We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Descanso Beach

Descanso Beach
#1 Descanso Canyon Road, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310-510-7410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 48 things to do in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Avalon's only seaside private beach club with restaurant and bar has been completely transformed to feature upgraded facilities with new high-end amenities such as private cabana and chaise lounge rentals. Enjoy cabana dinners; sit with your feet in the sand, and relax in our heated cabanas while indulging in a three-course meal. The ultimate in island dining, this new experience brings together the best beach-side atmosphere and flavor, all to the sound of the of the ocean just a few feet away. A favorite of both visitors and locals, this is a popular escape from downtown.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I can say WOW!!!!! Super beautiful beach!!!!!! We were there every day!!! It has such a nice bar with great food and drinks!!! We were kayaking every day!!!! Omg!!!!! That was amazing!!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    140
    58
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ahh, memories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We found this beach after walking to the Ballroom. Went back and snorkeled in the kelp on Halloween. Very beautiful day/setting.
Looking forward to our next trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were on the island the day after the Jazz Fest. The tourists had gone home, so it was very relaxing and quiet. Descanso Beach is much more modern than in the heart of Avalon. It was a nice contrast. We had a drink (Bloody Mary) at the bar and a huge bowl of French fries dusted with goat cheese. *Tip: if you order the Bloody Mary ask for it "not so spicy".

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fabulous beach and bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We love to spend time at Descanco, great fun to eat by the beach. you can kayak, swim and boat from here. We were there for Jazz Trax anf they even had a late nite dance party with DJ here. lots of fun and the new tables and chairs are great.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Place To Enjoy the Beach on Catalina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My family enjoyed Descanso Beach Club very much. We first stopped here with our golf cart rental to have a drink and enjoy the view. Sandy was our waitress and was very helpful on suggestions. We liked it so much we walked here the next day to stay and have lunch and let our children enjoy the beach and swim. The food was tasty and our waitress then was Brianda and her cheerful nature made the experience that much better. The Mango Mojoitos were one of my favorites, I still hope I can enjoy one of these next time we visit Catalina. This place was clean and Service was plentiful. Big Bar Area,Lots of patio seating. great view. nice lawn area to play on. Clean bathrooms and changing area. (never charged a fee, but always purchased drinks and/or food during our time there.)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Descanso Beach also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Descanso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Descanso Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.