We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Long Beach, California
1 review
“Little hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had a great time in Avalon love this hotel got a great deal on groupon and boy was it woth it. The staff was so pleasant and nice. Had champange and chocolates in our room when we checked in you must book right now.

Room Tip: room on top floor or bottom if you want to feed the dears
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Fresta1,We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you booked on Groupon! Thank you so very much for your compliments on our accommodations, location and customer service. Thank you for completing the review and taking the time to give us such great feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    78
    75
    87
    79
See reviews for
134
186
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The grounds of the hotel are lovely. The water feature outside the terrace was wonderful to listen to and we kept our door open the entire night to better enjoy it. It was a treat to watch a family of deer on the hillside as we sat on the terrace. We did not bring our swimsuits, as we were there for a wedding, but from what we could see, it was never very busy and quite large. The staff of the hotel are very helpful and extremely pleasant. The shuttle drivers were fast and efficient. Yes, the hotel rooms are dated, but the room was clean, we did not have any ants and we really could not have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
lalalandlola,Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor regarding our hotel. We're very happy to hear such nice feedback , it's always helpful to know that our customers are happy with their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

So I was mixed about booking here after reading many other Trip Advisor reviews. Of course with Catalina, there are not a ton of options and I needed a place with a swimming pool for my daughter and nephew (even fewer of those). First of all, the people are very friendly and helpful. The shuttle service was awesome and the only way we could get to and from with my Dad. The room was OK... It was small and I'm sure it was awesome years ago but now sorely in need of updating. And if you've read any other reviews about an ant problem, it's true... don't leave anything sweet in the room or you too will be invaded. We didn't learn our lesson the first night and had the pleasure of ants all weekend. The grounds were nice, the pool was good (but shaded the entire day) and the kids loved the table tennis. We booked with a Groupon that included a restaurant voucher that amounted to a free breakfast for all 6 of us, so I feel like the value was worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Jovian,We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us your feedback on your experience with us.
It is always exciting to hear when our guests take the time to share details after staying with us. Your feedback is taken seriously, as we are constantly focused on making each experience with us the very best!. Again thank you for taking the time to complete the review on our property. We're looking forward to welcoming you back once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Its Catalina Island, you are in Avalon, not a lot of places for 5 star resorts. With that in mind, ill start my review. I am currently here, and will be for 1 more night. The shuttle to and from the port, and Avalon, has been OUTSTANDING. The drivers, A+++. Not one has been rude, asked to be tipped and have served with a smile. Same with front desk. Easy check in. We got stuck in a first floor king, but with our son tagging along, needed a room with 2 beds, No problem. No negative attitude from front staff, and we were immediately issued another room(406). Perfect room. Def not a "motel" or whatever these complainers are yaking about. The pool was nicely heated( we were in there til 9pm last night. Jaccuzi smeeled like wet dog, and jets were a little too rough but, nice none the less. Again, we came here to enjoy the island, and this hotel , in my honest opinion,goes above and beyond to meet their patrons needs. Maybe these reviewers with their negativity need to to check in to one of the dumps on the mainland and compare before criticizing the hotel. AMAZING. Thank you, again. Water force in tub, is a little weak and the toiletries maybe need to be of better quality but not a biggie. Few ants inbathroom, but again, who cares. Great hotel! Only downsize, no room service...

Room Tip: anything with 2 beds, will be bigger. dont get stuck with a king unless you are solo, or without kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Anarchist316,We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us your feedback on your experience with us.
It is always exciting to hear when our guests take the time to share details after staying with us. Your feedback is taken seriously, as we are constantly focused on making each experience with us the very best!. Again thank you for taking the time to complete the review on our property. We're looking forward to welcoming you back once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Catalina Canyon Resort and Spa review

After reading several reviews, we decided to book a room at The Catalina Canyon Resort and Spa thinking we'd be staying at lovely resort, but quite the contrary. The grounds were somewhat maintained, the pool was clean, but the rooms were a mishmash of "sort of" updated with dirty carpets and a somewhat decent bathroom with awful soap forcing me to spend $6 on soap at a local store because nothing is cheap on the island.

It's assumed if there are 4 people staying in a room, that there are 4 bath towels, this wasn't the case.

Boasting as the only full service resort on the island, it definitely lacked overall charm and cleanliness I was hoping for.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear msgrizwald,We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We were disappointed to hear that you felt our location was not what you had anticipated when booking with us. Thank you for completing the review on our property. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hubby and I decided to go get the Couple's Delight package. It was $218 and included a peppermint scalp massage, a hot essential oil swedish-style massage and a sugar scrub for each of us. I called, reservations were quickly and pleasantly made, I was asked if I'd like to pre-check in which I did so all paperwork was done before arrival and was told that the 18% gratuity would automatically be added. I was a bit tentative about that as I always use the potential gratuity as incentive for a better job, but I guess that many guests have not been proper tippers, so I totally understand this practice. I was given instructions as to where to meet the complimentary shuttle as the hotel is up a steep hill, though not too far away. The shuttle promptly picked us up and delivered us to the hotel, we asked at the desk and were told where to find the spa. It is through the courtyard and past the pool. The hotel grounds looked like they had a lot of potential but did look like they had been neglected for a few years. My only comment about the hotel. We were met by one of the therapists who was very friendly. We had to wait a few minutes for the room to be readied as we had shown up a little early. The other therapist arrived and we were shown into a warm,darkened massage room with 2 massage tables next to each other that smelled of lavendar and eucalyptus and had dim lighting and candles. Great instructions were given on what to do so you nevered wandered around feeling inept like you do at some spas when you are a first-time customer. My massage was fantastic, starting with the peppermint head massage, then progressing to about 40 min of arm, leg, back, neck warm oil massage with all the relaxing scents of the essential oils. The music was perfectly relaxing and I believe I fell asleep for a few minutes once she started massaging my back. They ended with a quick sugar scrub that was a great way to stay relaxed but wake back up. They then had a private double shower where we could rinse off before dressing. It was such a great massage, that I tipped another 10% and the massage therapist then asked if I knew that an 18% gratuity had already been added. I said yes and that I really appreciated her honesty, but that the massage was worth an additional tip. And it was, one of the best I've had, and I've had quite a few- in the U.S., in the Mayan Jungle, in the baths in German-so it was a good one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
islasisterchick,We are so thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed your experience with us! Thank you so very much for your compliments on our spa, location and customer service. Thank you for completing the review and taking the time to give us such great feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

You have not experience Heaven untill you meet Ali.
She's warm, professional,caring,spiritual and very intuitive.
Visit the spa of Catalina and book a massage and forever you'll be talking about this Angel sent from Heaven.
It's clean with calm colors and relaxing music top by an amazing massage

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear margt,Thank you so much for the kind words about our spa and Ali. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

Address: 888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Canyon Hotel Avalon
Best Western Avalon
Catalina Canyon Resort And Spa
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.