We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Father and Daughter Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Whittier
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Father and Daughter Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Me and my daughter had a great time staying at this hotel. the staff was friendly and made us feel at home. our room was nice and clean and my daughter really enjoyed the pool..i will be recommending this hotel to my friends and family .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaCanyonGM, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Crdiaz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on trip advisor. We are glad to know that you and your daughter had a great time during your stay with us. It is very important and always nice to hear the feedback from our guest to lets us know what our guest thinks of us. May we look forward in seeing you soon..Have a wonderful day!

Best Regards,

Gonzalo Rodriguez-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    78
    75
    87
    79
See reviews for
134
186
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

Average hotel at best, but on a group rate for $200 a night, this place is way overpriced! Can't imagine paying full rates. Room was dingey, thin towels, loud ac. Staff acted like it was the ritz and it is not. On the bright side, beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaCanyonGM, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear azsarsh80,
We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectation during your stay with us. We were disappointed to hear that you felt our hotel was overpriced and that the room conductions did not meet your expectation. I would like to thank you for the positive comments about our beds. We hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to accommodate you in the future.
Sincerely,Gonzalo Rodriguez- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I brought 75 people to Catalina to celebrate my 50th birthday. The hotel is the only one on the island that can accomidate that large of a crowd. The party host was great, the property is clean. They are not a 5 star hotel, but don't claim to be - the hotel is on an island. We spent time by the pool having cocktails on Friday evening and Saturday day. Wonderful. Sunday brunch was terrific. They extended the free shuttle until midnight both nights for us. The staff was polite and attentive. Of special note is the front desk manager Ophelia: she is a gem.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaCanyonGM, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Scott B,
We truly appreciate all of your wonderful compliments on our great service and accommodations. It is always exciting to hear when our guests take the time to share details of an outstanding trip after staying with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your 50th birthday celebration. I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to host your party including all friends and family members. Your feedback is very important to us this is the only way we improve our service & product. We look forward in welcoming you back on your 51st, 52nd, 53th birthday celebrations and many more years to come.
Best Regards, Gonzalo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We found this hotel to be just fine, though after reading other reviews, we did call ahead and spoke with Aiden and asked for a room that we wouldn't be disappointed in. He was helpful and suggested the fifth floor. When we arrived, Ophelia, at the front desk, was wonderful! She deliberated for several minutes and then put us in a room in the middle of the fifth floor. Our view was very nice, our room was clean, and the high-ceilings were an added benefit. We did have an ant now and then in the bathroom, but nothing bad. The room was fairly quiet. We did hear from several people staying there who were disappointed in their rooms, which led us to believe that asking for the fifth floor is the way to go here. The pool is not heated; in fact, we found it cooler than the ocean. But the hot tub was hot most of the time. The gals in the restaurant were great. They were more than helpful in providing us with coffee and tea in the morning and an afternoon drink. A ping-pong table was available, which we had fun with. Their shuttle service was very convenient and dependable, and the drivers were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Request the fifth floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaCanyonGM, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Romantic A,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us your feedback on your experience with us.
It is always exciting to hear when our guests take the time to share details after staying with us. Your feedback is taken seriously, as we are constantly focused on making each experience with us the very best!. Again thank you for taking the time to complete the review on our property. We're looking forward to welcoming you back once again!
Sincerely,Gonzalo Rodriguez- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011 via mobile

I have never been to Catalina so I was looking forward to going. The hotel is away from everything so location has plenty of trees, and is pretty!! That is where it ends.the door to our room was hard to open had to keep jiggling it in order to get it. The room is very dark and it took a fee seconds for the light in the hallway to come on. We should have left the light off ! The carpet in the hallway had a bad patch job over a hole. The restaurant's coffee was vert strong and undrinkable and we were still charged for it. The bathrooms at the conference had no soap and the trashcan was over flowing half way through the day. The fan in the bathroom did not do the job. The soap dish had nicks on it and soap scum. At least the shipper drivers were pleasant and the beds were comfortable.

If you like being close to the little shop and bars the shuttle will take you down to the town. If I were to go back to Catalina this would not be anywhere I would chose to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Catalina Canyon Resort provides an excellent opportunity for a romantic and peaceful getaway or be at the beach in two minutes for a day in the sun, shopping or sightseeing. Exceptionally friendly and service oriented staff. Amy was great in checking in and Ophelia was equally gracious at checkout. JC and other drivers were exceptionally helpful and responsive in transporting guests to and from the resort, boat docks and downtown. Restaurant on site for breakfast with good food, service and prices. Has outdoor pool and spa swell as top rated Massage therapy available. Do not expect a modern or luxurious environment but is clean and well kept. It is an Island retreat! The staff is what makes it all work.

Room Tip: Depends on individual preferences. There are two separate detached wings for greater seclusion, pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My daughter and I went to Catalina Island and found the perfect hotel, which was a resort. It was called Catalina Canyon Resort and was up the canyon from the beach. So nice to be away from the crowds.It had a free shuttle to and from town every 15 minutes or less and wonderfu canyon flora and fauna. We loved the atmosphere. The rooms were nice, clean, with even pet rooms in one area. The pool, hot tub and sauna were great along with the restaurant, which is only open for breakfast during off season. We enjoyed the many restaurants and local shops at the beach also.

Room Tip: We chose a garden room deluxe and got our room on Hot Wire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

Address: 888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Canyon Hotel Avalon
Best Western Avalon
Catalina Canyon Resort And Spa
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.