We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorely Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sorely Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Catalina Canyon Resort and Spa review

After reading several reviews, we decided to book a room at The Catalina Canyon Resort and Spa thinking we'd be staying at lovely resort, but quite the contrary. The grounds were somewhat maintained, the pool was clean, but the rooms were a mishmash of "sort of" updated with dirty carpets and a somewhat decent bathroom with awful soap forcing me to spend $6 on soap at a local store because nothing is cheap on the island.

It's assumed if there are 4 people staying in a room, that there are 4 bath towels, this wasn't the case.

Boasting as the only full service resort on the island, it definitely lacked overall charm and cleanliness I was hoping for.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear msgrizwald,We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We were disappointed to hear that you felt our location was not what you had anticipated when booking with us. Thank you for completing the review on our property. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    78
    75
    87
    79
See reviews for
134
186
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hubby and I decided to go get the Couple's Delight package. It was $218 and included a peppermint scalp massage, a hot essential oil swedish-style massage and a sugar scrub for each of us. I called, reservations were quickly and pleasantly made, I was asked if I'd like to pre-check in which I did so all paperwork was done before arrival and was told that the 18% gratuity would automatically be added. I was a bit tentative about that as I always use the potential gratuity as incentive for a better job, but I guess that many guests have not been proper tippers, so I totally understand this practice. I was given instructions as to where to meet the complimentary shuttle as the hotel is up a steep hill, though not too far away. The shuttle promptly picked us up and delivered us to the hotel, we asked at the desk and were told where to find the spa. It is through the courtyard and past the pool. The hotel grounds looked like they had a lot of potential but did look like they had been neglected for a few years. My only comment about the hotel. We were met by one of the therapists who was very friendly. We had to wait a few minutes for the room to be readied as we had shown up a little early. The other therapist arrived and we were shown into a warm,darkened massage room with 2 massage tables next to each other that smelled of lavendar and eucalyptus and had dim lighting and candles. Great instructions were given on what to do so you nevered wandered around feeling inept like you do at some spas when you are a first-time customer. My massage was fantastic, starting with the peppermint head massage, then progressing to about 40 min of arm, leg, back, neck warm oil massage with all the relaxing scents of the essential oils. The music was perfectly relaxing and I believe I fell asleep for a few minutes once she started massaging my back. They ended with a quick sugar scrub that was a great way to stay relaxed but wake back up. They then had a private double shower where we could rinse off before dressing. It was such a great massage, that I tipped another 10% and the massage therapist then asked if I knew that an 18% gratuity had already been added. I said yes and that I really appreciated her honesty, but that the massage was worth an additional tip. And it was, one of the best I've had, and I've had quite a few- in the U.S., in the Mayan Jungle, in the baths in German-so it was a good one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
islasisterchick,We are so thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed your experience with us! Thank you so very much for your compliments on our spa, location and customer service. Thank you for completing the review and taking the time to give us such great feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

You have not experience Heaven untill you meet Ali.
She's warm, professional,caring,spiritual and very intuitive.
Visit the spa of Catalina and book a massage and forever you'll be talking about this Angel sent from Heaven.
It's clean with calm colors and relaxing music top by an amazing massage

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear margt,Thank you so much for the kind words about our spa and Ali. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Wonderful, friendly staff! And great van transportation to and from town, always readily available. However, the rooms left much to be desired. These rooms need to be refurbished. Worn carpet, dated decor, outdated t.v's, cracked tiles etc., This is basically a multi-story motel with a few extra facilities. And on top of it all....the cost was more expensive than many of the nicer rooms near the water.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Shellzhoff,We are very sorry to hear that you thought we were over priced.. I do want to thank you for your positives compliments on it being a friendly hotel and having a shuttle bus. I also want to thank you for taking the time to write a review and giving some feedback because this is one of the ways that lets us know where we need to improve as a company..Thank you and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is situated in a quiet area. We arrived before noon & were given room 401, which offers an ocean view. An early check in is always a plus. There is free wi-fi & passenger transportation to/from the ferry-no need to pre-book. The walls are thin & you will hear your neighbor's TV, conversations, etc. The lobby is closed at night (in October), the complimentary van service to/from downtown ends at 9:41 PM, a taxi to the hotel from downtown cost $11 USD. We wanted to order room-service but failed to find the menu in the room. The hotel can benefit from some upgrades & touch-ups. The friendly staff is what made our stay a positive one & yes, we will consider staying here again. Give yourself up to 45 minutes to check out if it is busy-or do what I did, just leave the keys on the desk & apologize for leaving.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
LatinGlobeTrotter,Thank you for taking the time to post a review and share the details with us and other travelers. We all here at the hotel take pride and are committed excellent service, affordable rates, comfortable accommodations. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and was pleased with our service. We hope and look forward non seeing you soon again. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were reading the earlier reviews and decided we would come and see for ourselves what hotel had to offer. Situated on a hill above town. We walked back and forth. However, there is a shutle to and fro -

Hotel was nice with good service. A young lady worked at the front desk was very very helpful. Hotel was clean - perhaps a bit older - but not any older then the other hotels on island. Had a pool, spa, table tennis, restaurant.

Bed was comfortable. Everyone welcoming. We would recommend this hotel to our friends. Keep up the good work....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
dw,We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us your feedback on your experience with us.
It is always exciting to hear when our guests take the time to share details after staying with us. Your feedback is taken seriously, as we are constantly focused on making each experience with us the very best!. Again thank you for taking the time to complete the review on our property. We're looking forward to welcoming you back once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

This place may be older but they strive to keep up. Beautifully kept grounds. Clean pool. Decent size rooms, new bathrooms with piping hot water. Very convenient shuttle service. Great food service for banquets or weddings etc. If I can make it back to Avalon, I'm coming here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Richdenmark,Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the island. We certainly appreciate hearing that this was the first time with us and that you feel that we are the best hotel on the island. We also thank you for the great compliments on our property and our customer service.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

Address: 888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Canyon Hotel Avalon
Best Western Avalon
Catalina Canyon Resort And Spa
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.