jacuzzi at night. A little complementary breakfast with oatmeal, muffins, OJ, and coffee was perfect the next morning. We were able to store our luggage and do some more exploring. Overall, customer service was adequate. Any interactions with the front desk staff, were short and incomplete. Shuttle drivers were awesome, most likely because they received tips all day. We just didnt feel that other staff members would give us any direct answers or confirmation regarding the property like they were ashamed or hiding something. Next time, I'll probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Twonderlust,I want to thank you for taking the time to post your review and share with us your experience while staying with us in our hotel. We are very sorry to know that our front desk staff did not give the service you expected. Your feedback is taken seriously and I hope that you gives us another opportunity to make your next stay a better one on our behalf. Once again thank you and hope you have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked a room via a groupon deal. We arrived at about 10.30am on the ferry, and the shuttle was waiting to take us to our hotel. We checked in, and although our room wasnt ready (4pm checkin) we left our bags in the baggage room and headed out to explore the Island. The hotel rang us at about 3pm to say our room was ready.

The room was a little dark, but it was certainly clean and everything worked well, the beds are comfortable. Our bottle of champagned arrived alittle of 4pm. The staff are very friendly, they had no issues giving us a later check out after out 2 day stay, and we were able to leave our bags in the baggage room until we needed to check our ferry later that day. The shuttle driver was really friendly and helpful as well.

My only negative is the baggage room (large closet): When we put our bags in the room was empty but when we came back there were bags everyway, so we had to pull others out to get to ours, but not a huge deal. Perhaps the hotel could look at putting more shelves in the room to make things a bit more orderly.

We paid approx $70 per night for our room and we certainly got what we paid for and more...No complaints and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
ShaneH,Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor regarding our hotel. We're very happy to hear such nice feedback , it's always helpful to know that our customers are happy with their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I ran the Eco Marathon Saturday morning and then needed to catch the ferry back to Long Beach for a wedding in the late afternoon. The Catalina Canyon Resort and Spa got me a late checkout so I could get to the church on time. And that's not the half of the exceptional service and care at this place. Great shuttle service from the terminal to the hotel as well as a route that takes you to downtown Avalon. The staff and services were top notch. We'll be back to Catalina some day and when we go, we'll be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
KevinH,Thank you so very much for your compliments on our accommodations and customer service. It was a pleasure to have meet you and I am glad everything went well for you guys.Thank you for completing the review and taking the time to give us such great feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Mold in rooms, has not been updated since its opening in 1986 poor service... After three trips to the front desk I'm still waiting for my Bottle of champagne which I have already paid for. The plush robes that were to be included had to be special delivered .... They look like some rags used to wash dishes. They don't let u check in until after the last boat has left for the day so you cannot jut turn around a leave!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
markapril874,Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. It's unfortunate that you feel that we do not let you check in until the last boat leaves. It has always been our policy to check our guest in when the rooms are ready. As for your champagne I do apologize its that with groupon being such a great hit we are having to deliver at least 50 bottles a day. Your comments allow us to better our operations in every department. Thank you for completing the review on our property. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Friendly staff, early check-in, later check-out, very good shuttle service drivers also. A+++++. There was chilled champagne and chocolates in our room when we got there with chilled glasses,
very nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I'm sure all are nice, nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
DearNEKA607,We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us! Thank you so very much for your compliments on our shuttle service and customer service and that you enjoyd your Champange. We appreciate your recommendation and we look forward in welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was there for my birthday and had awsome time. The shuttle was awsome they came and got us from the boat. The drivers are awsome and the receptionist as well they reffered us to the glass bottom boat tour EXCELENT!!! I had my baby with me so my husband and myself took her to the pool she loved it ;) I will be back the island was amazing and so was my stay if you are looking to get away from your busy life this is a great option.

Room Tip: pick a room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Yvette A,Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the island. We certainly appreciate hearing that this was the first time with us and that it was your Birthday. We wish you many more and hope you will spend the next one here as well.We also thank you for the great compliments on our property and our customer service.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

Address: 888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Canyon Hotel Avalon
Best Western Avalon
Catalina Canyon Resort And Spa
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.