We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People watching is great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Descanso Beach

Descanso Beach
#1 Descanso Canyon Road, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310-510-7410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 48 things to do in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Avalon's only seaside private beach club with restaurant and bar has been completely transformed to feature upgraded facilities with new high-end amenities such as private cabana and chaise lounge rentals. Enjoy cabana dinners; sit with your feet in the sand, and relax in our heated cabanas while indulging in a three-course meal. The ultimate in island dining, this new experience brings together the best beach-side atmosphere and flavor, all to the sound of the of the ocean just a few feet away. A favorite of both visitors and locals, this is a popular escape from downtown.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
2 reviews
“People watching is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to Descanso beach for lunch over Memorial Day weekend and it was a lot of fun. There are a lot of tables, but very hard to find one. Many people seemed to have been "camping" out there for the instead of on the beach. And there is no hostess to seat you. Once we sat down the atmosphere was great. A live DJ, the nachos were to die for, and the drinks were pretty good. MY only complaint is the inconsistency. Our first round of drinks were great but the second didn't seem to have as much alcohol in them. The island breeze and avalon breeze are recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    140
    58
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic says it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were going to go there for the Sunday champagne brunch, but ended up just grabbing a table at the bar and enjoying the sun, sand, surf and scenery. The drinks were excellent and the service was outstanding. One of the best and most relaxing parts of the weekend, all of which was pretty darn good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

As a part of the hotel package, my girlfriend and I received a voucher for kayaking or snorkeling. We chose kayaking and had a great time. The staff is very friendly and the equipment works without any problem, luckily. Overall, the Descanso Beach has a lot of fun options to choose from and I hope to try the rest of the activities they provide next time I'm on the island.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Alfresco dining at its Avalon best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The food is nothing special, but on a nice day the setting is absolutely gorgeous! You can drink there, eat there, sun there, and rent some water toys, but the best is a decent meal on a warm sunny day. It's grand island living, mon! Note: not all tables are shaded so bring a hat.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Kayaking with our family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We had such a wonderful time Kayaking to Frog Rock on the 2 hour journey. Our tour guide Robert was very entertaining with all kinds of fun facts about Catalina & very informative on the beautiful creatures in the sea & about bald eagles. We are very much looking forward to our next kayaking adventure to other sections of the island during our next visit to Catalina Island. Thank you for all the smiles!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Descanso Beach also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Descanso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Descanso Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.