We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose the other Sub” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Adventure Tours

Catalina Adventure Tours
1 Cabrillo Mole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA
877-510-2888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 52 activities in Avalon
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Catalina Adventure Tours - The best Catalina Island Adventure experience! Catalina Adventure tours have been catering to tourists from around the world for over 20 years. Catalina Adventure Tours features the best Catalina Island packages including the glass bottom boat, nautilus submarine, seal rocks explorer, guided Catalina city/botanical garden tours, and guided wild life tours featuring the exotic wild Buffalo roaming Catalina Island. Our tours will make any Catalina Island vacation a memorable experience for everyone.
Tustin, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Choose the other Sub”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The yellow sub has small windows and is pretty cramp. We tried the "green sub" through Catalina "Island" Company/Discovery Tours and found it more spacious with a better view because of the bigger windows.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    6
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I 2nd that! Avoid Catalinatours.net an Alcatraz media co.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Also the travel guard insurance is ridiculous! Im pregnant and haveing issues and so I wanted to cancel and I figured I purchased the travel gaurd insurance I would be ok to get my money back since this is medical in nature- I was told that Im not even covered if a physician orders pregnancy bed rest... I just lose my money! So I asked to change the name on the reservations so that I wouldn't just lose money and I could give it to someone else as a gift and they charge you $20 for that. Instead I decided to change the return time since I couldn't stay as long due to my pregnany issues and I didn't want to just throw away $150.00 so I asked to return same day instead of 3 days later, They charge you $20 for this change as well. This company doesn't consider your situation at all they just nickle and dime you- poor customer service! You get kicked around on calls. I should have known! before I purchased my tickets online I called and I had to leave a message because they always had callers ahead and the phone system only allows you to hold for 4 min. and then it forces you to leave a message or call back and wait all over again... I left 3 messages and NEVER got a call back. I emailed on the website and never got a response to my email. So I blame myself for deciding to go ahead and purchase the tickets on this website anyway.... but I thought I shouldn't let others know so that they don't make the same mistake. If you have any life changes that may alter your trip this is not the website to purchase your tickets.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Boat tour of coast and then out to sea to find dolphins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Beautiful ride to see the coast of Catalina Island. Guide was very nice and informative. Then she took us out to sea and she found a pod of feeding dolphins. There were hundreds of dolphins, we were ecstatic! It was lots of fun, we would love to come back during whale season.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yellow Nautilus Semi Submersible Underwater Tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This definitely fits the definition of "tourist trap" in our opinion. It's expensive for what you get - a short ride through the kelp in Lover's Cove next to the harbor where you can "torpedo" the fish with food ----- for an additional hefty fee. I wouldn't have felt so ripped off if the fish food were included in the exorbitant ticket price.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We did the Skyline tour - with a stellar guide who made the trip fun - and even got to see a bison! We also did the semi-submersible and got to see a kelp forest and the fish preserve, which was fun. These tours were all very kid friendly, and I would recommend them.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Adventure Tours also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Catalina Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Adventure Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Catalina Adventure Tours to your Saves list